Author Topic: [RESOLVED] Avast Firewall not working ?  (Read 25926 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #45 on: April 25, 2013, 05:40:17 AM »
I'm only allowed 4 attachments per post so I ll post them in 2 posts.

There were 2 unknown devices and when I tried to update them it said unable to do so but it showed the name - Avast NDIS Filter
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #46 on: April 25, 2013, 05:40:56 AM »
The last 2..
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1879
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #47 on: April 25, 2013, 09:54:08 AM »
DraKuL, thanks.
I'll post some tips shortly. It's definitely a problem with setup (installation).
Could you please post one more thing - the screenshot of the properties you get when going into network adapters window inside "Network and Sharing center".
[/size]
[/size]See mine to guide you what I mean.
[/size]Lukas.
[/size]

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #48 on: April 25, 2013, 10:21:32 AM »
This one?
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #49 on: April 25, 2013, 03:47:39 PM »
Hi Lukas,

Avast Level2 support sent an email and asked me to do the following -


1. uninstall avast8 - you should use our removal utility
( <http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility> )

2. restart and delete manually both avast folders. One in Program Files and one in Program Data.
Than check if in the adapter properties in control panels -> network adapter settings is not present "avast firewall NDIS filter miniport". If yes, remove it manually please.

3. Turn off Windows firewall

4. then clear all off-line content and cookies from your web browser and download our latest release
http://www.avast.com/download-software
and install it.
After successful installation could you double click on you license file to register your copy of avast.

5. Turn on Windows firewall



~ I did all that, and on the first attempt, I couldnt reinstall Avast, the setup crashed. Then I had to uninstall + run aswclear again, and reinstalled just now. Still there is no activity on the firewall statistics graph.

I uninstalled the 2 unknown netword adapters which were there in the screenshots and they are not there now. But in the network and sharing center it shows Avast NDIS Filter (above screenshot).

Also I noticed that Avast NDIS Filter just appeared under network adapters in device manager AFTER I uninstalled Avast.

Anyway whats the solution? I tried a proper clean installation + removing all entries from the netword adapters section in device manager.

« Last Edit: April 25, 2013, 03:53:22 PM by DraKuL »
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline JuninhoSlo

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 849
Re: Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #50 on: April 25, 2013, 04:39:48 PM »
DraKul I can see you still got problems with AIS,I,m sure you ran aswclear.exe in safe mode  but have you tried Rejzor removal tool for Avast? I always use them when I install new version of AIS,so try Rejzor removal tool and see what will happend with AIS and firewall,don,t forget to run aswclear.exe first in safe and then Rejzor removal tool for Avast,good luck.

Rejzor Avast Cleanup Tool:https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=94a12102e5094675&id=94A12102E5094675!218&view=details

Thank you.

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #51 on: April 25, 2013, 06:35:23 PM »
Hi JuninhoSlo,

Thanks, but Lukas is troubleshooting it right now, he said that reinstalling might not help and that this has not happened before..

EDIT: I tried it as well, just hoped that it would fix it, but it didnt :(
« Last Edit: April 25, 2013, 07:07:05 PM by DraKuL »
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: [RESOLVED] Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #52 on: April 26, 2013, 06:32:46 PM »
Its all good now :) Lukas worked his magic  ;)
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84910
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: [RESOLVED] Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #53 on: April 26, 2013, 06:42:03 PM »
Its all good now :) Lukas worked his magic  ;)

How, patch, program update (in beta, etc.) ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: [RESOLVED] Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #54 on: April 26, 2013, 06:46:24 PM »
Fixed some issues I had with my registry.
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84910
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: [RESOLVED] Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #55 on: April 26, 2013, 07:12:37 PM »
OK, just wondering it it might have been something that could help others with a similar issue.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1879
    • AVAST Software
Re: [RESOLVED] Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #56 on: April 26, 2013, 07:23:42 PM »
Hi David,
in this particular case, NDIS related registry entries were corrupted. I don't know how to fix them :-) but it can be diagnosed from Windows setupapi log.

in C:\Windows\Inf\setupapi.dev.log:

Code: [Select]
CoInstaller 1: failed(0x000005aa)!
Error 1450: Insufficient system resources exist to complete the requested service.

and also by the value of:
Code: [Select]
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NDIS\IfTypes\1\IfUsedNetLuidIndices

(if the value is very long, such as FD FF FF FF FF FF .... FF FF FF FF ) you got a problem.

With DraKuL we have been able to solve it by installing aswndisflt.sys (driver used on Windows 8 only), but this might not be a viable solution for everyone with this error.
L.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84910
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: [RESOLVED] Avast Firewall not working ?
« Reply #57 on: April 26, 2013, 07:45:22 PM »
Thanks for the clarification lukor.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security