Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Wolfman86 on June 28, 2010, 09:10:41 PM

Title: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Wolfman86 on June 28, 2010, 09:10:41 PM
I have been an Avast user for 5 or 6 years now and prefer Avast! over any other anti-virus program out there. I recently built a new AMD quad-core system with 4GB ram and fresh install of Windows 7 Home Premium and have been experiencing BSOD crashes. I did some reading and uninstalled everything possible that could be causing the problem and then I uninstalled Avast! and no more BSOD crashes. Every time I did crash, it would be from browsing the internet with Firefox or doing something that Avast! needed to scan on-the-fly. Each crash, I looked in BlueScreenView to see what the cause was and it would be random from ntoskrnl.exe to win32k.sys or Ntfs.sys and so on.

I have pretty much ruled out hardware failure due to running Memtest86+ v4.10 for 10 hours in each dimm slot, ran hard drive tests for possible bad sectors... you name it... I have done it.

I don't have Avast! installed right now but if you need a minidump to further investigate my problem, I would be willing to reinstall Avast!.

Also, on a side note, Avast! 4.8 BSOD crashes me as well.

Thanks and any help is appreciated!
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: pk on June 28, 2010, 11:04:57 PM
Hello, I'm curious to see some your minidumps, could you please send me a couple of the latest minidumps (from \Windows\minidump folder) to kurtin@avast.com? Thanks.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: Wolfman86 on June 28, 2010, 11:44:57 PM
I have emailed you two recent dumps I saved from yesterday. Thanks for taking a look!
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: Mr.Agent on June 29, 2010, 01:22:38 AM
upgrade to 594 and tell us if this is fixed yet ?
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: mond1116 on June 29, 2010, 05:56:23 PM
May I ask some help from Avast v.5 on Windows 7: I tried to open a Picture folder on my HDD drive E..the moment I click on Avatars folder where I keep my foto ID's a False alert message appeared and put my Avatars folder on the Virus Chest..I want to recover many times but still keep on hiding and hiding the Avatars folder in the Virus Chest..then I read an instruction to make a different name folder on a different dirve C so I've transferred all my foto album collections on a new fold after clicking one of my foto on a new folder all the foto subfolders are empty..I lost all my 1 year collection of videos & fotos..please help me to recover them all..I uncheck all the FALSE SYSTEM SHIELD settings in my Avast 5
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: Mr.Agent on June 29, 2010, 06:10:01 PM
Make a new thread so we can help you.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: Pcchris on June 29, 2010, 07:18:51 PM
I have been running basically the same system that I built back in December with Avast and no problems at all. I am using Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: pk on June 29, 2010, 07:40:06 PM
Wolfman86, looking at your dumps it seems quite strange, so:
 - 062710-24554-01.dmp, system (win7 x86) crashed (memory fault), but avast wasn't even installed; have you tested both computers with memtest86+? since it seems like a hw problem here (are all your memories modules running on the same frequency, etc?)
 - 062710-20186-01.dmp, system (win7 x64) crashed in our driver (memory fault), but that chunk of memory, it was tried to read, was valid - although the system crashed...

btw, win32k.sys crashes are quite rare and they're not usually caused by applications/other drivers...
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: Wolfman86 on June 29, 2010, 10:19:08 PM
I have been stable running Windows 7 64-bit without avast installed for 36 hours now. I will install the newly updated 5.0.594 version of avast and see if I still crash. I will send you the dump file if I crash.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: kennyla on June 30, 2010, 05:40:15 PM
Hi Wolfman86. Please do update us on the 5.0.594. Would love to know if the BSOD is solved. I was a fan of avast but ditched it for AVG instead few months back due to BSOD in version 5 series.

thanks
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: Wolfman86 on July 01, 2010, 01:24:27 AM
I am 26 hours stable on 5.0.594 so far. I have done everything I used to do that caused a BSOD crash before, only no crash this time. I will report in again after 48 hours has passed.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: DavidR on July 01, 2010, 02:06:27 AM
Hi Wolfman86. Please do update us on the 5.0.594. Would love to know if the BSOD is solved. I was a fan of avast but ditched it for AVG instead few months back due to BSOD in version 5 series.

thanks

A lot of water has flowed under the bridge in the last few months of avast 5 after all it has only been out 5 months even now.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.590)
Post by: Wolfman86 on July 01, 2010, 05:05:40 AM
Unfortunately I spoke too early and have crashed twice within an hour :(! I emailed the crash dumps to pk, so maybe he will know the problem.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: YoKenny on July 01, 2010, 01:15:07 PM
@  Wolfman86

Thankfully I have had no problems on my Windows 7 system but when I did have on my XP Pro system they were fixed quite quickly after I provided the dumps to support.  8)
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Wolfman86 on July 02, 2010, 06:23:31 AM
I just emailed pk two more crash dumps, so hopefully he can tell us something from them.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Wolfman86 on July 07, 2010, 05:12:09 AM
Any update? Without Avast installed, I have been stable for almost a week now. I would like to be able to use Avast again if my problem can be fixed.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: pk on July 08, 2010, 12:32:37 AM
Unfortunately, I'm quite sure, it's a HW problem..

I looked again on your dump and I saw that our driver tried to read definitely valid memory block from 0xfffff880`06a41330 address, instead CPU read it from fffff880`06a49330 address.

If you convert these addresses into binary form, you'll get:

0xfffff880`06a41330 (valid)  : 11111111 11111111 11111000 10000000 00000110 10100100 00010011 00110000
0xfffff880`06a49330 (invalid): 11111111 11111111 11111000 10000000 00000110 10100100 10010011 00110000

as you can see,  there is a one bit difference between these 2 addresses - I'd suggest you to decrease memory voltage in BIOS.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Wolfman86 on July 08, 2010, 06:15:27 AM
Right now my memory, 2x2GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Black Edition, is running at 1.65 volts with 8-8-8-24 timings. I can lower the voltage as you suggest, but 1.65 volts is what OCZ recommends to use them at.

Could it possibly be my memory is not getting enough power due to bad power supply? I do question my power supply with my new build since it's about 3.5 years old and only 500 watts.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Darth.Mikey on July 08, 2010, 08:27:11 AM
Quite possible you don't get enough "juice" from the psu. That psu is really weak for a newer system, what are your other system specs ? Especially interested in the gpu and cpu.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Darth.Mikey on July 08, 2010, 08:32:30 AM
The make and model of the psu would also help.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Wolfman86 on July 08, 2010, 07:32:08 PM
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE, Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 with F2 BIOS, GeForce 7600GS, WD 74GB 10000 RPM raptor, WD 320GB 7200 RPM, CoolMax CP-500T 500 watt power supply

If you need anything else, let me know.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Silviu C. on July 08, 2010, 08:19:25 PM
What you have there should not be that much of a stress for the PSU. I would run http://www.memtest.org/  (http://www.memtest.org/) though.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: scythe944 on July 08, 2010, 08:25:26 PM
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE, Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 with F2 BIOS, GeForce 7600GS, WD 74GB 10000 RPM raptor, WD 320GB 7200 RPM, CoolMax CP-500T 500 watt power supply

If you need anything else, let me know.

I don't see any CD / DVD / Blu-ray drives listed.  Is that all the hardware in your system?

If so, 500W PS should be ok (I guess), as you're only powering the vid card, MOBO and two disks as far as I can see.
Take a look here to see how much power some devices use: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2006/08/video-card-power-consumption.html
For your processor: http://techreport.com/articles.x/16796/12 (about 200 watts or so on average?)

Obviously there is either a memory problem or a lack of power, and it's looking like the memory.

I'd use either one of these:

Windows memory diagnostics: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/2008.09.utilityspotlight.aspx

memtest86 (link given earlier).
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Wolfman86 on July 08, 2010, 10:19:08 PM
I'm also using a sata Lite-On CD/DVD burner and a Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer sound card.

I updated my BIOS yesterday and ran Memtest86+ v4.10 over night last night for about 10 hours and all 12 passes were successful with no errors. Even before the BIOS update, I had no errors.

It appears my memory is fine according to Memtest86+, which is highly recommended for memory diagnostics. I have ran Prime95 v25.11 for a full hour with no errors. I have also ran OCCT (overclock checking tool) on the linpack benchmark for the full hour with no errors or crashes. Windows 7 64-bit runs just fine in some of the games my video card can run along with browsing in Firefox 3.6.6 with minimal extensions. None of my hardware appears to be faulty or causing any problems as far as I can tell. I don't know what else I can do to try and find the faulty hardware, if there is any.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Silviu C. on July 09, 2010, 01:07:43 PM
Ok this might be a longshot, but I do remember some post by Vlk on the blog that mentioned speed improvements due to some "tricks" the avast tam learned from an Intel team. Now I was just wondering whether maybe, avast tried something "funky" on an AMD cpu and maybe it was not supposed to.

True, given this line of reasoning maybe more people using AMD cpus experience weird crashes, do they ? At least this guy http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=61584.0 (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=61584.0) seems to.

It is very weird that Avast is able to crash Win 7 64bit. Weren't all drivers in userland now ?
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: pk on July 09, 2010, 01:20:38 PM
@silviucc:

Quote
...that mentioned speed improvements due to some "tricks" the avast tam learned from an Intel team.

IIRC, these speed optimizations were just for hash counting with using new CPU instructions (like SSE instructions set, pipelines), etc. Other changes were in engine, but it had nothing to do with this crash. Wolfman86 sent me some dumps, some of them really points on invalid memory access (e.g. under high CPU load) - we could saw CPU really tried to read the invalid memory (this memory address was also stored in CR2, the internal CPU registry) although program wanted to read a memory block from the different memory location. This must be a HW failure, because you can't achieve this state programmatically (i.e. can't be a software bug).
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: igor on July 09, 2010, 01:40:13 PM
Weren't all drivers in userland now ?

No, certainly not.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Silviu C. on July 09, 2010, 01:51:04 PM
Wolfman, can you give us an idea about the temp. of the CPU idle / working?
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Wolfman86 on July 09, 2010, 10:35:02 PM
Wolfman, can you give us an idea about the temp. of the CPU idle / working?
Idle temps are 39-41c and full load is usually 65-66c, but that's on the stock fansink. My video card seems a bit hot sitting idle at 49-50c. Not sure what it gets up to on full load, but I can imagine it gets pretty hot.

I noticed in my BIOS, after updating it the other day, it shows 4 cores in the overclock/unlock cores section. Before, it only showed 2 cores. Would that make any difference?

Here are pics of my memory BIOS settings if it may help...

(http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/9510/bios1.th.png) (http://img85.imageshack.us/i/bios1.png/) (http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/2142/bios2.th.png) (http://img39.imageshack.us/i/bios2.png/)

Note: OCZ said it was ok to use 1.66 volts because 1.65 isn't available in my BIOS.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Silviu C. on July 09, 2010, 11:09:50 PM
What does it do when you select "Auto"  for "DDR3 Timing Items" ?

Maybe some more relaxed timings could improve your system's stability ?

Also, looking at this http://memoryselector.cnetchannel.com/ocztech/result.asp?fk_class=6569&manufacturer_id=781&model_id=941714 (http://memoryselector.cnetchannel.com/ocztech/result.asp?fk_class=6569&manufacturer_id=781&model_id=941714) I do not see any of the "Black Edition" codes listed
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Wolfman86 on July 09, 2010, 11:31:18 PM
Setting DDR3 timings to auto sets it to everything in the far right column.

This is the official memory support list for my motherboard, and yeah I don't see any of the OCZ Black Edition kits listed: http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Memory/mb_memory_ga-870a-ud3.pdf
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Silviu C. on July 10, 2010, 12:57:58 AM
How much of an impact do those settings have on the performance of the system (benchmarks, Windows Experience Index...) ?

 Maybe it's worth the tradeoff if those setting help you run stable or you could look with CPU-Z at all the timings the SPD reports as being supported, then manually adjust to the most "relaxed" ones if 11-11-11-30 is causing too much of a performance drop
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Wolfman86 on July 10, 2010, 05:39:47 AM
I decided to test both sticks individually again and one of them gave me errors this time. I tested the other stick in the same slot and it passed 4 times with no errors. I'm starting to think maybe I have bad memory slots...? I don't know, but I'm going to test each stick individually, again, over night and see what happens.

(http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/9995/photo0008nn.th.jpg) (http://img22.imageshack.us/i/photo0008nn.jpg/) (http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/4672/photo0010es.th.jpg) (http://img23.imageshack.us/i/photo0010es.jpg/)
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Silviu C. on July 11, 2010, 07:43:45 PM
Any updates regarding this issue ? What was causing the BSODs, faulty RAM, faulty RAM slot ?
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Lisandro on July 11, 2010, 08:54:16 PM
Any updates regarding this issue ? What was causing the BSODs, faulty RAM, faulty RAM slot ?
Software does not create hardware issues that simple.
Seems just the memory is faulty and you need to change it.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Wolfman86 on July 11, 2010, 10:24:09 PM
Any updates regarding this issue ? What was causing the BSODs, faulty RAM, faulty RAM slot ?
Software does not create hardware issues that simple.
Seems just the memory is faulty and you need to change it.
For the past 48 hours I have tested both sticks, individually with Memtest86+, in memory slot 1 (closest to the cpu) and both have been successful with no errors. So, I either have a BIOS setting that is off or faulty memory slots. I will call Gigabyte tomorrow and find out from them if I really need to RMA or if it's just a simple BIOS setting that needs to be set/changed.
Title: Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
Post by: Lisandro on July 11, 2010, 11:19:57 PM
Cache (memory cache) or overclocking could produce that errors.
Sorry, can't help further, it's beyond my knowledge.