Author Topic: help with uninstall 5.1.889 and install new avast?  (Read 4632 times)

eastwick56

help with uninstall 5.1.889 and install new avast?
« on: March 26, 2012, 04:14:02 PM »
I'm not technical and need some help please. Avast 5.1.889 will expire in a few days and I did a clean install last year but forget how to do it.
1.  Which version of aswClear should I download to my desktop?
2.  Do I download the newest avast version to my desktop also before I uninstall the old version?
3.  Should I uninstall old version in safe mode then shut down my computer and then restart in safe mode to install the new version?
4. I don't know what the P2P Shield does so what exactly is it? Can I choose to not install it and any other shields that I don't need? No one uses my computer except me.
5. I have Windows XP SP2, Windows Firewall, Malwarebytes, CCleaner, and Spywareblaster so do any of these things conflict with avast and cause any problems?  Thanks for any EASY help because I'm not technical!

Offline Asyn

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: help with uninstall 5.1.889 and install new avast?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2012, 04:18:27 PM »
5. I have Windows XP SP2...

If this is a 32bit system please update to SP3..!!
Is this a Free, Pro or IS version of avast!..??
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2012, 04:22:56 PM »
Which version of aswClear should I download to my desktop?
the one and only.....you find avast versions in aswClear dropp down menu read the instructions on website  http://www.avast.com/en-eu/uninstall-utility