Author Topic: Avast! 7 problem....Is it Zone Alarm firewall?  (Read 4282 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

derf

  • Guest
Avast! 7 problem....Is it Zone Alarm firewall?
« on: April 17, 2012, 12:15:10 AM »
Just updated to 7.0.1426 and every seemed fine.
Updated the definitions to 120416-0 and did a reboot.
Hung on startup...just after Avast was loaded.

XP SP3.....ZA firewall.
I did have Spybot 2 installed but was mentioned on another thread that this might conflict...
so uninstalled.
Have since gone through the motions of clean install of Avast 7 and update to new defs....
But same thing occurs...Hangs on start-up.
Managed to find an old setup fo Avast 5....which installs and updates to 120416-0 OK
And doesn't hang on restart.....Is it FA firewall?

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37319
  • Not a avast user
Re: Avast! 7 problem....Is it Zone Alarm firewall?
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2012, 12:25:52 AM »
to find out...uninstall ZA and see if the problem is gone!

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: Avast! 7 problem....Is it Zone Alarm firewall?
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2012, 01:16:03 AM »
Just updated to 7.0.1426 and every seemed fine.
Updated the definitions to 120416-0 and did a reboot.
Hung on startup...just after Avast was loaded.

XP SP3.....ZA firewall.
I did have Spybot 2 installed but was mentioned on another thread that this might conflict...
so uninstalled.
Have since gone through the motions of clean install of Avast 7 and update to new defs....
But same thing occurs...Hangs on start-up.
Managed to find an old setup fo Avast 5....which installs and updates to 120416-0 OK
And doesn't hang on restart.....Is it FA firewall?

Yes, I can no longer use ZA firewall and I have used it for years with no problem.

I have AIS on 3 computers and they are fine.

Still looking for a good firewall for the other computers.  Right now I am using Private Firewall and it seems fine.
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline AntiVirusASeT

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 462
Re: Avast! 7 problem....Is it Zone Alarm firewall?
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2012, 03:46:19 AM »
Avast free v7.0.1426 VBS: 120416-1 and zone alarm firewall free working fine here


ZoneAlarm Free Firewall version: 10.1.101.000
vsmon version: 10.1.101.000
Driver version: 10.0.217.000
ZoneAlarm Browser Security: 1.5.380.0
ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner: 1.5.53.235
ZoneAlarm ForceField Anti-Phishing Database: 1.2.104.0
ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Sites Database: 04.155

sys specs: windows 7 sp1 32bit

derf

  • Guest
Re: Avast! 7 problem....Is it Zone Alarm firewall?
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2012, 09:13:57 AM »
to find out...uninstall ZA and see if the problem is gone!

Before that I would need a good free Firewall that is compatible with Avast! 7
If anyone has a suggestion please let me know.
Many Thanks
:)

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37319
  • Not a avast user
Re: Avast! 7 problem....Is it Zone Alarm firewall?
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2012, 09:21:28 AM »

Offline CraigB

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11236
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Avast! 7 problem....Is it Zone Alarm firewall?
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2012, 11:05:18 AM »

Before that I would need a good free Firewall that is compatible with Avast! 7
If anyone has a suggestion please let me know.

jadinolf already mentioned Privatefirewall ( free ) is working fine for him, Pondus has mentioned and provided a link for Outpost firewall free which is the older version but i believe it still works fine, if you want the new version of the free Outpost firewall then you would require the Outpost free suite with all feature's disabled bar the firewall through a custom install and there is also Online Armor free.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2012, 11:10:31 AM by craigb »

derf

  • Guest
Re: Avast! 7 problem....Is it Zone Alarm firewall?
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2012, 01:40:18 PM »
Many Thanks for all your help.....
Just looking into which one to use.
:)

derf

  • Guest
Re: Avast! 7 problem....Is it Zone Alarm firewall?
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2012, 11:13:18 AM »
Have got Avast! 7 to work.
With Outpost Firewall Free (2009).
Also changed to Super AntiSpyware Free.
:)

Offline CraigB

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11236
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Avast! 7 problem....Is it Zone Alarm firewall?
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2012, 11:23:54 AM »
Have got Avast! 7 to work.
With Outpost Firewall Free (2009).
Also changed to Super AntiSpyware Free.
:)
Glad your up and runnig again :) Make sure you exclude the avast processes in outpost applications list ( set to allow all ) and add the outpost program file to the exclusions in avast file shield, i also add outposts exe files to the trusted list in behaviour shield.

You might also like to add Malwarebytes to your collection