Author Topic: avast! compatibility with Windows Vista 64 bit  (Read 5164 times)

Offline jcking

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • Personal Message (Offline)
avast! compatibility with Windows Vista 64 bit
« on: November 21, 2008, 01:05:18 AM »
Can anyone comment on avast! compatibility with Windows Vista 64 bit running on an Intel Core 2 duo 64 bit processor?  Shortly after installing avast! I began experiencing repeated and frequent Windows lockups.  The display would freeze and I had to do a hard shutdown.  I had to do a factory restore to fix the problem.  I don't know that avast! was the culprit, but I am hesitant to try installing it again unless I can be confident that avast! is not incompatible with my system.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69213
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast! compatibility with Windows Vista 64 bit
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2008, 01:12:24 AM »
Well there are several people on the forums using avast on Vista 64bit bit XP Pro 64bit on the forums and nothing reported in the forums on the problem you describe.

What other security software do you have installed ?
Have (or did) you another AV installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?

A factory restore could well be putting on an OEM AV trial, etc. back on your system.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline jcking

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast! compatibility with Windows Vista 64 bit
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2008, 08:58:50 PM »
The Toshiba laptop came installed with Norton 360.  I used it as a trial version but decided not to use it, so I un-installed.  I did have Skybot installed when I installed Avast.  Anyway, the system has been working fine since the Factory Restore.  I un-installed Norton immediately after the restore.  I have not installed Skybot.  I think I'll set a restore point and give Avast another try.

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64881
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast! compatibility with Windows Vista 64 bit
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2008, 09:24:25 PM »
Before anything...

1) Remove NAV or Norton 360 through Add/Remove programs from Control Panel. Boot.
2) Use Norton Removal Tool for Windows 2000/XP/Vista or Norton Removal Tool for Windows 98/Me. Boot.
3) Install avast! (or repair the installation) and boot.

The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products and Norton 360 from your computer.
The best things in life are free.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now