Author Topic: "Warning, your system is unsecured"  (Read 4634 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lizam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
"Warning, your system is unsecured"
« on: May 12, 2012, 06:24:09 AM »
Hi, I'm having a problem with avast working properly. It says that "avast antiviral has been turned off or in an inconsistent state, please restart the program to resume protecting your system." When I click start program, nothing happens, and when I click "fix now" nothing happens. It still remains the same way. I tried rebooting my system, and it's still switched off. Then, I tried uninstalling the program in control panel, it gave me a bunch of error notices, saying that I needed "permission" to uninstall. I have Windows 7 32 bit, and running the latest version of avast. I tried going in the settings in avast and tried to reset factory defaults, it gave me another error message, and didn't let me do it. I'm guessing all I need to do is reinstall the program, but it seems like there is no way all I get is error messages.

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: "Warning, your system is unsecured"
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2012, 07:15:48 AM »
Try a "repair". Control Panel> Programs and Features/Uninstall> double click "avast"> scroll to repair> reboot.

If that doesn't work try...

1) download and save the proper avast version and save to HDD http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=95170.msg758853#msg758853
2) download and save to HDD avast uninstall utility http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility
3) reboot into safe mode (repeatedly pressing F8)
4) run utility saved in step #2 (do this for each version of avast)
5) reboot into normal mode
6) install version saved in step #1
7) reboot

Also, what OS are you using and any other security software you have or ever had. If uninstalled how was it uninstalled?
Keep us posted on the results.  :)
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline Jamie Ridding

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: "Warning, your system is unsecured"
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2012, 06:21:43 PM »
Try changing the permissions to a state where 'Read & Execute' is allowed. Its your security. Either your not logged on as an administrator or the system is set to deny access to it on your PC/Laptop :( .

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
Re: "Warning, your system is unsecured"
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2012, 07:21:06 PM »
Hi, I'm having a problem with avast working properly. It says that "avast antiviral has been turned off or in an inconsistent state, please restart the program to resume protecting your system." When I click start program, nothing happens, and when I click "fix now" nothing happens. It still remains the same way. I tried rebooting my system, and it's still switched off. Then, I tried uninstalling the program in control panel, it gave me a bunch of error notices, saying that I needed "permission" to uninstall. I have Windows 7 32 bit, and running the latest version of avast. I tried going in the settings in avast and tried to reset factory defaults, it gave me another error message, and didn't let me do it. I'm guessing all I need to do is reinstall the program, but it seems like there is no way all I get is error messages.

This problem is just one of the reasons I moved on to W8-DP and now W8-CP.  The Window 7 "Action Center" was a pain in the butt with its constant error messages and trying to fix them.   I have been using W8 since last September first DP and now CP and have had maybe two "Action Center" items flagged in the eight months and I was able to solve both in under a minute.

Good luck
OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Offline alex_260690

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: "Warning, your system is unsecured"
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2012, 10:34:45 AM »
Hi! i have a problem with A! when i want to start a program transfers to the Chest! all. EXE think they infected. only exe!programs are taken from official websites

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37106
Re: "Warning, your system is unsecured"
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2012, 12:41:13 PM »
Hi! i have a problem with A! when i want to start a program transfers to the Chest! all. EXE think they infected. only exe!programs are taken from official websites
upload suspicious file(s) to www.virustotal.com and test with 40+ malware scanners
when you have the result, copy the url in the address bar and post it here for us to see


alternative

Jotti http://virusscan.jotti.org/en
Metascan http://www.metascan-online.com/
Virscan http://virscan.org/


Offline alex_260690

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: "Warning, your system is unsecured"
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2012, 01:03:50 PM »
there is another solution? I want to solve the problem of avast!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: "Warning, your system is unsecured"
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2012, 11:47:09 PM »
there is another solution? I want to solve the problem of avast!
The problem is not avast! If every .exe file is being detected as infected... most probably you're really infected. And worse, file infectors are really hard to clean.
The best things in life are free.

Offline alex_260690

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: "Warning, your system is unsecured"
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2012, 11:01:07 AM »
and you can help me, give me a solution. What can I do?:((

Offline DJBone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6346
Re: "Warning, your system is unsecured"
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2012, 11:58:15 AM »
and you can help me, give me a solution. What can I do?:((

Try this to make sure you're not infected:
Hi! i have a problem with A! when i want to start a program transfers to the Chest! all. EXE think they infected. only exe!programs are taken from official websites
upload suspicious file(s) to www.virustotal.com and test with 40+ malware scanners
when you have the result, copy the url in the address bar and post it here for us to see


alternative

Jotti http://virusscan.jotti.org/en
Metascan http://www.metascan-online.com/
Virscan http://virscan.org/
Win10 x64, APS (always latest version)
Avast Mobile Security (always latest version)