Author Topic: PLEASE change the update sound  (Read 2449 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zzcool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
PLEASE change the update sound
« on: March 08, 2012, 12:19:29 AM »
i don't know about anyone else but everytime i hear that update sound i think for a split second OH NO VIRUS then i notice oh it's not 2 sounds

always when it makes the update sound i think it's a virus as the virus detected sound is identical to the update sound

just the update sound makes it sound once when virus sound twice so you cannot tell if it's a virus of update the first split second which always scares me

Offline iroc9555

  • CCS, Vzla.
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7464
  • No soporte por PM.
Re: PLEASE change the update sound
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2012, 12:29:29 AM »
ZZcool

Sorry, but vps sound is only 1 clung and threat detected 3 dull bells, they are not the same at least in my comp.
Hernan.
Dim 9200. C2D E6600; 2.40GHz. 4GB DDR2RAM. XP Pro_86. Spk3. IE8 & FF41. Avast FREE 2015. CIS 5.12(FW/D+). MBAM Premium. MCShield. WinPatrol +. SpywareBlasterOpenDNS. uBlock. WOT. Sandboxie

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2347
  • Memento Mori
Re: PLEASE change the update sound
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2012, 12:40:58 AM »
First of all, you should not be scared of the virus warning.   Its a good thing.  (well, as long as its not a FP)  It means Avast! did its job.  It is rarely sign of some epic system-wide infection, unless it keeps happening many times.

But it is the same sound, played 1 vs. 3 times, I see what you mean, I guess thats not...."optimal".

But as long as they don't bring the old Avast! air-raid siren back again, I'm happy the way it is, jmo.
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline polonus

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 32690
  • malware fighter
Re: PLEASE change the update sound
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2012, 12:45:07 AM »
Hi folks,

Why not personalize, see: http://www.avast.com/fun

polonus
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3151
Re: PLEASE change the update sound
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2012, 01:02:41 AM »
All I ever hear is the pleasant voice telling me that the virus database has been updated. The few times it detected something it was a completely different announcement.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: PLEASE change the update sound
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2012, 01:17:01 AM »
All I ever hear is the pleasant voice telling me that the virus database has been updated. The few times it detected something it was a completely different announcement.

I use the male North American voice for the update wave.

It is music to my ears.

Problem is that every time avast! sneaks in a program update, I have to go and put the North American wave back in. I'm sure that it's unavoidable.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2012, 01:19:27 AM by jadinolf »
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3151
Re: PLEASE change the update sound
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2012, 02:02:15 AM »
Mine is the female voice. I guess that's the default.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: PLEASE change the update sound
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2012, 02:06:41 AM »
Mine is the female voice. I guess that's the default.

Yep
printed on 100% recycled bytes