Author Topic: How to downgrade?  (Read 6857 times)

pidao

How to downgrade?
« on: November 13, 2013, 06:56:19 PM »
I really hate the new engine with Avast 9, so how can I downgrade to version 8?

I have a paid subscription at home and I'd like to take the best way possible to downgrade to the best version out there (version 8).

Offline CraigB

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: How to downgrade?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2013, 07:05:02 PM »
Imo downgrading would be lessoning your protection, the 2014 engine is also much faster and lighter on resources so what is it you don't like about the new engine ???

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2013, 07:27:16 PM »
It's not a good idea to downgrade... Anyway, I suggest an installation from the scratch:

1. Uninstall avast from Control Panel first.
2. Boot.
3. Use Avast Uninstall for complete uninstallation.
4. Boot.
5. Stay off-line (not connected to Internet)
6. Install again the old version: http://filehippo.com/download_avast_antivirus/ or http://www.oldapps.com/avast_antivirus.php?old_avast=6918
7. Boot.
8. Register avast (insert the registration key).
9. Uncheck the programs updates (set to manual).
10. Only then connect to Internet (go on-line).
11. Check and post the results.
The best things in life are free.

pidao

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2013, 07:41:38 PM »
@Tech, thank you man! I will try this when I get home! :D

@craigb, why would that be lessening my protection? In what way? as to answer your question, I hate how everything displays. Not user friendly, nor tech friendly for a guy like myself. I protect my pc with 2 anti-spyware and a backup antivirus (not activated, just on standby!). But, I'd still like to know your opinion on why I would be lessening my protection.

Offline CraigB

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • No support PM's thanks
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2013, 07:47:05 PM »