Author Topic: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?  (Read 55714 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline IRANS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2012, 05:10:57 PM »
Ahh...good old Iran. Where democracy reigns supreme. Don't you just love open societies?  ;D
excuse me dude, but it's none of your business.

Quote
Answered before... Seems a problem on your country and not with avast!...
hi,
you're right.but i can't understand why they chose Avast as victim :o .
they surprised me!
« Last Edit: May 27, 2012, 05:13:27 PM by IRANS »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2012, 05:47:43 PM »
Omid, does that mean you can connect and update in Iran?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #17 on: May 27, 2012, 07:29:56 PM »
Omid, does that mean you can connect and update in Iran?

I can ping update servers, either via URL or IP, but browser will return time-out when opening avast.com.
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 33322
  • malware fighter
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #18 on: May 27, 2012, 07:48:36 PM »
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46125
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #19 on: May 27, 2012, 07:53:09 PM »
Omid, does that mean you can connect and update in Iran?

I can ping update servers, either via URL or IP, but browser will return time-out when opening avast.com.

Can we do anything through Skype ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72212
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #20 on: May 27, 2012, 08:01:38 PM »
Omid, does that mean you can connect and update in Iran?

I can ping update servers, either via URL or IP, but browser will return time-out when opening avast.com.

How about other AV homepages..??
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.9.6660.IBC [UI.670] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.15 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 94.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.85
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 33322
  • malware fighter
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #21 on: May 27, 2012, 08:13:06 PM »
Hi folks,

If this is not on their filter list there, they could do their updates from: http://majorgeeks.com/avast_Virus_Definitions_d5150.html

polonus
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72212
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #22 on: May 27, 2012, 08:17:48 PM »
Hi folks,

If this is not on their filter list there, they could do their updates from: http://majorgeeks.com/avast_Virus_Definitions_d5150.html

polonus

Won't work. They redirect to avast servers.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.9.6660.IBC [UI.670] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.15 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 94.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.85
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #23 on: May 27, 2012, 08:20:42 PM »
Can we do anything through Skype ???
Like What? You want to check anything?

How about other AV homepages..??
Anything on avast servers, except forum.

Hi folks,

If this is not on their filter list there, they could do their updates from: http://majorgeeks.com/avast_Virus_Definitions_d5150.html

polonus
Nope, MajorGeeks (and any other official download server) do NOT host update packages, they just link to avast.com. Look at the link in MajorGeeks, it says "Download @ author's site" and not "Download @ MajorGeeks".
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72212
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #24 on: May 27, 2012, 08:25:20 PM »
How about other AV homepages..??
Anything on avast servers, except forum.

Misunderstanding.
I meant other AV vendors pages.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.9.6660.IBC [UI.670] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.15 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 94.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.85
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #25 on: May 27, 2012, 08:26:19 PM »
Perhaps its related to "HALAL INTERNET" project

http://boingboing.net/2012/04/18/irans-halal-internet-evo.html

I have heard that they are going to stop all internet access with the outside world and create their own alternative for popular services like Gmail and so on.

Iran planning to cut internet access to rest of world


http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/middleeast/iran/9233390/Iran-planning-to-cut-internet-access-to-rest-of-world.html

Plan to seal off internet

http://www.theage.com.au/world/plan-to-seal-off-internet-20120429-1xsy1.html


Iran Prohibits Use of Foreign Email Addresses


http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2404366,00.asp

They are testing it in some places so whenever they test it it seems the people in that particular area get their internet access to the outside world cut off I guess
« Last Edit: May 27, 2012, 08:29:47 PM by Chris Thomas »

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 33322
  • malware fighter
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #26 on: May 27, 2012, 08:37:26 PM »
I think this might work: http://iransetup.ir/Security/Avast.html
where you can download from there: http://iransetup.org/Files/AVIS701426.exe
and http://iransetupfiles.com/Files/MyFiles/AVIS701426.exe
And update files there Update files until MAY 01, 2012 for 32 and 64 bit (see at that site for links)

polonus
« Last Edit: May 27, 2012, 08:42:28 PM by polonus »
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #27 on: May 27, 2012, 08:42:25 PM »
Misunderstanding.
I meant other AV vendors pages.
AVG: Get this message "Due to legal and regulatory restrictions applicable to AVG, the requested page will not load. You are presently located in a restricted country and are prohibited access to the AVG web."

Norton: Works fine. Expect "download" links in website which won't work because of embargo, but if you download from a mirror you will be able to update fine.

Eset: Works Fine.

Panda Cloud: Works fine.

McAfee: Works fine, expect download links, alike Norton.

Avira: works fine.

BitDender: Works fine, a bit slow.

Agnitum (Outpost): works fine.

Norman: works fine.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2012, 08:48:07 PM by Omid Farhang »
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72212
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #28 on: May 27, 2012, 08:46:13 PM »
Misunderstanding.
I meant other AV vendors pages.
AVG: Get this message "Due to legal and regulatory restrictions applicable to AVG, the requested page will not load. You are presently located in a restricted country and are prohibited access to the AVG web."

Norton: Works fine. Expect "download" links in website which won't work because of embargo, but if you download from a mirror you will be able to update fine.

Eset: Works Fine.

Panda Cloud: Works fine.

McAfee: Works fine, expect download links, alike Norton.

Avira: works fine.

BitDender: Works fine, a bit slow.

Agnitum (Outpost): works fine.

Interesting. Thanks Omid.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.9.6660.IBC [UI.670] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.15 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 94.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.85
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: iran ip addresses restricted by avast ?
« Reply #29 on: May 27, 2012, 08:49:36 PM »
Interesting. Thanks Omid.

Bitte Schön  ;)
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux