Author Topic: The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error  (Read 19665 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thanabal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« on: March 03, 2013, 12:18:16 PM »
I am big fan of Avast and using it for 6 years now. I am getting this error "The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"

I have tryed and tired of

uninstall/boot/install/boot

Service-avast service-manual start getting Error 1068; The dependency service or group failed to start

Checked RPC service it is enabled

when I install avast always it says if you have old version of antivirus but I used all ways to completely remove avast with all dll file using other and avast uninstall software

but still it say you have old version (where the hell it is there I dont know)

I guess I am started getting error after updated, executed and scaned my "Spy bot search and Destroy", Is that reason, is that act as another antivirus????


Please give valuable solved solution to install avast

m.thanabal

Offline bobo1

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 471
Re: The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2013, 04:07:41 PM »
Use avast removal tool asw clear. DOWNLOAD IT & SAVE TO DESKTOP. Run it in SAFE MODE.

Did you have any other antivirus on your computer before avast? all remains need to be removed.
Nortons symantec & macfee have removal tools.

Then re instal avast from scratch
« Last Edit: March 03, 2013, 04:13:09 PM by bobo1 »
IBM T41 INTEL CENTRINO 1.6GHZ  3. XP SP3. 1000 MB RAM. 80GB HARD DRIVE. AVAST 9. MALWAREBYTES FREE.
NEW TEST RIG FUJITSU (SCALEO) 2.8GHZ 3000MB RAM DVI HD OUT SVGA PENT 4 AVAST 9. GAMING RIG

Online CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 10840
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2013, 04:16:13 PM »
Some system information would be of some help

Do you have Spybot running in real time with Teatimer active, if so Teatimer has always conficted with avast and would need to be disabled.

Offline CASHOUT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2013, 10:10:32 PM »
 AVAST "detected a RPC error" After update to Avast 8, many problems.


AFTER 5 HOURS, I FIXED MY AVAST 8, it works great. Here's what I did.

After 5 hours of cleaning, removing programs and many re-installs, I found that
"Microsoft Security Essentials" had been trying to install their virus protection since my Avast was no longer working. It actually succeeded once is the reason I found out what was going on. I disabled the program.
I had just uninstalled IOBIT Advanced System Care (the whole malware, protection and cleaning sub-programs), then I tried an Avast 8 install, which went perfect, works perfect and after 8 hrs. of use, it's still PERFECT.     

CONCLUSION; for my XP-sp3 computer, It was either -"IOBIT Advanced System Care"-  or "Microsoft Security Essentials" or the way the were installed that was causing the conflict and my problems with AVAST 8.
All three companies and their products are excellent and no blame on any. Maybe my installations were flawed. JUST HAPPY TO HAVE AVAST WORKING.

Offline thanabal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2013, 04:07:17 PM »
1, For long long time I am not using any other antivirus other than Avast.

as a guy said I used avast cleaning software and ran it in safe mode and cleaned completely and tried before raising this issue to you guys

2, I suspect this problem started once it got upgraded to avast-8

3, Similarly other reason recently I cleaned up my computer after updating Spy-Bot (Note: I using it parelelly for longer time along with avast.

4, As a guy said I too have Advanced system care in my system (note no issues)

5, As a guy said before I raising the issue completely removed Spy-bot and tried to install avast-8, but the problem persis

6, I have not tried in similar manner by removing Advanced system care (let me try that too)

7, I dont know whether am I having "Microsoft essential" how to find out that?

8, Is any possibility go back Avast older version? but when I search ultimately i get only avast-8

my system configuration is

Windows Xp with Sp2

Intel P4

I extend my thanks each one of you for your pain spared to resolve my problem.

Regards

m.thanabal

Offline CASHOUT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2013, 05:54:33 PM »
With or without Avast, you should install free Sp3 upgrade. MS will soon not support Sp2.

UPDATE THIS POST-- i
I DID THE SEQUENCE OF REMOVING AVAST WITH THE AVAST UNINSTALL UTILITY, THEN REINSTALL AND NO RPC ERROR AND I COULD REGISTER MY FREE 1 year membership. BUT-- UPON RESTARTING MY COMPUTER (used it several hours with no problems) AVAST WOULDN'T START, REGISTRATION= 0days to registration expires and THE RPC ERROR RETURNS.
I HAVE NO OTHER SECURITY APPS OF ANY KIND INSTALLED (except Windows Firewall). I've tried everything over 7 days,, I give up, I'm going to download Avast 7 from "Oldapps" and shut off auto updating.


Go to Mar 1st,3013 support article by Asyn , named " RPC error"Re: RPC error
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2013, 03:07:48 PM »
=====================================
If "Microsoft Security Essentials" is installed you will find it listed in the installed programs list in START, CONTROL PANEL, ADD/REMOVE PROGRAMS.
=============================

BELOW IS WHAT I COPIED FROM Asyn article, BUT GO TO HIS POST, I THINK GOING THROUGH HIS PROCEDURE WILL SOLVE YOUR PROBLEM
Quote
1. Download avast! Free Antivirus: http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
2. Follow instructions: http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (Run this tool for all prior installed avast! versions..!!)
3. Reinstall avast! with the downloaded installer from point 1.
4. Reboot.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2013, 09:03:23 PM by CASHOUT »

Offline lukas.hasik

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 780
  • Product manager of Mac AV and Cleanup
Re: The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2013, 10:00:20 PM »
it seems that the avast service isn't running -> RPC error. Could you check eventvwr, or avast logs, mdmp files ?
Or you can try to start the service manually...
Quality is also a feature.

Offline dormouse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2013, 01:03:25 PM »
I have a same problem.
I checked whether avast related services are running or not by using services.msc.
And then, service status displays 'started'. However Avast does not work well.

I also tried the procedures written by CASHOUT.
But problem has not been solved yet.

Avast Internet Security 8.0.1843.72
Windows 7 Sp1 x64

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 35106
Re: The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2013, 01:26:23 PM »
I have a same problem.
I checked whether avast related services are running or not by using services.msc.
And then, service status displays 'started'. However Avast does not work well.

I also tried the procedures written by CASHOUT.
But problem has not been solved yet.

Avast Internet Security 8.0.1843.72
Windows 7 Sp1 x64
did you remove your previous AV before installing avast?
did you run the vendors removal tol to clear any leftover files

Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline dormouse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2013, 03:23:33 PM »
Thank you for replying.

Of course, I removed previous Avast Internet Security 7 (I have a three-years subscription for AIS).
And used removal tool before installing new version.

did you remove your previous AV before installing avast?
did you run the vendors removal tol to clear any leftover files