Author Topic: getting map network drive to work  (Read 11226 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline killingtime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • killingtime virus...
getting map network drive to work
« on: January 11, 2005, 10:09:50 AM »
I use the UNC format of \\server\share (of course using the right names), set the drive letter (Z:, G: etc), enter my user name and password and get error 53: network path was not found.

Pinging the machine didn't work either.

The System Salamandor has the wrong workgroup name. Is there anyway of changing the workgroup name on the computer running the BART CD?

Love this BART! Found a virus (win32:sheer-a) on one of my drives that PC-Cillen missed for months. Just wish I could get networking working.

Thanks!

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: getting map network drive to work
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2005, 12:01:14 PM »
What network adapter does the machine have?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline killingtime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • killingtime virus...
Re: getting map network drive to work
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2005, 07:02:17 PM »
Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC

MAC Address: 00-50-BA-BF-D7-61

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: getting map network drive to work
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2005, 09:30:30 PM »
Don't you remember - does the baseline install of WinXP recognize your NIC? I mean, do you have to supply drivers or it works just out of the box?

Thx
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline killingtime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • killingtime virus...
Re: getting map network drive to work
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2005, 10:31:40 PM »
I think it worked right out of the box on that machine. It is Win98 SE.

I have four computers networked. Three of them are XP Pro. The Win98 machine had a bad HD crash and I used BART to see if it could recover it. It couldn't recover the drive, but found a virus on the second HD.

I just tried BART on another computer. Same error message. Error code 53. I am sure that I am typing in the user and password correctly. Pinging another machine failed also. ???

Offline w0mbat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
  • I'm a wombat!
Re: getting map network drive to work
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2005, 05:58:51 AM »
XP supports the 8139 chip natively

cheers :)
To Insanity and Beyond!

Offline killingtime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • killingtime virus...
Re: getting map network drive to work
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2005, 10:13:12 PM »
I guess forget about mapping a network drive using BART. If I could just ping another computer from the one running BART... 

My other computers can ping the computer running BART (and each other). Just not the other way around.

I have all firewalls turned off (don't tell anyone, PLEASE!). :P

Offline killingtime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • killingtime virus...
Re: getting map network drive to work
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2005, 10:51:14 PM »
Nevermind. It's all working now. I think the problem was an unneeded protocol (Microsoft tcp/ip 6.0 ???) installed on one of the machines. Thanks for the responses!

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re: getting map network drive to work
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2005, 01:50:43 AM »
So, the target machine (whose disk you were trying to map) had IP v6 installed?

Offline killingtime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • killingtime virus...
Re: getting map network drive to work
« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2005, 02:59:18 AM »
Yes, one of the machines whose disk I tried to map had the extra protocol. I think this screwed up the DHCP IP Table on the router. And maybe one of the computers had the wrong workgroup name. :P Anyway, clearing the protocol, fixing the workgroup name and rebooting them all 2 or 3 times cleared it up. I'm happy to report that they are all working together nicely now. I can ping and map everything to everything, including any computer running the BART.

I plan on purchasing the BART CD in the very near future. I am moving to NYC in Feb and, hopefully, will be using it a lot there.