Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: SERBIA on February 04, 2010, 05:35:23 AM

Title: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: SERBIA on February 04, 2010, 05:35:23 AM
I have a problem with the latest version Avast 5.
The problem is that we are frozen desktop.
When I disable works well.
When I enable short time after the desktop is frozen.
How to solve the problem? ???
I use OS Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: Francois Blais on February 04, 2010, 04:14:13 PM
Do you use MBAM, by any chance? (MalwareBytes scanner)

Many people (me included) have problems with these two together.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: DavidR on February 04, 2010, 04:15:51 PM
Have (or did) you another Anti-Virus installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?

What other security based software do you have installed. anti-spyware, firewall, etc. ?

Can you still move the mouse pointer whilst the screen is frozen ?
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: GhOstMaStEr on February 04, 2010, 04:19:07 PM
i install both avast5 with MB.. it run smooth.. just use clean uninstall all avast4 and everything should be fine.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: Francois Blais on February 04, 2010, 05:24:03 PM
i install both avast5 with MB.. it run smooth..
Do you use MBAM with real-time protection ON? (you must have a license for that)
Quote
just use clean uninstall all avast4 and everything should be fine.
Not that simple.
The proof is *many* people have problems with AVAST 5 and MBAM real-time, even if they uninstalled 4 cleanly before.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: SERBIA on February 04, 2010, 05:29:26 PM
Do you use MBAM, by any chance? (MalwareBytes scanner)

Many people (me included) have problems with these two together.


Yes
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: SERBIA on February 04, 2010, 05:32:03 PM
Have (or did) you another Anti-Virus installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?

What other security based software do you have installed. anti-spyware, firewall, etc. ?

Can you still move the mouse pointer whilst the screen is frozen ?
Yes, I can move the mouse
I installed Malwarebytes' and Comodo firewall
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: twogirls612 on February 04, 2010, 05:37:37 PM
I've paid for Avast 5 Internet Security and am unable to download the product.  I keep getting an error message that says the website cannot be found.  Is there somewhere I can download the product without having to pay for it again!  I am very frustrated and ready to write off this product and install the standard anti-virus programs.  I received a response to my e-mail that says to just use this website and save to my laptop -  http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_pro_eng.exe - avast! Pro Antivirus  I cannot seem to save or run this program!  Any suggestions.... Thanks
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: sded on February 04, 2010, 05:47:17 PM
twogirls612
Downloads fine for me when I click on your URL.  What other security products are you using?  Something appears to be blocking it from your side if you can't download it.  And please start a new thread if you have a separate problem.  :)
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: DavidR on February 04, 2010, 06:19:25 PM
Have (or did) you another Anti-Virus installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?

What other security based software do you have installed. anti-spyware, firewall, etc. ?

Can you still move the mouse pointer whilst the screen is frozen ?
Yes, I can move the mouse
I installed Malwarebytes' and Comodo firewall

Some have experienced a problem with avast5 and MBAM paid version with resident protection conflicting ?
Whilst I don't know why this an issue, some have disabled the resident function in MBAM and that has resolved the problem for them, try that first.

Comodo current editions aren't stand alone firewall but CIS, which includes multiple modules including an anti-virus and this could also be the problem if the CIS AV is installed ?
So if you have the CIS AV module installed you can and should use the add remove programs to remove it.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: SERBIA on February 04, 2010, 07:53:27 PM
Have (or did) you another Anti-Virus installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?

What other security based software do you have installed. anti-spyware, firewall, etc. ?

Can you still move the mouse pointer whilst the screen is frozen ?
Yes, I can move the mouse
I installed Malwarebytes' and Comodo firewall

Some have experienced a problem with avast5 and MBAM paid version with resident protection conflicting ?
Whilst I don't know why this an issue, some have disabled the resident function in MBAM and that has resolved the problem for them, try that first.

Comodo current editions aren't stand alone firewall but CIS, which includes multiple modules including an anti-virus and this could also be the problem if the CIS AV is installed ?
So if you have the CIS AV module installed you can and should use the add remove programs to remove it.
Only the firewall without using antivirus
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: SERBIA on February 04, 2010, 07:59:10 PM
Malwarebytes'm totally turned off and no more problem with the freeze screen.
What other program can I use and I do not appear this issue?
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: DavidR on February 04, 2010, 08:22:20 PM
Well you can still use MBAM as an on-demand scanner as I do. I also have SAS Pro which also has resident protection and no conflict with avast.

There is also WinPatrol at winpatrol.com, this monitors changes to your system, registry, etc. and this could effectively give notice of either unauthorised changes to your system of what applications you install do. The Plus version has recently been on offer at $0.99 which I took up.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: SERBIA on February 04, 2010, 08:31:35 PM
Well you can still use MBAM as an on-demand scanner as I do. I also have SAS Pro which also has resident protection and no conflict with avast.

There is also WinPatrol at winpatrol.com, this monitors changes to your system, registry, etc. and this could effectively give notice of either unauthorised changes to your system of what applications you install do. The Plus version has recently been on offer at $0.99 which I took up.
What can I turn off the MBAM that we are not a problem when running?
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: DavidR on February 04, 2010, 08:55:37 PM
The resident protection element (under the Protection tab of the settings), I don't have a problem in running on-demand scans with MBAM.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: MikeBCda on February 04, 2010, 09:42:38 PM
I'm running the free (non-resident) MBAM and have had no problems.  Judging by posts from others, conflicts between MBAM and avast 5 seem to be mostly, maybe entirely, with the paid version of MBAM.  As David R suggested, if you disable the resident protection in MBAM, that seems to eliminate the conflict in nearly all cases.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: SERBIA on February 05, 2010, 03:47:44 AM
The resident protection element (under the Protection tab of the settings), I don't have a problem in running on-demand scans with MBAM.

I just did that and no more problems.
Thank you all ;)
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: DavidR on February 05, 2010, 03:32:48 PM
You're welcome, glad that everything is now functioning.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: joey3155 on February 05, 2010, 03:59:30 PM
I have

Avast 4.8 (real time protection kept on)
MBAM (no real time scanner)
Spyware Blaster
Spyware Terminator (real time scanner kept on)
Spybot (no real time protection except host protection)
SuperAntiSpyware (Is there real time protection for this?)
Spyware Doctor (currently disabled, pending my decision to get rid of it. Super ceded by Spyware Terminator)
Avira AntiVir (no real time protection used)
Outpost Firewall

So my question is if I uninstall Avast 4.8 since I only have 24 days left on the product key and install 5.0 will I encounter program conflicts? Also what are the problem inherent to 5.0 that have been discovered.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: Shiw Liang on February 05, 2010, 04:02:19 PM
That much protection is not recommended :)
You better you an antivirus and antispyware(avast)
Plus a scanner or two(MBAM and SAS)
Plus a firewall it is already good :)
Plus some add ons in firefox like WOT ;D
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: Mr.Agent on February 05, 2010, 04:14:10 PM
Wow you got about 1500000 anti virus and anti spyware.

Wow !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Remember that some people only use avast!,Malwarebytes,Windows Defender and 2 ways firewall and their pc is very fast and protected alot. So you dont need like 150 security program for be so much protected... Wow...

Site Advisor i would say it isnt needed excepted if your a guy who click every site you see in a page.

Other wise Web Shield of avast! isnt that bad. My self i never got problem with it ;D
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: Gopher John on February 05, 2010, 06:39:12 PM
See my signature for the security programs on my system.  I'm having no problems with Avast 5.0.396 at all.  Except for the SpyBot S&D IE Protection (BHO) SDHelper.dll which loads when Internet Explorer is loaded, I have no other active protection enabled besides Avast 5.

The rest of the programs are on-demand only.  I do have the immunizations by SpywareBlaster and SpyBot Search & Destroy enabled, but they are in a sense passive.

I use Firefox as my primary browser with NoScript and AdBlock Plus plus other extensions.  Anyone using Internet Explorer should read http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/advisory/980088.mspx (http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/advisory/980088.mspx).  I don't know if Patch Tuesday next week will address this or not.  I did use the Fix-It-Now link provided at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/980088 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/980088).  That said, I believe that all browsers have security flaws, both detected and undetected.  Whether the criminals find them first is a matter of luck. :P

Absolute security is a goal which will probably never be achieved. :-\
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: pogo on February 05, 2010, 06:53:09 PM
hi just use Avast 5 for real time protection, and malwarebytes free as on demand scanner, and a decent firewall like comodo with HIPS enabled.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: waking on February 05, 2010, 07:52:02 PM
Plus some add ons in firefox like WOT

And NoScript.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: joey3155 on February 05, 2010, 09:43:17 PM
So I don't have to worry about Avast 5 and compatibility with my other programs? If not, then I'll install it today...
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: Gopher John on February 05, 2010, 09:57:19 PM
So I don't have to worry about Avast 5 and compatibility with my other programs? If not, then I'll install it today...

Not sure about Spyware Terminator (real time scanner kept on) that you mentioned. :-\  You can answer that after updating to Avast 5. ;)  Perhaps another forum member is using it, and can answer beforehand.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: crozbone12 on February 06, 2010, 04:09:09 AM
Im really frustrated with the new avast 5.. It has lots of bugs but still released.. Everytime I open my computer I have to restart it due to conflict with MBAM so I didn't allow the MBAM on startup but a while ago I was running the MBAM scanner then my system freeze, I rebooted the PC and run the MBAM scan again and it still freezes.. Im switching AV for now.. Don't wanna wait till it completely destroys my computer due to consistent freezes and bugs on this release.. :/
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: cyberqtf on February 06, 2010, 05:43:34 AM
So I don't have to worry about Avast 5 and compatibility with my other programs? If not, then I'll install it today...
I had a serious problem with Avast 5 (free) and Outpost Firewall Pro on my Windows 7 netbook.  All was well when I had Avast 4.8, but as soon as I upgraded to version 5, I could no longer access the Internet when I was using Outpost and Avast.  Since I had paid for Outpost, and since lots of people were reporting problems with Avast, I decided to stop using Avast, at least until more of the bugs are fixed.  I replaced it with Microsoft Security Essentials.  That's working fine with Outpost Pro and with MBAM Pro real-time protection.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: Francois Blais on February 06, 2010, 01:34:23 PM
Avira also works perfectly well with MBAM real-time.
I'm wondering if the people at Alwil are still working on that incompatibility.
They don't give any feedback on that issue here in the forum.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: fhoegler43 on February 06, 2010, 09:53:23 PM
Still a piece of junk. I have Windows XP SP3.I uninstalled 4.8, deleted the couple of registry entries left and the folder in the "programs folder. Restarted and installed 5.0.396. went online download e-mail using Thunderbird and started Firefox 3.6 within a second or two Firefox froze. Thunderbird froze and then the who puter froze had to hold the power button to get puter to restart. Same problems as before with 5.0.377. No mbam or windows defender on Zonealarm. Unistalled 5.0.396 and reinstalled 4.8 and everything is working OK. Last time I try 5 until there is a 5.1 and nobody is having any problems.
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: SERBIA on February 21, 2010, 03:28:01 AM
The resident protection element (under the Protection tab of the settings), I don't have a problem in running on-demand scans with MBAM.
DavidR@

Can be exported settings?
If you can, where?
I want to save the settings in the event that we need them.
Is it possible to?
Title: Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
Post by: DavidR on February 21, 2010, 04:43:46 AM
I'm not sure what it is you want to save as the quote references MBAM and disabling its resident protection to over come a conflict problem. This problem should now be resolved in avast 5.0.418.

If you are talking about saving/exporting the avast settings there isn't that function in the program.