Author Topic: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)  (Read 323421 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MrHacker

  • Guest
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #120 on: October 16, 2013, 06:12:54 AM »
I Find One Bug.
I scanned my PC with Avast IS 9 It found some viruses & Removed them, than i clean the log files but every time i scan pc or any file it shows virus & open the deleted log which contain info about those cleaned viruses.

« Last Edit: October 16, 2013, 06:15:41 AM by MrHacker »

Offline jvidal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #121 on: October 16, 2013, 07:04:42 AM »
There is something VERY WRONG with avast 9. Today I installed it on a somewhat old computer (Sempron 2800+, 640MB RAM, winXP SP3) and after rebooting, it got stuck at the "welcome" screen (not frozen, mouse moved). I gave up after more than 10 minutes of waiting and forcefully shut the pc down. After booting again, it seemed to work ok.
This is obviously not normal behavior. I guess the devs rushed this version out without sanding off all the rough edges.
Just too many issues.

bye!

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #122 on: October 16, 2013, 07:09:55 AM »
There is something VERY WRONG with avast 9. Today I installed it on a somewhat old computer (Sempron 2800+, 640MB RAM, winXP SP3) and after rebooting, it got stuck at the "welcome" screen (not frozen, mouse moved). I gave up after more than 10 minutes of waiting and forcefully shut the pc down. After booting again, it seemed to work ok.
This is obviously not normal behavior. I guess the devs rushed this version out without sanding off all the rough edges.
Just too many issues.

bye!
No problem on my old XP system but then it has 1.5GB RAM.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline cnmoore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #123 on: October 16, 2013, 07:36:05 AM »
On my Win 7, Avast 2014 isn't talking.  I want the voice!  why did it stop when I installed 2014 (free)?

Offline jvidal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #124 on: October 16, 2013, 07:53:55 AM »
The talking voice should be the least of your concerns.
Better fix the HUGE (more than 10 minutes on old machines, 5 minutes on fast ones, totally unacceptable) waiting time after the first reboot. Or why doesn't the GUI appear or why doesn't the tray icon appear.
This version is riddled with bugs that should've been removed before making it public.

Offline cnmoore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #125 on: October 16, 2013, 09:47:40 AM »
Right, jvidal.  I found that the reason for no voice was no updates happening.  I clicked the update button, was informed the database had been updated, but actually it hadn't.  When I checked "About" it was still 131015-0.

An antivirus that can't be updated is pretty useless.  I restored my Avast 2013 from my disk image. 

It is fortunate that I make a disk image every day, as I don't see any way to uninstall 2014.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72800
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #126 on: October 16, 2013, 09:52:42 AM »
9.0.2006 is up and running, no problems so far.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.10.6772.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline waking

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #127 on: October 16, 2013, 10:25:42 AM »
Are there any PDF Quick Start Guides for 2014 yet? I couldn't find them on the Avast web site.

Offline TickTock99

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #128 on: October 16, 2013, 11:12:38 AM »
This latest version still has many issues. 

OS: Windows 7x64 Pro
Updated thru the GUI, the same as any other update that I have done in the past three years.

  • Required 2 reboots to stop Action Center from reporting that there was no Antivirus or Anti-malware running
  • Deep Screen is enabled by default, which rendered many of my programs useless
  • Blocked multiple programs that had exceptions in Windows firewall from starting
  • Re-booted two more times, and so far things seem to now be working correctly

A product update that requires 4 re-boots to work correctly should not have been released.

I will post back with more specific problems, and file bug reports when (not if) they occur.

Prior to this release I had never had any problems with Avast, and once the bugs are ironed out I am sure it will be a good product once again.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72800
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #129 on: October 16, 2013, 11:14:37 AM »
Are there any PDF Quick Start Guides for 2014 yet?

Nope.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.10.6772.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline tonialb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #130 on: October 16, 2013, 11:56:12 AM »
Installed the new Avast 2014 IS on my Win7-Ultimate-32bit. No problems so far, except one disable/enable to stop Action Center from reporting that Firewall was disable.

@True Indian
Yes, it happened for me too. Since yesterday's installation, I haven't seen any notification popup regarding updates. The option "Show last popup message" remains inactive! :)
Windows 7 Ultimate 32/64bit SP1, Avast Internet Security 2014, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.75 Free, Mozilla Firefox 25.

Offline lister

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • I'm a llama!
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #131 on: October 16, 2013, 01:15:49 PM »
I like some of the changes to Avast 9.

Unfortunately Avast! 9 Follows Windows 8's admittedly garish (yet also unimaginative and flat) UI; which is a shame as Win 8 has usability issues, especially with the lack of depth in the UI.

However, in Avast!'s UI there are a couple of hiccups, scroll bar where there needn't be - you shouldn't have to scroll a UI just to press a single 'OK' button (eg: update screen).

Glad to see Alwil have started paring back the multiple system shields to just 3; it was starting to get ridiculous.
CPU: Intel Core i7 2600 OS: W7 x64 sp1(updated) MEMORY:16gb RAM SYSTEM DISK: 128gb GRAPHICS: AMD Radeon HD 6900 2gb SECURITY SOFTWARE: avast! free (7.0.1426) - comodo firewall 5.10

Offline George Yves

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4111
  • Help you I can
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #132 on: October 16, 2013, 01:21:16 PM »
Bug report: the window with the avast! Online Security options is not resizeable and can't be maximized. So, I can't fully customize the add-on in Firefox. I simply don't see all the options.
It seems that I found the cause of the bug (the screenshot is re-attached to this message).

I always refuse to install Google Chrome and as usual I unchecked the browser installation offers in Avast setup window. But when I started my Firefox, I detected the above described bug with avast! Online Security options. Other users told me that the options should be opened in a tab, not a separate window, but I couldn't manage to do that. The online service isn't vital for me, so I repaired my Avast and removed it.

A bit later I started my Speedyfox tool to optimize my Firefox and Thunderbird. I was surprised to see in the tool's window that I have a Chrome profile! Namely it was a file at the following address: C:\Users\<current_user>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\extensions\WebNavigation.crx I checked my computer but didn't find any traces of Chrome except for that file in AppData folder. I manually removed the Chrome folder with its content and Speedyfox now detects no more Chrome profiles.

I didn't try to reinstall Online Security (a useless feature in comparison with Ghostery, BitDefender Traffic Lights and WOT) to check everything but I believe that the trace of Chrome in AppData folder was the cause of the bug. Something is still wrong with Avast installer.
May the FOSS be with you!

Offline Avastlover24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #133 on: October 16, 2013, 01:33:11 PM »
I've been using avast! antivirus for 2 + years now and my thoughts and opinion for that, are more than positive. As for the new Avast! 2014 (aka 9), I like its features very much, however the new UI is horrible - I'm sorry to admit, I just hate it and it's the first time I do.


Avast 7 and 8 UI were FAR better :( I tired to get used but it's just horrible in terms of beauty - I hope you'll consider it and may make a few changes. The avast 8 graphics (with he shields, the lights on each shield that were working, the cloud graphics - were just a total beauty.) - but not the 2014 one sorry guys.


Love ya though, ya know it!

with regards
George

~ a HUGE avast user and fan! :)

Offline Ibracadabra09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #134 on: October 16, 2013, 02:08:29 PM »
2 days ago I installed new clean Windows 7 SP1 x64 and all updates with Avast 9 RC3 and everything worked great without any problem. Today I saw new final version and I decided to install it. Uninstalled RC 3, after that I used uninstall tool from Avast in safe mode, after that installed this "final" version there was blue screen (critical_structure_corruption) when i watched live stream on one page in Firefox . After that i decided to test my RAM in Memtest+86 and all passed without any error. I'm using Avast Free
Sorry for my English :)
« Last Edit: October 16, 2013, 02:37:58 PM by Ibracadabra09 »