Author Topic: Please Help!!! Incoming Mail Stamped "Clean" but do not receive text of message  (Read 16905 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline budds78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Can anyone please help me?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82724
  • No support PMs thanks
If you are unable to apply the fix that Technical mentioned earlier http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=10269.msg87110#msg87110 and your comment.

Quote
My boss had us change our pop3 & smtp servers b/c I think he downloaded what apprently may be the professional or corporate version of avast.

There is no such directory on my machine b/c I think he manages it from a server here.

Then he needs to apply the fix, you need to show him the information on this thread. If it is happening to you it could happen to others using the system.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.561) UI-1.0.502/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline budds78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Have you read my previous posts?
Do you recognize my problem for sure?

Is this is the definite solution to my problem, I will go to him and explain what he needs to do.

However, it's not the guy is going to yell at me for butting into his business.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82724
  • No support PMs thanks
Yes I have read your posts, there have been a number of threads where this was a symptom (no body text) and the solution that worked for them. Do a forum search for UseAlternateRtfSyncing and see if there is something there that replicates your problem.

However, I can't give a categoric assurance that this is the solution, as there may be other factors, like the email program used, not to mention your avast version (probably server edition). Since this possible solution was given by Technical a very experienced user, I would certainly try it.

Unfortunately since you don't have control of the avast settings you can't do that, then someone who has access will need to try the possible fix. The avast4.ini may be in a different location to the standard, that depends on how avast was set-up, try a search of your system and see if you can find avast4.ini.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.561) UI-1.0.502/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Since this possible solution was given by Technical a very experienced user, I would certainly try it.

In fact, it belongs to Igor  8)
If I remember correctly, it won't be easy to solve this problem  :-[

The avast4.ini may be in a different location to the standard, that depends on how avast was set-up, try a search of your system and see if you can find avast4.ini.

Well, I never heard that the avast4.ini file could be in another location (for Home/Pro versions) than the default one.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82724
  • No support PMs thanks
The avast4.ini may be in a different location to the standard, that depends on how avast was set-up, try a search of your system and see if you can find avast4.ini.

Well, I never heard that the avast4.ini file could be in another location (for Home/Pro versions) than the default one.

If you don't install avast in the default location (I didn't), C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4, then it follows that avast4.ini won't be in the C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ folder. It would appear that budds78 wasn't the person who installed avast and it may also be a server version of avast. We don't know because he hasn't confirmed this.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.561) UI-1.0.502/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline budds78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
I am almost certain my boss installed the server version of avast.

As soon as hew gets in, I'm going to march in there confidently and give him this solution to my problem. 

Hopefully it works and I don't get my head bitten off.

I will keep everyone posted.

Also, I would like to thank everyone who has offered to help me.  It is much appreciated.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
If you don't install avast in the default location (I didn't), C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4, then it follows that avast4.ini won't be in the C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ folder.

Sorry, you're right.
I wrote it bad: I should have wrote the default path is the folder data into avast directory  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline budds78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
I got my boss to add the entry into the Mail Scanner tag of the avast.ini file as was suggested.

It did not work.

My boss and I discussed it and I think we both agree not only is this problem only occuring with users who have both Norton Antivirus and Microsoft Outlook.  But the first time it happened can be traced back to the exact date I downloaded and installed Service Pack 2 for Windows XP.

I'm not sure this can help anyone firgure out my problem but this is what I came up with.

Anyone else put this together?  Does it even make sense?  If so, anyone got something else I can try? 

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
We both agree not only is this problem only occuring with users who have both Norton Antivirus and Microsoft Outlook.  But the first time it happened can be traced back to the exact date I downloaded and installed Service Pack 2 for Windows XP.

Are you using Norton Antivirus and avast at the same time in the same machine?
Well, if so, it won't work  :P
The best things in life are free.

Offline budds78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Yes.

My e-mail application is Microsoft Outlook.

My personal antivirus solution on my desktop is Norton Antivirus.  However, my company runs Avast on our mail server.  My e-mail comes through the mail server here and Avast does its thing.  Then I get my e-mail from the server once it is done and Norton runs on my end.

Is there any reason why that will not work?

 

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43133
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
budds78
In theory, that should work fine. The problem is which AV program is deleting your text?
and the only way to find out is to stop your scanning. This should be perfectly safe since your e-mail is already being
scanned by avast! at the server end.
If by stopping the scanning of your e-mail by NAV, you now receive your text, then we know the answer, :)
If you still don't receive your text, we also know the answer. :'(
« Last Edit: January 18, 2005, 10:36:34 PM by bob3160 »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline budds78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
I will disable Norton on my end now and report what happens.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43133
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Remember to just disable your e-mail scanning.  :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline budds78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
I just disabled File System Realtime protection on the Norton icon in my system tray. 

Is that wrong?   Is there somewhere else I need to go to disable this?