Author Topic: Avast 7 upgrade is a disaster  (Read 2627 times)

Packidge

Avast 7 upgrade is a disaster
« on: March 22, 2012, 08:42:14 AM »
I've been using Avast since 2004 and never had any problems before now.

Yesterday I allowed it to upgrade to Version 7 on my XP Pro system, something which normally takes just a few minutes while I carry on working. This time however, I wasted my entire afternoon trying (unsuccesfully) to get version 7 to work.

Firstly, it installed Google Chrome without even asking my permission and then after I closed the Chrome welcome screen on reboot the computer froze - not even task manager would open!

I tried a system restore but that left Avast in an "inconsistent state" so I booted in safe mode, removed Avast with the removal tool and then did a fresh install (without Chrome). Same problem - the system hung again.

Another boot into safe mode, removed Avast again and installed AVG instead..

My computer now works though I would have preferred to carry on using Avast it seems that option no longer works for me.

I just wonder where QC were when this upgrade shipped?

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Avast 7 upgrade is a disaster
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2012, 03:32:08 PM »
Well, now that you've get out of avast! is difficult to troubleshoot.
There are some users with upgrade the program. Which was your avast! old version? v.5 v.6 ?
If you want to test it again, I suggest:

AVG Remover can be downloaded here: http://www.avg.com/download-tools
Then:

1. Download the latest version of avast! Uninstall Utility and save it.
2. Download the latest avast! version and save it.
3. (Optional) If you want, save your avast! settings for later restoration (Settings > Maintenance > Back up).
4. Uninstall avast from Control Panel (if possible). If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after that.