Author Topic: Multiple POP3 accounts, re-visited  (Read 5211 times)

MLReynolds

Multiple POP3 accounts, re-visited
« on: September 13, 2003, 04:48:38 PM »
I have been using Avast for several months now, and would like to purchase the product in the near future, but would first like to resolve the following issue regarding multiple POP3 accounts.

I’m still having a problem getting Avast to scan some of my email accounts. My ISP (citlink.net) hosts several email accounts for me. There is no problem with those accounts. The problem is with the pop3 e-mail accounts on my web site. I have used the Avast Mail Protection Wizard, with Auto and Manual set up, followed all of the instructions and dozens of “shot-in-the-dark” approaches to get Avast to scan my web site e-mail. Without success.

I am using Pegasus Mail, v4.11, on a Windows 98 OS.

My Avast4.ini Settings read:
[MailScanner]
DefaultPopServer=pop3.citlink.net
DefaultSmtpServer=smtp.citlink.net
ShowTrayIcon=1
AutoSetProtection=0  

My e-mail settings for e-mail through my ISP read:
Server Host Name: 127.0.0.1
User Name           : myname#pop3.citlink.net
And those work great!

In order to receive e-mail via my web site, my e-mail settings read:
Server Host Name: mail.mysite.us
User Name           : myname+mysite.us

Any changes to those settings result in invalid user name errors. Must there be a second pop server in the .ini file? I’ve tried, but may not have worded it correctly.

If I can provide any more information, please ask. I would like very much to support your company by purchasing the product, but first need to know that I can get it to work on all e-mail accounts. I’m not concerned with scanning out bound mail, only inbound.

Thank you,
Michael  

Walker

Re:Multiple POP3 accounts, re-visited
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2003, 01:38:20 AM »

My e-mail settings for e-mail through my ISP read:
User Name           : myname#pop3.citlink.net
And those work great!

User Name           : myname+mysite.us