Author Topic: 2014 version on XP Pro - screen hangs on logging off  (Read 3935 times)

starbuck09

2014 version on XP Pro - screen hangs on logging off
« on: December 11, 2013, 11:40:46 AM »
I have returned to 8.0.1497 yesterday, after trying the 2014 version (9.0.1501). So far everything looks OK and performance as normal for 1497.

My machine is a Dell Inspiron 530, XP Pro SP3. I have been using AVAST Free version for around 5 months.

Before I tried version 2014, I was being reminded daily that I should upgrade every time I booted up, this I did yesterday by clicking on the pop-up Upgrade link.

Installation went quite smoothly, but unfortunately I have hit a major problem with Hanging Screens if AVAST could give guidance –

Boot-Up took forever, this I initially ignored because the new software might be doing a deep scan which I might be unaware off.

But the main problem is logging-off, the screen hangs after initially going blank. I can only get a reaction by Ctrl/Shift/Del. This produces the message “Logging Off”, but then again the screen just hangs. Another Ctrl/Shift/Del gets me to “Saving Settings”.

Basically there are problems for me at Start-up and Logging out.

I am a non-techie and have simply followed AVAST screen instructions. Question is - should I be doing an 8.0.1497 un-install before upgrading to 9.0.1501, if so I did not see any instructions prior to Upgrade that I must do that. Also if it is not necessary to un-install first then what is causing the screen hanging issues.

bobo1

Re: 2014 version on XP Pro - screen hangs on logging off
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2013, 12:08:33 AM »
No issues on my xp system?. Did your dell have any other antivirus on it before you installed avast?. Dells can be bundled with nortons/symantecs antiviruses

olddog

« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2013, 12:31:31 AM »
I have returned to 8.0.1497 yesterday, after trying the 2014 version (9.0.1501)