Author Topic: [SOLVED]memory leak in aswmon2.sys?  (Read 39002 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69288
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #30 on: July 01, 2012, 11:52:03 PM »
I wonder if they have not tested the new version on XP. The bug is so obvious, and has nothing to do with pc's that are on 24/7.
The pc becomes insane rather fast, an is completely useless within an hour or two.

Well, I (and others) did beta-test it, but as I had (and still have) no problem, there was nothing to report.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2450.Beta#1 [UI.599] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84559
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #31 on: July 01, 2012, 11:58:37 PM »
I wonder if they have not tested the new version on XP. The bug is so obvious, and has nothing to do with pc's that are on 24/7.
The pc becomes insane rather fast, an is completely useless within an hour or two.

As I have said mine is on all day and no adverse issues, I too also took part in the beta and RC trials.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline PhilR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #32 on: July 02, 2012, 12:18:34 AM »
As I have said mine is on all day and no adverse issues, I too also took part in the beta and RC trials.

Both the beta and the current build cause the same problem on my XP PC.
AMD Richland A4-4000, 4GB RAM, XP SP3

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84559
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #33 on: July 02, 2012, 12:25:14 AM »
It would have been handy had you reported that in the beta topics, nothing in your post history of having done that.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Uncle Scrooge

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #34 on: July 02, 2012, 12:35:04 AM »
Perhaps the rename theory is correct. You could try to batch rename the content of a folder. Another possibility is to download a heap of files. The files will be renamed after download completion, no matter if you use a download manager or not.
I can't check it because I reverted to v1426

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #35 on: July 02, 2012, 12:48:30 AM »
Perhaps the rename theory is correct. You could try to batch rename the content of a folder. Another possibility is to download a heap of files. The files will be renamed after download completion, no matter if you use a download manager or not.
I can't check it because I reverted to v1426
Guessing here (may be very wide of the mark) but, by chance, any user here reporting problems using P2P programs?

I personally do not care for P2P programs as I have seen some of them attempt to open literally thousands of Internet connections even, just when booting up, from a cold start.  Limewire is an example.  Never going on my system.

How would I know where my system was going, and how would I be able to stay on top of it?   ???
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.10.2442 (build 20.10.5824.618) UI version 1.0.591.

Offline Uncle Scrooge

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #36 on: July 02, 2012, 12:54:08 AM »
I don't use p2p and I don't have, and have never had, any p2p programs installed.

Offline SimonPhoenix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #37 on: July 02, 2012, 01:57:51 AM »
I don't use p2p programs.

I had problems moving files like pictures, music or movies.  Another time while installing GIMP. And other times I've had it happen while listening to music with Foobar  + browsing the web with multiple tabs open.

I uninstalled Avast and reinstalled w/ 7.0.1426. So far so good.


Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84559
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #38 on: July 02, 2012, 02:09:46 AM »
The P2P usage is an assumption not a certainty, just a though that P2P apps may result in greater rename operations. But my understanding of what windows rename operations entail exactly aren't up to much. Even searches on rename operations returns many hits but not much clarity.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline chris..

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2402
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #39 on: July 02, 2012, 02:11:08 AM »
no p2p used for me too , happened with batch + wscrypt to change IP a lot of time + refreh firefox

Offline PhilR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #40 on: July 02, 2012, 02:16:25 AM »
It would have been handy had you reported that in the beta topics, nothing in your post history of having done that.

Unfortunately, it coincided with hardware problems rendered this PC useless for a week.

C'est la vie...
AMD Richland A4-4000, 4GB RAM, XP SP3

Offline Chim

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1151
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #41 on: July 02, 2012, 02:24:08 AM »
Not to thread Hijack, but I'd like to know if this may be affecting me too. 

Windows XP  SP3  Avast version 7.0.1451

I lack an programs to find memory leaks, but I've noticed that my Commit charge is growing at a very fast rate!  Generally, with firefox running it averages 350-400 commit charge...I'm over 550 now.

Also, when I turned on my monitor after leaving my computer on all night, I noticed I was logged out of Skype, the skype screen was entirely black save the drop down and login info.  Half the names on Trillian were blank or missing letters, my desktop had multiple icons blacked out and I could do nothing except start menu - restart.  When I did, I noticed a popup beneath the busted skype window saying "There is not enough memory to complete this operation."
Ahhhhh!  Well, then this seems to confirm MY suspicion as well.
I barely installed 7.0.1451 I believe yesterday ...
And today I got 2 very weird, uncharacteristic Opera Browser Lockups.
And on both occasions, I couldn't even get Task Manager up to close Opera.  I just barely managed to be able to Reboot via the Start Button.  Somewhere in there, I did get 2 messages of "Not enough System Resources to complete this operation" or something along those lines.

Then while Rebooting, even the various Windows screens looked completely different, unlike what I had ever seen before.
Instead of displaying a full screen blue screen indicating that "Windows is Shutting Down," just a very small window came up to indicate this.

I did vaguely suspect the 7.0.1451 version of avast, but went ahead and reinstalled Opera.
But, after seeing this thread, I am more convinced something is wrong with 7.0.1451.
Dell Optiplex 780 / Core 2 Duo E8400 3.00 GHz / 4 Gig RAM / Windows XP Pro 32-Bit SP3 / Panda Dome  Free 18.07.00 / MBAM / SAS / NetZero Dial Up / Maxthon MX5 5.2.5.4000

Offline Lu.dens

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #42 on: July 02, 2012, 02:27:48 AM »
I'm running WinXP SP2 with 2GB of RAM and I'm experiencing the memory problem and "insane" pop-up messages just 1/2 hour after each rebooting, expecially when using Outlook express.
I was thinking my HD was near to dead...
Or maybe a virus...
No: if my PC doesn't work any more it's only thanks to Avast!

Will a fix really arrive in few days?
Or I'd better uninstall?

Offline Chim

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1151
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #43 on: July 02, 2012, 02:28:06 AM »
Actually, I wound up having to completely Shut Down my computer because even that 2nd Reboot didn't really clear up the problem.
I might have to downgrade to 7.0.1426 if this happens again.
Cuz my HP Pavilion doesn't have hardly any System Resources to begin with.  It certainly can't afford to have 7.0.1451 getting out of control and hogging the System Resources.
Dell Optiplex 780 / Core 2 Duo E8400 3.00 GHz / 4 Gig RAM / Windows XP Pro 32-Bit SP3 / Panda Dome  Free 18.07.00 / MBAM / SAS / NetZero Dial Up / Maxthon MX5 5.2.5.4000

Offline Shaun985

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: memory leak in aswmon2.sys?
« Reply #44 on: July 02, 2012, 02:59:45 AM »
Will a fix really arrive in few days?
Or I'd better uninstall?

Let's hope it's sooner than that!