Author Topic: "advast virus database has been updated" message twice  (Read 21257 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11791
    • AVAST Software
Re: "advast virus database has been updated" message twice
« Reply #30 on: August 14, 2012, 12:15:21 AM »
Some features are online, so it's possible to "tinker" with them, some are hardcoded in the program, so it's not - it's as simple as that.

The beta version is available where this problem is fixed; since there are only bugfixes there and no new features, it's pretty safe to install it. But, since QA and users are reporting still some problems left (mostly from 7.0.1456), it's not officially released yet - it will be after those problems are fixed (or at least the more significant ones).
« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 12:18:13 AM by igor »

Offline hydermanpete55

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: "advast virus database has been updated" message twice
« Reply #31 on: August 14, 2012, 03:04:04 PM »
The answer then IS simple, STOP tinkering, start fixing or don't get paid

All failed staff should be put on warning to fix it within a certain time frame or lose their jobs - That is SIMPLE

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45148
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: "advast virus database has been updated" message twice
« Reply #32 on: August 14, 2012, 05:12:00 PM »
Strange how they can tinker with the pop up and add useless bits to it like they did yesterday with reference to Chrome but they can't issue and fix and instead tell us to wait for the next release but can't tell you when.

Height of incompetence really
The next version is currently in beta testing and will be released as soon as it's ready.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline mirmac

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: "advast virus database has been updated" message twice
« Reply #33 on: August 14, 2012, 11:32:38 PM »
Count me in as another two computers with the double updated message.  It happened awhile ago, disappeared, and came back a week or so ago.  One computer is Vista, one Win 7 both current on all updates.  Like others - not urgent but annoying.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45148
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: "advast virus database has been updated" message twice
« Reply #34 on: August 14, 2012, 11:51:55 PM »
Count me in as another two computers with the double updated message.  It happened awhile ago, disappeared, and came back a week or so ago.  One computer is Vista, one Win 7 both current on all updates.  Like others - not urgent but annoying.
The only way to fix it is to wait for the next release of avast! or, use the current beta.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline mike in salem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: "advast virus database has been updated" message twice
« Reply #35 on: August 22, 2012, 08:21:32 PM »
Boy, the only reason I came here was to make sure I didn't have a problem with my installation or how avast was running on my computer.  With all I have to worry about and deal with, I am satisfied that this is simply a glitch that avast is aware of and will correct with the next release.  I would love to have the time to go all haywire because I have to listen to a message twice that takes all of 2 seconds.  But if I did, I think I would spend it doing something a little more meaningful.  Please get a life people. 

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84772
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "advast virus database has been updated" message twice
« Reply #36 on: August 22, 2012, 09:00:16 PM »
The new program update 7.0.1466 released last night resolves this and a number of other issues.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=103687.0
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline ajey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Safe with avast! :)
    • Ajey's computer blog
Re: "advast virus database has been updated" message twice
« Reply #37 on: August 23, 2012, 12:21:52 PM »
avast! solved this issue in the latest version 1466 :)
make sure you are up to date :)
Windows 8.1 pro - avast! premier - Malwarebytes - Google Chrome - http://www.ajeyscomputerblog.blogspot.in/

Offline stephenavast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: "advast virus database has been updated" message twice
« Reply #38 on: August 28, 2012, 10:34:44 AM »
I can confirm that the double announcement issue has now been fixed, you know, I kinda miss it !!  :'(

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9359
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: "advast virus database has been updated" message twice
« Reply #39 on: August 28, 2012, 01:16:38 PM »
I've never got it since i have the sounds turned off and update popups hidden...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog