Avast WEBforum

Avast Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Darknessblade on November 17, 2018, 11:14:27 AM

Title: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on November 17, 2018, 11:14:27 AM
hello,

after using avast "free" for over a long time is started to notice that the webshield/siteblocking is not working all of the time.
on sites where i blocked "add domains" so the site is addfree, it worked for a long time with the browser i use: "maxthon"

but now the siteblocking feature is not blocking those domains anymore.
if i use edge for example, the webshield/siteblocking is working properly like it should and there are no adds served/ the banners show a avast user inbut block message.

some of domain names i blocked are: {will not use the url so its only the domain names}
------------
cobalten
cpmstar
*mdnsys
serving-sys
bebi

--------------------
i have done multiple checks with both avast and malwarebytes and awdcleaner, a few days ago and they gave no results of any malware or virussus or adware.
----------------
currently running another round of scans

Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Asyn on November 18, 2018, 08:09:45 AM
- Which Avast..? (Free/Pro/IS/Premier)
- Which version..?
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on November 18, 2018, 10:43:35 AM
1- Which Avast..? (Free/Pro/IS/Premier)
2- Which version..?
3- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
4- Other security related software installed..?
5- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?


1 i use avast "FREE"
2 version: 18.7.2354
3 i use windows 10 sp64 {1803}
4 i only have malwarebytes installed besides avast {free version}
5 i never used any other antivirus due the system having a FULL clean install and i directly installed avast
{and i mean full clean install by removing all partitions and data, formatting the HDD then reinstalling it}
-----------------------
im not sure which version of avast did not have this issue, but i  at least know that it worked 4 months ago,
due the site not having the addware on their site during that period.


-----------------------------
the last 2 checks i did with avast and malwarebytes yielded no results or any false positives {false positive like cheat engine}
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Asyn on November 18, 2018, 11:01:00 AM
Update to the latest version (18.8.2356): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=223244.0

Regarding Avast & Malwarebytes, see: https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/200324-exclusions-for-avast-users/
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on November 18, 2018, 02:07:10 PM
Update to the latest version (18.8.2356): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=223244.0

Regarding Avast & Malwarebytes, see: https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/200324-exclusions-for-avast-users/

i have updated to the latest version and virus definitions, but still the sites are still creating popups.
there is only 1 more thing i can try and that is to clean the web-filter list and rebuild it anew.
since there are over 200 entries in it there might be some conflicts

see the added exclusion for my definition list {remove the .log extension} {the forum does not allow the settings file to be uploaded}
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Asyn on November 18, 2018, 02:16:12 PM
there is only 1 more thing i can try and that is to clean the web-filter list and rebuild it anew.
since there are over 200 entries in it there might be some conflicts
Might be worth a try.
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: bob3160 on November 18, 2018, 02:19:47 PM
"i have updated to the latest version and virus definitions, but still the sites are still creating popups."
Are you trying to block websites or popups ???
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on November 18, 2018, 02:39:20 PM
"i have updated to the latest version and virus definitions, but still the sites are still creating popups."
Are you trying to block websites or popups ???

I am, trying to block the popups from the website itself. {including some ad-serving domains}
since the website has a ad-block filter,
i have also reset the web-filter list {removing EVERYTHING} and rebuild it only with the cobalten domains, {sub domains too}
it still does not work under maxthon. but it does under edge and IE11. {blocking the domain/preventing it from opening}

the cobalten "addware" is not installed on my pc the site uses it as a means of add revenue.
-----------------

but this did not work
for example (how i build the list)
site,com/*
site,com/redir=*
site,com/redir=*/zone=*
site,com/redir=*/zone=*/region=*
redir,sitecom/^^^
pop,site,com/^^^
-------------
the added list is only with the cobalten domains. {remove .log extension}




Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: bob3160 on November 18, 2018, 03:32:31 PM
Then you need to use something like uBlock Origin
or another Ad blocker Or, use the Avast Secure Browser which has ad blocker built in.
https://www.avast.com/en-us/secure-browser
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on November 18, 2018, 03:36:48 PM
Then you need to use something like uBlock Origin
or another Ad blocker Or, use the Avast Secure Browser which has ad blocker built in.
https://www.avast.com/en-us/secure-browser

sadly there is no ublock origin extension for the browser i use.
nor are there any other addblock extensions available.

as i said before it used to work like normal, but now it is not working anymore.
even add-domains are not being blocked anymore.
some popup domains are blocked for some reason {which is quite strange} {they have no domain name but a ip adress}

will keep updates to see if i can get it fixed. but it might be worth to look into this issue
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on November 18, 2018, 03:56:01 PM
update about other add popup domain:
the other popup-domain is being blocked, but i dont understand why the cobalten domain is not being blocked.
----------
blocking the host IP/ip addresses had no effect:
http://whois.domaintools.com/cobalten.com
https://www.ultratools.com/whois/serverStats?selectedTab=serverStats

another  add/popup server that is being blocked by the firewall rules i set {and yes im aware that this is a domain of google, but its serving popups}
http://whois.domaintools.com/35.193.89.147

so its strange that cobalten is not being blocked
{see included image}
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: mchain on November 20, 2018, 03:49:28 AM
What is obvious is that Avast WebShield is working properly.  It is blocking as it should, thus creating the popups.

You report maxthon does not support uBlock Origin. 

Using uBlock will help block but you've to use another browser.  Simplest workaround would be to follow bob3160's advice, and perhaps find another adblocker if you want to use maxthon.
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: bob3160 on November 20, 2018, 01:24:44 PM
According to their website, Ad Blocking is built in:

(https://screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1542716446088-88273.png)
http://www.maxthon.com/mx5/features/ad-blocker/ (http://www.maxthon.com/mx5/features/ad-blocker/)
I would still suggest giving the Avast Secure Browser a try.
https://youtu.be/hDOGrDExWqs (https://youtu.be/hDOGrDExWqs)
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on November 20, 2018, 08:30:01 PM
According to their website, Ad Blocking is built in:

(https://screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1542716446088-88273.png)
http://www.maxthon.com/mx5/features/ad-blocker/ (http://www.maxthon.com/mx5/features/ad-blocker/)
I would still suggest giving the Avast Secure Browser a try.
https://youtu.be/hDOGrDExWqs (https://youtu.be/hDOGrDExWqs)

yes im aware that the browser has build in adblock. and im already using it on many sites
but some sites also use "anti-adblock" meaning you cannot access the site till you disable adblocker.
{those sites are also the very same ones that have those popups/onsite-adware: cobalten}



Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: mchain on November 20, 2018, 08:49:35 PM
Using FF and uBlock Origin I've never seen cobalten activity.  Plus, uBlock spoofs so you can view sites using anti-block techniques without worries or issue and then disabling your ad-blocker is not required. 

Since Avast is not owned or controlled by myself, I cannot force Avast to do what I require or want.  I can only ask.

Might help if you'd post a site you are having difficulty with cobalten so we can verify:
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on November 21, 2018, 01:55:21 PM
Using FF and uBlock Origin I've never seen cobalten activity.  Plus, uBlock spoofs so you can view sites using anti-block techniques without worries or issue and then disabling your ad-blocker is not required. 

Since Avast is not owned or controlled by myself, I cannot force Avast to do what I require or want.  I can only ask.

Might help if you'd post a site you are having difficulty with cobalten so we can verify:

i dont like using firefox due the lack of certain features maxthon has.
if you read trough my post you can see that it worked before. {blocking the URL/page, the other redirection/popups are being blocked so why not cobalten?}
but as i said it is not not working anymore.

i think its a glitch with the webfilter/siteblocking. that causes this to happen.
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: bob3160 on November 21, 2018, 02:33:47 PM
I'm sure that the webshield's siteblocking was never intended to be used as an Ad-Blocker.
Maybe what you need to do is ask Maxton to fix their Ad-Blocker to do a better job.


Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on November 21, 2018, 09:14:59 PM
I'm sure that the webshield's siteblocking was never intended to be used as an Ad-Blocker.
Maybe what you need to do is ask Maxton to fix their Ad-Blocker to do a better job.

yes im aware of this,
but it should do at least its job of blocking domains right?
the issue is as i said that it does not block certain domains {mostly pop-up domains}
the webfilter is mostly used as a parental control system, blocking domains you do not want to visit
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on November 30, 2018, 08:30:08 AM
*small update

i asked the support from the browser if they had the same issue, and they told me they expierence the exact same issue, that the sites added to the webfilter, will not be blocked. {even when using a site like google.com}

this is with multiple different browsers the case, {tested it myself with edge, Firefox, and crome, but none of the sites added to the webfilter list where being blocked}

{sites used to test}
------------------------
google.com
avast.com
ebay.com
youtube.com
store.steampowered.com/
steamcommunity.com/
--------------------------
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Pondus on November 30, 2018, 09:43:48 AM
Quote
webfilter is mostly used as a parental control system, blocking domains you do not want to visit
What about setting up your router with OpenDNS ?


OpenDNS  >>  https://www.opendns.com/

Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on November 30, 2018, 06:54:49 PM
Quote
webfilter is mostly used as a parental control system, blocking domains you do not want to visit
What about setting up your router with OpenDNS ?


OpenDNS  >>  https://www.opendns.com/

changing DNS settings does not make any difference

changed it from:
https://www.quad9.net/
(9.9.9.9)
to google DNS
(8.8.8.8)

also tried some of the open DNS adresses but this did not work either.
{changed the settings inside my Modem from the provider {on which the PC is connected}}
my router uses a automatic DNS/DNS forwarding
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: mchain on December 01, 2018, 04:53:09 PM
Bottom of page Pondus linked to:  208.67.222.222 · 208.67.220.220
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on December 07, 2018, 11:10:14 AM
Bottom of page Pondus linked to:  208.67.222.222 · 208.67.220.220

i tried multiple different DNS servers over the last few days, but none resolve the issue
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Asyn on December 07, 2018, 11:30:48 AM
1. Download Avast Free Antivirus: https://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup_offline.exe
2. Follow instructions: https://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (Run this tool for all prior installed Avast versions..!!)
3. Reinstall Avast with the downloaded installer from point 1.
4. Reboot.
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Pondus on December 07, 2018, 11:55:30 AM
How to Block with OpenDNS

https://mashtips.com/block-websites-opendns/amp/


Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Darknessblade on January 11, 2019, 02:12:44 PM
hello, now i have a different problem with the latest version of avast.
im unable to add any new sites to the webfilter list and my previous list has been removed after updating to the latest version
Title: Re: avast webshield/siteblocking broken!!
Post by: Asyn on January 11, 2019, 02:17:28 PM
Repair Avast:
1. Avast GUI -> Settings -> Troubleshooting
2. Click on 'REPAIR APP'.
3. Follow instructions.
4. Reboot.