Author Topic: How to add devices to avast account?  (Read 15718 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2247
How to add devices to avast account?
« on: May 13, 2012, 05:22:26 AM »
Couldn't find anything relevant to this by searching ...

I finally got "my account" set up, which took some fiddling with the activation email since the link in the first email didn't recognize me, and hitting the "resend" button and following the link in that email gave me the message that it was expired.  Retrying the first one again at that point did work, so I guess I was in too much of a rush relative to avast's servers.

But when I log in, it's only showing my own computer.  My wife's desktop and my son's desktop both have avast free (not sure which version), registered in my name with my email addy, and both have wireless connections to my router-modem to share my internet connection.

How do I add their computers to my account so I can see the status of all three?  Do I need to set up a proper LAN for that, rather than just sharing the router-modem?
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

AdrianH

  • Guest
Re: How to add devices to avast account?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 10:14:33 AM »
You have to manually add new devices by signing in to your account from the avast GUI on each machine using your account login details.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2247
Re: How to add devices to avast account?
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2012, 10:50:46 PM »
Simple enough, once you've finished the verification process on the first computer.  Thanks.  :)
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: How to add devices to avast account?
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2015, 02:32:32 AM »
Code: [Select]
Couldn't find anything relevant to this by searching ...

I finally got "my account" set up, which took some fiddling with the activation email since the link in the first email didn't recognize me, and hitting the "resend" button and following the link in that email gave me the message that it was expired.  Retrying the first one again at that point did work, so I guess I was in too much of a rush relative to avast's servers.

But when I log in, it's only showing my own computer.  My wife's desktop and my son's desktop both have avast free (not sure which version), registered in my name with my email addy, and both have wireless connections to my router-modem to share my internet connection.

How do I add their computers to my account so I can see the status of all three?  Do I need to set up a proper LAN for that, rather than just sharing the router-modem?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48612
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: How to add devices to avast account?
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2015, 06:25:31 PM »
Couldn't find anything relevant to this by searching ...

I finally got "my account" set up, which took some fiddling with the activation email since the link in the first email didn't recognize me, and hitting the "resend" button and following the link in that email gave me the message that it was expired.  Retrying the first one again at that point did work, so I guess I was in too much of a rush relative to avast's servers.

But when I log in, it's only showing my own computer.  My wife's desktop and my son's desktop both have avast free (not sure which version), registered in my name with my email addy, and both have wireless connections to my router-modem to share my internet connection.

How do I add their computers to my account so I can see the status of all three?  Do I need to set up a proper LAN for that, rather than just sharing the router-modem?
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48612
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: How to add devices to avast account?
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2015, 06:50:30 PM »
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet