Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: kevbeck on December 26, 2011, 06:17:39 AM

Title: Malwarebytes
Post by: kevbeck on December 26, 2011, 06:17:39 AM
I've heard that it is not good to run two antimalware programs together on a computer at the same time. Is it safe to run avast an mbam at the same time? Will these two programs still work efficiently to the fullest running simultaneously? Also, is there anyway on these forums to search for a specific post? Most website forums have a search option where users are able to type a word to find related postings. I highly recommend implementing this feature avast team! unless i'm missing this somewhere...? 
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: True Indian on December 26, 2011, 06:24:48 AM
Yes please mbam and avast can work together but remember u will have to pay for mabam pro.

also take a look at my signature below.
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: Gargamel360 on December 26, 2011, 06:26:53 AM
I've heard that it is not good to run two antimalware programs together on a computer at the same time. Is it safe to run avast an mbam at the same time? Will these two programs still work efficiently to the fullest running simultaneously?  
You shouldn't have 2 anti-virus installed.....anti-malware, thats a little different.
I'm assuming you mean MBAM Pro.  As long as you set up the necessary exclusions, yes it should be fine.
Also, is there anyway on these forums to search for a specific post? Most website forums have a search option where users are able to type a word to find related postings. I highly recommend implementing this feature avast team! unless i'm missing this somewhere...? 
Sure there is, look up top (see attachment)
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: True Indian on December 26, 2011, 06:37:06 AM
thanks! for joining gargi  ;D
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: Gargamel360 on December 26, 2011, 06:43:33 AM
thanks! for joining gargi  ;D
Thank me by not calling me "gargi", strange little Indian.

And thank me twice by not using this post as an excuse to reply.   
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: True Indian on December 26, 2011, 07:35:19 AM
Thank me by not calling me "gargi", strange little Indian.

And thank me twice by not using this post as an excuse to reply.   

Sorry and sorry again gargamel360 i will never call u in that manner anymore and yeah i am not strange littile indian i am true indian  ;D
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: Gargamel360 on December 26, 2011, 07:58:40 AM
(http://i810.photobucket.com/albums/zz23/dr4Kan_88/Facepalm/GodzillaFacepalm.jpg)
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: True Indian on January 02, 2012, 06:50:01 AM
 :o
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: akama1 on March 01, 2012, 10:42:24 AM
avast forums comedy  ;)
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: Seany007 on March 01, 2012, 11:30:57 AM
I've heard that it is not good to run two antimalware programs together on a computer at the same time. Is it safe to run avast an mbam at the same time? Will these two programs still work efficiently to the fullest running simultaneously? Also, is there anyway on these forums to search for a specific post? Most website forums have a search option where users are able to type a word to find related postings. I highly recommend implementing this feature avast team! unless i'm missing this somewhere...?

U can run both yes... If you are talking about free version...
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: logos on March 01, 2012, 11:42:17 AM
Yes please mbam and avast can work together but remember u will have to pay for mabam pro.

also take a look at my signature below.

so you're advising him to run the real-time version together with Avast ???  ::)
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: Khanat on March 01, 2012, 11:44:16 AM
I've heard that it is not good to run two antimalware programs together on a computer at the same time. Is it safe to run avast an mbam at the same time? Will these two programs still work efficiently to the fullest running simultaneously? Also, is there anyway on these forums to search for a specific post? Most website forums have a search option where users are able to type a word to find related postings. I highly recommend implementing this feature avast team! unless i'm missing this somewhere...?
We have Malwarebytes and Avast 7 (both free versions) and haven't had a problem with either of them.

By the way, the search utility should be visible opposite your name at tbe top of the forum. See screenshot.
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: AdrianH on March 01, 2012, 12:03:41 PM
Yes please mbam and avast can work together but remember u will have to pay for mabam pro.

also take a look at my signature below.

so you're advising him to run the real-time version together with Avast ???  ::)

Why not, they work perfectly together providing you use the correct exclusions.  I run AIS7 and Malwarebytes Pro as do many others here.

Following the instructions here >>  http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=10138&st=0&p=417798&#entry417798  will make sute everything works correctly.
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: AntiVirusASeT on March 01, 2012, 12:10:11 PM
well it should be okay for both MBAM and Avast! to run together realtime as the former is ring 3, the latter is ring 0/1 i.e. they operate at different levels in the kernel.

be sure to exclude both of them from each other to reduce system impact though.  ;)
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: kidd on March 01, 2012, 12:17:48 PM
I've been running Avast Free, Malwarebytes Pro & Superantispyware both paid for some years now, without problems.

Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: YoKenny on March 01, 2012, 03:54:03 PM
Why not, they work perfectly together providing you use the correct exclusions.  I run AIS7 and Malwarebytes Pro as do many others here.

Following the instructions here >>  http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=10138&st=0&p=417798&#entry417798  will make sute everything works correctly.
I have Malwarebytes Pro on both of my systems.
I use avast! Free on them and they work great together.
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: wonderwrench on March 01, 2012, 08:08:20 PM
I'm running AIS 7.0.1407 and MBAM pro on the rig in my sig works like a charm. I did add the exclusions recommended by MBAM even though I had no problems as far as I could see without them. http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=10138&view=findpost&p=417798

Bill
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: rickz on March 01, 2012, 08:16:20 PM
I've never had any problems with MBAM or SAS, been using both for quite a long time.
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: kevbeck on March 02, 2012, 06:22:10 AM
i still dont understand why sometimes i visit a potentially malicious site, malwarebytes indicates that it has blocked an avast service. Does this not mean that there is some conflicts somewhere?
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: AdrianH on March 02, 2012, 06:36:56 AM
i still dont understand why sometimes i visit a potentially malicious site, malwarebytes indicates that it has blocked an avast service. Does this not mean that there is some conflicts somewhere?

Sounds like you haven't used the exclusions ?
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: Kilia on March 02, 2012, 07:04:41 AM
I have both Avast 7 and Malwarebytes real-time version. They work very well together. Have had the two of them together for a couple of years now.
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: CraigB on March 02, 2012, 07:31:24 AM
i still dont understand why sometimes i visit a potentially malicious site, malwarebytes indicates that it has blocked an avast service. Does this not mean that there is some conflicts somewhere?
Your seeing avast service in MBAM blocked messages because all traffic from your system goes through avast so malwarebytes records this as an avast service, the warning messages arn't actually blocking avast and yes it does make it difficult to understand but dont worry it's normal. :)