Author Topic: ashQuick parameters  (Read 4319 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline elmonty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
ashQuick parameters
« on: August 25, 2003, 05:24:52 PM »
Are there any command-line parameters for ashQuick?  How does it determine what files to scan and whether to scan archives?

Offline Roman Svihalek

  • Avast team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • I'm a llama!
Re:ashQuick parameters
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2003, 05:37:28 PM »
ashQuick scans areas specified on command line, each one separated by semicolon.

To modify scan parameters of ashQuick you can use enhanced user interface (which is available in Professional Edition).

Another way how to modify ashQuick parameters is to change values of DefTask.xml There are several threads with more info on this forum. Tell me exactly what you need to do and I'll try to find solution for you...

Offline elmonty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re:ashQuick parameters
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2003, 05:49:27 PM »
I'm trying to schedule ashQuick to scan my entire drive weekly, but I want to exclude some file types.  I'm using the Home edition.

Offline Lars-Erik

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 394
    • Lars-Erik Østerud
Re: ashQuick parameters
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2007, 10:45:08 PM »
I try to setup ashQuick inside WinZip to scan files in archive, but when I click that button in WinZip ashQuick just flashes quick and closes again. Just like if I start it without a command line. Why? I have specified "%d" as parameter (or WinZip did :-)
www.osterud.name - ICQ: 7297605 - AIM/Yahoo/Facebook/Skype/Astra: LarsErikOsterud

Online Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65879
Re: ashQuick parameters
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2007, 01:04:32 AM »
I try to setup ashQuick inside WinZip to scan files in archive, but when I click that button in WinZip ashQuick just flashes quick and closes again. Just like if I start it without a command line. Why? I have specified "%d" as parameter (or WinZip did :-)
It used to work... strange... Which avast version are you using?
Did you use the quotes or just %d as parameter?
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71873
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: ashQuick parameters
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2007, 01:05:56 AM »
Are there any command-line parameters for ashQuick?  How does it determine what files to scan and whether to scan archives?
ashQuick.exe is the most thorough of all the scanners, it scans everything archives included.

I'm trying to schedule ashQuick to scan my entire drive weekly, but I want to exclude some file types.  I'm using the Home edition.

The exclusion in the Standard Shield, Customize, Advanced and possibly those in the Program Settings, Exclusions should work work for ashQuick.exe

Check this work around out - HOWTO: Scheduled Automatic Scans avast! Home Version!

@ Lars-Erik
This topic isn't the same as what you are talking about and would best remain in its own topic or the similar topic you have also posted in.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.2.2218 R2-SP2/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 38.0.1, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.1.6/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11413
    • AVAST Software
Re: ashQuick parameters
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2007, 10:43:56 AM »
I try to setup ashQuick inside WinZip to scan files in archive, but when I click that button in WinZip ashQuick just flashes quick and closes again. Just like if I start it without a command line. Why? I have specified "%d" as parameter (or WinZip did :-)

Check avast! settings, in particular the "Show results of Explorer Extension" option on the first page. It should be checked, otherwise clean files are not reported.