Author Topic: Novice needing help  (Read 6747 times)

catluvr

Novice needing help
« on: June 20, 2005, 02:03:41 PM »
This may get long and since I am relatively new to all this,  Here goes,  about 1-1/2 years ago I got a virus and was referred to Avast a my virus protection.  All seemed to be going well, I loaded the free home version and it is in resident,  I was on dial up until a couple of weeks ago when dsl was my choice.  I thought that when I ran the avast resident system it would be my protection.  In trying to setup the SBC Yahoo DSL. the Avast message has alerted me many times that an error occurred  cannot connect to download.  Once I could get online, then the little icon would begin to spin and I assumed that it was again working, and in fact I would get messages that it had updated.  Long story short, my dsl line was "available" to me June 3rd, but I could not get connected, for many reasons, bad modem, etc, until earlier last week.  WEll Sat night I was on line until about 1:30 am when I shut down and at 7am Sunday I could not get back on.  I spent hours with SBC people trying to find a solution, they said my dsl was up and communicating with my modem, and my computer appeared to be communicating, but I can't get on the dsl. I have been given the run around and finally was told I must have a tough spyware or virus.  Well I began my own testing and found I could get on line when I reverted back to my dialup system.(where I am now)  Also I went to the desktop avast icon and ran virus detection and found 4 virus and 1 worm  all currently in virus chest (not sure what to do with them now).  I was surprised to get this since my resident seemed to be working.  Isn't the resident supposed to protect again these or are you also supposed to run the virus program?  Also I have run ad-aware several times to remove any spyware.    Could there still by a virus/worm that would not allow me to communicate on dsl but still get on with my old dialup?   I'm lost and sb