Author Topic: Computer won't start anymore after installation...  (Read 7083 times)

Offline Ohtaror

Computer won't start anymore after installation...
« on: May 12, 2008, 01:20:42 PM »
Hello, I've been using avast antivirus for a couple of years now on my own computer (and for my parents). But now I was quite sure my girlfriend had a virus. She had norton antivirus (but her key was expired already quite some time) so I removed Norton with the Norton Removing Tool and for as far as I know everything was gone after the restart.

I downloaded latest version of avast antivirus, home edition (Dutch) and installed it on her laptop (HP Pavilion DV6000 with vista) everything went fine till avast asked (after the restart) to check all disks.

So it start checking which went OK op to 8% there it said that power dvd was infected. I tried to repair but that wasn't possible so I removed it. After some time the checking continued. And between 12 and 15% it took more than 30 minutes. When I looked back 5 minutes later the computer was in standby mode. So I start it again but the screen stays black (which, my girlfriend said, is normal for about 10 up to 60 seconds) for about 10 minutes and goes to standby again. I tried the same thing and the same thing happens again.

Now I try it again but I reset it during the 'black gap' and the computer starts up normally! Than I can choose between repair and start up normally (the normal vista screen after a crash). I chose to repair and now the computer switches itself completely off.

When I push the power button now it only gives 3 blinks of the battery-led but nothing else happens......

Anyone got an idea what to do?

Thanks in advance,
Sander

Offline FreewheelinFrank

• Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • I'm a GNU
    • Don't Surf in the Nude!
Re: Computer won't start anymore after installation...
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2008, 01:45:46 PM »