Author Topic: help me in the virus section - thank you :) i can't delete this thread  (Read 4092 times)

sweetalmond2010

Hi

i am new to the forum, and need help please.

iv had to restore my computer yesterday due to avast not updating or doing anything, and i think it could stem from being targeted by the ransom virus (i was telephoned from someone in i think ocotboer/november last year saying they were calling from liverpool microsoft office because my computer was sending them notifications that my computer was infected, and so i allowed them to show me the area of the computer (prefetch file) that i did not know about because (i am a novice and hate computers) and then i said ok, i dont want to be scammed   
thank you for any help you can give. 

« Last Edit: February 29, 2012, 11:16:32 AM by sweetalmond2010 »

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
Re: help please - Avast won't update
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 09:59:28 AM »
when you say restore computer...what do you mean....did you sett it back to a older restore point  (will not remove virus)
or did you use the recovery partition/cd and sett it back to factory install ?

sweetalmond2010

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2012, 10:02:50 AM »
well i had to do both, i tried the first one yiou mentoned first.  I still had problems, and the antivirus refused to work, so i had to do a partiall restore which worked alot better, the computer seems alot happier then it did when i did the thing that sets the computer back to two days ago.