Author Topic: How to disable Avast Pro 7  (Read 2526 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline drfickas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
How to disable Avast Pro 7
« on: August 30, 2012, 11:17:47 PM »
How do I temporarily disable Avast Pro 7, so that I can install other software?

Offline Kwartet!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
Re: How to disable Avast Pro 7
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 11:27:39 PM »
Hi drfickas,

Why'd you want to do that? Avast generally does not prevent installation of other software; and if it does, the reason would be a malware detection.

As soon as you re-enable avast, it would protect you against the infection that you just installed on your pc. Basically this means: stops the program in its tracks; shoves it into the virus chest; bye-bye program.

Best regards,
Athlon64x2, 2GB, XPProSP3, 32 bit | Windows Firewall | FF15 sandboxed by Avast, NoScript, TrafficLight, WOT | AIS7.0.1466, EMET, USB-set | MBAM (on-demand)

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 26312
Re: How to disable Avast Pro 7
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2012, 11:34:53 PM »
How do I temporarily disable Avast Pro 7, so that I can install other software?
never had to do that .....what program is it you want to install ?
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline drfickas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to disable Avast Pro 7
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 11:46:52 PM »
Most software recommends that one disables any anti-virus software, prior to installation. I want to temporarily disable Avast Pro 7, so that it won't interfere with the istallation of Roxio Creator 2009.

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7101
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: How to disable Avast Pro 7
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2012, 11:49:45 PM »
***

The istallation of Roxio Creator 2009 should not need the AV disabled. If it does, then you need a newer version of Roxio.

IMHO, any program or application that needs the AV (whichever one) disabled  is something not needed.


***
« Last Edit: August 30, 2012, 11:52:29 PM by CharleyO »
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 26312
Re: How to disable Avast Pro 7
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2012, 11:55:14 PM »
Most software recommends that one disables any anti-virus software, prior to installation. I want to temporarily disable Avast Pro 7, so that it won't interfere with the istallation of Roxio Creator 2009.
dont come back here complaining if you get infected    :-[
right click avast tray icon ...then you find a menu
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline mikaelrask

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1376
Re: How to disable Avast Pro 7
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2012, 10:07:37 AM »
if a program is say you must disable the antivirus program. i wouldn't install it. its most be something bad about the program then.

no trust wordy program is telling you to disable the antivirus protection.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2012, 10:09:57 AM by mikaelrask »
Windows 8.1 Intel core I-3 64 bit
6 gb ram 500 gb hardrive. avast 10 MBAM

Offline jfc5440

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to disable Avast Pro 7
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2014, 09:47:05 PM »
Just had to reply to this even if 120 days old.  :o When someone posts how to do something like temporarily disable their AVAST Antivirus program I doubt they need threat warning advice about why not to. One might think most would already understand the common sense risk doing so would entail. ;)

I'm not saying disabling your Antivirus program to install others is always the best thing to do and should be done with some consideration.  I find most programs will install with the antivirus on and I would always try to install them with it on first.  Then try doing so with it disabled, with the obviously risks to doing so taken under consdieration. But even if you do disable it and install a program, you can scan it after the install for viruses. After all, isn’t that what AVAST is also for?  Finding viruses that slip by us?  Why we run scans?
I noticed there was never any real clear answer or steps provided on how to disable AVAST. 

Antivirus programs often run in the back ground in some capacity and with those files open they can interfere with some program installations.  I found this also to be true when doing a system restore.  Open running antivirus programs can interfere with system restores.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71416
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: How to disable Avast Pro 7
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2014, 10:35:09 PM »
120 days old, try over two years old.

I think the point has already been made about the necessity/wisdom of disabling avast to install software.

System Restore - creating one, generally isn't an issue. However, restoring an old one requires disabling just the avast self-defence module, not the antivirus itself.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.2.2215 R2/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 36.0.4, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.4/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security