Author Topic: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage  (Read 89876 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11110
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #30 on: September 14, 2014, 05:47:14 PM »
NP's :)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70578
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #31 on: September 20, 2014, 05:14:36 PM »
Hello everyone,

I just tried this solution and it worked for me.
[...]
Thank you for the help!
You're welcome.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.5.6346.B5i [UI.645] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 91.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.12 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.81
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline indest

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #32 on: March 23, 2015, 02:56:41 AM »
You guys rock. I know this is an old thread but, I had to say thank you.

Anyone knows if this edit will survive future updates? ...or will I have to edit the webshield.ini after each update?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85070
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #33 on: March 23, 2015, 03:31:01 PM »
You guys rock. I know this is an old thread but, I had to say thank you.

Anyone knows if this edit will survive future updates? ...or will I have to edit the webshield.ini after each update?

It should survive the update, if it is an update in-place and the update done from the avastUI. It should also be OK if you do an install over the top of your existing avast version.

The doubt would be if you did a clean reinstall, if the webshield.ini was replaced.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline englishpatient

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #34 on: March 30, 2015, 04:23:20 PM »
Hey guys, I've been trying to update the WebShield by adding "[General] UseStreamFilter=0". I disable avast for 10 minutes, add the 2 lines to the webshield, save the document, an avast popup asks if I want to make the change, I click yes, I (try) to save the document,  then I get another popup that says "access denied". I'm logged in as admin, running windows 8 on a Surface Pro 3. Any ideas?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85070
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #35 on: March 30, 2015, 04:34:40 PM »
Hey guys, I've been trying to update the WebShield by adding "[General] UseStreamFilter=0". I disable avast for 10 minutes, add the 2 lines to the webshield, save the document, an avast popup asks if I want to make the change, I click yes, I (try) to save the document,  then I get another popup that says "access denied". I'm logged in as admin, running windows 8 on a Surface Pro 3. Any ideas?

Disabling avast for 10 minutes won't cut it as that is disabling only the scanning protection, but it won't stop the avast Self Defence module from protecting avast itself.

AvastUI > Settings > Troubleshooting and disable the avast Self Defence module. Now you can run notepad as admin, open the avast WebShield.ini file and do the edit.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline englishpatient

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #36 on: April 02, 2015, 08:55:34 PM »
That worked! Thanks!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85070
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #37 on: April 02, 2015, 10:00:24 PM »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Alpha-UMi

  • Der Ãœberdenker
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • "Vitam impendere vero"
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #38 on: April 03, 2015, 12:26:16 AM »
Just for curiosity, what exactly does the option "UseStreamFilter=0" do? I suppose it disables the Stream Filter, but what is this Stream Filter and how does it affect the web navigation?

I have the same CPU problem while watching online videos. After adding this option, the CPU is always at 100%, but the videos seem less laggy.
"Vitam impendere vero"

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85070
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #39 on: April 03, 2015, 01:32:23 AM »
Just for curiosity, what exactly does the option "UseStreamFilter=0" do? I suppose it disables the Stream Filter, but what is this Stream Filter and how does it affect the web navigation?

It reverts to the old method of streaming the data being scanned as it is downloaded. I don't believe it makes any difference to actual web navigation.

I have the same CPU problem while watching online videos. After adding this option, the CPU is always at 100%, but the videos seem less laggy.

Two things which you don't mention: ?
1. your OS as the "UseStreamFilter=0" isn't supported on XP or Vista as you would still be using the old method.
2. what version of avast 2015.10.2.2215 being the latest.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Alpha-UMi

  • Der Ãœberdenker
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • "Vitam impendere vero"
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #40 on: April 03, 2015, 10:28:40 AM »
Thank you for the info about the Stream Filter, DavidR!

About your questions:
1. XP SP3 - So for me that option doesn't make any difference!
2. Latest version, 2015.10.2.2215

I've disabled all the protection for a test, and my CPU still goes to maximum almost instantly when flash player is involved in some way. So, I believe avast! is not the problem here. Thank you anyway!
"Vitam impendere vero"

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45414
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #41 on: April 03, 2015, 02:05:33 PM »
Thank you for the info about the Stream Filter, DavidR!

About your questions:
1. XP SP3 - So for me that option doesn't make any difference!
2. Latest version, 2015.10.2.2215

I've disabled all the protection for a test, and my CPU still goes to maximum almost instantly when flash player is involved in some way. So, I believe avast! is not the problem here. Thank you anyway!
Don't know if this applies to your situation but, you may want to try the following:
https://youtu.be/IToxyxi7tRQ
Let us know if that helps. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85070
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #42 on: April 03, 2015, 03:38:30 PM »
Thank you for the info about the Stream Filter, DavidR!

About your questions:
1. XP SP3 - So for me that option doesn't make any difference!
2. Latest version, 2015.10.2.2215

I've disabled all the protection for a test, and my CPU still goes to maximum almost instantly when flash player is involved in some way. So, I believe avast! is not the problem here. Thank you anyway!

You're welcome.

With XP - some of the new features wont work because XP doesn't have the interface to handle them, so avast uses the existing (old) methods. Interestingly enough it is these new methods that have cause some slowdown issues, which shouldn't be the issue here.

Hopefully Bobs youtube clip will resolve your problem.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Michael574

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #43 on: July 07, 2015, 06:57:55 PM »
Hi, I've got this same problem now and it's really Peeing me off.

I'm running windows 8. I've tried looking for that "webshield.ini" file bu can't seem to find it.

I'm not very computer savvy, so any step by step instructions on how to fix this problem will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help.

Offline ChrisPublic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #44 on: August 08, 2015, 06:21:11 PM »
Michael, you should find the answer you're looking for in this thread on page 2.