Author Topic: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage  (Read 89877 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Asim Omer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« on: December 30, 2013, 09:41:58 AM »
Hi,

I had avast 2014.9.0.2011 causing high CPU usage lately after a long working in Firefox.

The high CPU usage won't come down even if I turned off all the shields.

I have removed the program from control panel and then booted to safe mode and used the avast cleaner utility then installed the program again still the problem exists.

So I removed it and went back to the previous version 2014.9.0.2008 which till now there is no problem.

So what is problem exactly with the new version and how can I fix it?

Thanks.

OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit (fully updated) - Firefox 26
« Last Edit: January 21, 2014, 11:08:12 AM by Asim Omer »

jwoods301

  • Guest
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2013, 09:47:19 AM »
This issue has been reported in several different threads for 9.0.2011.

Considering the change log entries, there are several suspects (posted on Filehorse.com)...



What's new in this version:

- Finally fully rewritten the WebShield so that it now doesn't work as a "transparent proxy" anymore. I.e. no more routing of all HTTP traffic through the AvastSvc.exe process - which should hopefully result in no more conflicts with various firewalls (especially older firewalls that can't handle transparent proxies) and overall improvement in stability and performance. Besides that (and this is really exciting) it allows us to see and detect more threats (the original webshield had some limitations).

- The Firewall component (in IS and Premier) has also changed dramatically. Made it more compatible with other applications, such as Java and various VPN services.

- The installer/updater has been improved to allow more reliable installation in case of infected machines. The installer is now protected by the avast self-defense driver from the very beginning, making it harder for active malware to kill it (if you have problems starting the installer in the first place, it may be a good idea to try to rename the executable to a random name first)

- The changes in the File System Shield's driver should result in faster performance, especially in the copy files and install programs scenarios.

- We have also beefed up the Browser Cleanup tool to be able to rip off even the more stubborn toolbars and other "PUBEs" (Pontentially Unwanted Browser Extensions

- Also fixed a whole bunch of bugs reported in the last couple of months. Especially if you encountered a problem with R1, try this new version, chances are that the problem is resolved there.


Offline Asim Omer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2014, 03:45:59 PM »
I don't why it worked for me but I decided to give the 9.0.2011 version a second chance so I removed the 9.0.2008 from the control panel, used the avast

cleaner, used the RejZoR's cleanup tool, did some registry cleaning with third party tools and installed the avast 9.0.2011 version.

And till now there is no high CPU usage whatsoever.

So it's better to close the thread for now.

jwoods301

  • Guest
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2014, 08:02:42 PM »
You might consider putting SOLVED in your Subject line...

Offline skinnypops

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • backup, backup, backup
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2014, 12:09:41 PM »
did all the same things yesterday. still having same problem. had over 200 megs built up before reinstall, so issue not solved.

skinnypops
new HP , amd a10-8700p quad core @ 1.8 gig radeon r6 graphics ,dedicated radeon r8 2gb graphics card, 8 gig ddr3-1600 memory, 1 tb hdd, win 10x64 home 1607 build 14393.1066, avast free 17.3.2291,  windows firewall, mbae free, mbam free, open dns, cryptoprevent, mcshield, paragon bu & recovery 2015,system explorer

Offline Udo Leverentz Mayer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2014, 03:39:31 PM »
Hi,

I'm having the same problem since updated to new version of Avast.

Windows 7 pro SP1 (DELL vostro 3500)
avast 2014.9.0.2011
chrome 31.0.1650.63 m

When I disable "Avast Internet Module", my notebook works fine.

Thanks

Offline j-mschaffner@msn.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
NOT SOLVED FOR ME Re: (SOLVED) avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2014, 05:39:45 PM »
I have tried all "fixes" in this thread but Avastsvc.exe is still using 90% cpu and generating GBs of temp files.  This problem can be found on seaches dating back to early December 2013 with thousands of reads.  It is an Avast problem that needs to be addressed, please!

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70578
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: (SOLVED) avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2014, 05:41:28 PM »
Try the new beta: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=144768.0

Problem solved..??
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.5.6346.B5i [UI.645] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 91.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.12 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.81
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline j-mschaffner@msn.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Asyn
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2014, 07:15:13 PM »
Asyn, Thank you for the quick response.  I have downloaded and install the beta version you suggested.  I'll monitor for awhile and let you know if the problem is resolved.  Thanks again

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70578
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: (SOLVED) avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2014, 07:19:32 PM »
You're welcome.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.5.6346.B5i [UI.645] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 91.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.12 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.81
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline j-mschaffner@msn.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: (SOLVED) avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2014, 06:16:55 PM »
Asyn,
Have been running the beta version you recommended for over 24 hours now with heavy internet traffic.  Avastsvc.exe has not hung the computer one time.  It is back to  :)only consuming < 1% of cpu.  Thank you for solving this problem for me.
Jim  :)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70578
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: (SOLVED) avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2014, 06:22:32 PM »
Great. Thanks for the feedback Jim.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.5.6346.B5i [UI.645] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 91.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.12 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.81
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Asim Omer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2014, 11:10:54 AM »
OK I have to admit the problem has came back after two weeks so it's not resolved yet I will try the new beta and report back.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70578
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2014, 01:57:56 PM »
OK I have to admit the problem has came back after two weeks so it's not resolved yet I will try the new beta and report back.

OK, please do so.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.5.6346.B5i [UI.645] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 91.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.12 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.81
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Asim Omer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: avastsvc.exe high CPU usage
« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2014, 08:58:53 PM »
One week after installing the 9.0.2013 version the high CPU usage returned again and I couldn't access the Internet because of avast.

The strange thing is that with other third party anti-virus the same problem happened.

If anyone want the dump file I am ready to upload it.