Author Topic: Suspecting avastHome causes apps to crash  (Read 15229 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jherbold113

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • I'm a llama lover.
Re: Suspecting avastHome causes apps to crash
« Reply #30 on: February 14, 2005, 07:32:22 PM »
What CPU do you have? Does the avast! icon spin during the startup of Word/Excel?

Does it help if you pause the Standard Shield provider?
If it does - If you enable the "Show detailed info on performed action" for Standard Shield - what is it scanning?



While Excel and Word are loading, the CPU usage is little to non.  Pausing Avast did not seem to have any effect.  I had to stop the processing, logoff, and then log back on.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31345
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Suspecting avastHome causes apps to crash
« Reply #31 on: February 15, 2005, 12:59:33 PM »
Yesterday evening Opera closed again. But just once. Was this a incident? I don't know. ::)

I have noticed that it only happens when refreshing a page or closing a page in Opera.
Avast starts to scan like crazy and after about 10 seconds (while Avast is still scanning) Opera closes and Avast stops scanning.

One thing is for sure. It is Opera together with Avast under certain conditions causing this.
And to me (sofar) it looks like it has to do with the on-access scanner.
If I disable "scan created/modified files" it never happens.

I didn't had extensive logging set and I wasn't checking everything with filemon when it happend last night. :-\
But it looked as if a very small xml file created by Opera was causing this.

I will keep an eye on it and keep extensive logging, filemon and some other monitoring things running and will let you know if I got more information.

Too bad I can't reproduce this error manually :'(

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83537
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Suspecting avastHome causes apps to crash
« Reply #32 on: February 15, 2005, 02:26:27 PM »
Doesn't Opera save open web pages when it closes, so they can be opened quickly when you Open Opera?

Could this have anything to do with the avast activity?
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.541/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31345
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Suspecting avastHome causes apps to crash
« Reply #33 on: February 15, 2005, 11:17:46 PM »
Yes you can set Opera to remember where it stopped.
But Avast starts scanning and than Opera closes.
It looks to me that this option has nothing to do with it, since it also happens when I disable this option.
Only way that solves the 'spontanious' closings is to disable "scanning of new/modified files' or disabling the on-access scanner entirely.

Amd it only happens when I close a tab, refresh a window or open a new window.

Offline First John

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Suspecting avastHome causes apps to crash
« Reply #34 on: February 18, 2005, 08:58:57 PM »
Hi: I am back using avast again, V4.5 (very recently downloaded)

3 times today my system crashed.  I was using QuickPar to repair a large download.
& at the same time I was moving some small files from a DVDrom to my hardrive.

I went to the watercloset, came back, & MS was doing a repair scan of my HD.

I let things reboot, & started over with the Quickpar repair & the file moving,
piucked up my book, found my place where I left off, & boom, down she goes,
reboot, longer repair time.  And again the third time, downloading files, & doing
a Quickpar repair.

From past observations, if this happens 2 more times I am dead in the water.
Please let me know what log files you need, & how to configure Avast 4 home to
produce those logs.

I am running a gigabyte MB with an athlonn 2400 all software updates.
768 meg of ram (3*256 meg, all tested fine) no memory shortage by my
memory monitor.

Thanks

First John