Author Topic: buying 1 year vs 2 year subscriptions  (Read 5429 times)

ccgerm

buying 1 year vs 2 year subscriptions
« on: October 05, 2010, 01:18:12 PM »
I have been using Avast free edition for several years (with no complaints I might add), and I am planning to get the security suite for better protection.  However, I have several options:
- I can upgrade to the suite for 1 year for $30
- I can upgrade for 2 years for $57
- I can upgrade for 2 years for $59, which seems to include licenses for 3 PCs

My biggest question is: are the updates likely to be important for the firewall and sandbox?  Do I need to keep updating them?  Can I keep using them after my subscription runs out?

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: buying 1 year vs 2 year subscriptions
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2010, 01:22:43 PM »
All the programs updates are important: new technologies, protection level, etc.
For sure, daily updates are necessary only for the antivirus.
If you can't pay, there are options for free firewalls/sandbox.
The best things in life are free.

cek333

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2012, 07:59:13 PM »
Hi:
I'm also an avast free user. I was thinking about possibly upgrading to the pro or internet security versions.
I was wondering why the products are offered as subscriptions rather than a one-time fee? Is the subscription just so that you can get program updates? How often are the non-antivrus features updated? What happens to the product after the subscription expires? I'm guessing all the program features will stop working without a valid registration; is that correct?
Thanks,
Cecil

Gargamel360

« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2012, 08:21:42 PM »
I was wondering why the products are offered as subscriptions rather than a one-time fee?
Thats always been the model with all AV companies, as far as I can remember.  Cant recall ever seeing a one-time license.  I would assume it is largely from the cost of piping definition updates.