Author Topic: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion  (Read 8964 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheAtomicGoose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« on: March 07, 2014, 10:22:56 PM »
Hi All,
I recently discovered that I had the virus in the title, and looked up what to do. I downloaded ComboFix and ran it, but I didn't realize that I wasn't supposed to have other programs open while it was running, and it didn't run correctly. In the thread where it said to download ComboFix it also said not to run it again if it doesn't work the first time, but to try to figure out another issue. However, in my case, ComboFix just didn't run correctly, which I know by the fact that ComboFix is supposed to restart the computer when it's done running, but it didn't in my case. What should I do?

Thanks!

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2014, 10:25:48 PM »
It can be dangerous to run combofix if you do not know what you are doing

What file is Avast reporting ?

Download OTL  to your Desktop
Secondary link
  • Double click on the icon to run it. Make sure all other windows are closed and to let it run uninterrupted.


  • Select All Users
  • Select LOP and Purity
  • Under the Custom Scan box paste this in
netsvcs
BASESERVICES
%SYSTEMDRIVE%\*.exe
c:\program files (x86)\Google\Desktop
c:\program files\Google\Desktop
dir "%systemdrive%\*" /S /A:L /C
/md5start
rpcss.dll
/md5stop
CREATERESTOREPOINT


  • Click the Run Scan button. Do not change any settings unless otherwise told to do so. The scan wont take long.
    • When the scan completes, it will open two notepad windows. OTL.Txt and Extras.Txt. These are saved in the same location as OTL.
    • Attach  both logs

Offline TheAtomicGoose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2014, 10:42:33 PM »
It is reporting C:\Windows\explorer.exe. Also, I'm slightly reluctant to run the program you suggested, because in the other thread I read you suggested that and the person's internet stopped working. Is that a common problem with that program?

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37106
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2014, 10:48:32 PM »
OTL does not do anything at first run....it just create a diagnostic log
The fix comes after (if needed)  when essexboy have seen that log


Offline TheAtomicGoose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2014, 10:51:29 PM »
Oh, ok. Thanks.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2014, 11:00:41 PM »
The other thread was where adwcleaner wrongly reset the proxy settings

What is the Avast update version that you have is it 140307-1

Offline TheAtomicGoose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2014, 11:02:08 PM »
Yes, it is.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2014, 11:03:22 PM »
OK I was wondering if it was an FP but I have that VPS and no problems

Offline TheAtomicGoose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2014, 11:21:49 PM »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2014, 11:28:14 PM »
Have you patched your explorer ?

Are the alerts still appearing

Warning This fix is only relevant for this system and no other, using on another computer may cause problems

Be advised that when the fix commences it will shut down all running processes and you may lose the desktop and icons, they will return on reboot

Run OTL
  • Under the Custom Scans/Fixes box at the bottom, paste in the following


Code: [Select]
:Commands
[CREATERESTOREPOINT]

:OTL
FF - prefs.js..keyword.URL: "http://feed.snapdo.com/?publisher=SnapdoGOblidooYB&dpid=GOB1&co=US&userid=d0834b7d-d15e-7452-7abe-972cc2d3e3bd&searchtype=ds&installDate={installDate}&q="
O2:64bit: - BHO: (no name) - {31332EEF-CB9F-458F-AFEB-D30E9A66B6BA} - No CLSID value found.
O2:64bit: - BHO: (no name) - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - No CLSID value found.
O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - {b278d9f8-0fa9-465e-9938-0c392605d8e3} - No CLSID value found.
O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - Locked - No CLSID value found.
O3 - HKU\S-1-5-21-474631609-1521078636-1054246077-1001\..\Toolbar\WebBrowser: (no name) - {2318C2B1-4965-11D4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - No CLSID value found.

:Commands
[resethosts]
[emptytemp]
[Reboot]
  • Then click the Run Fix button at the top
  • Let the program run unhindered, reboot the PC when it is done
  • Open OTL again and click the Quick Scan button. Post the log it produces in your next reply.

Offline TheAtomicGoose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2014, 11:31:26 PM »
I don't know what it means to patch your explorer.exe, so I'm assuming I haven't. And if by the alerts you mean avast! telling me that explorer.exe is malicious, yes.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2014, 11:43:23 PM »
Could you run combofix again please

Download and Install Combofix
 
Download ComboFix from one of the following locations:
Link 1
Link 2
 
VERY IMPORTANT !!! Save ComboFix.exe to your Desktop
 
* IMPORTANT - Disable your AntiVirus and AntiSpyware applications, usually via a right click on the System Tray icon. They may otherwise interfere with our tools. If you have difficulty properly disabling your protective programs, refer to this link here
  • Double click on ComboFix.exe & follow the prompts.
  • Accept the disclaimer and allow to update if it asks




  • When finished, it shall produce a log for you.
  • Please include the C:\ComboFix.txt in your next reply.[/b]
Notes:
1. Do not mouse-click Combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.
2. Do not "re-run" Combofix. If you have a problem, reply back for further instructions.

3.  If after the reboot you get errors about programmes being marked for deletion then reboot, that will cure it.


Please make sure you include the combo fix log in your next reply as well as describe how your computer is running now

Offline TheAtomicGoose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2014, 01:03:45 AM »
Ok, but real quick: I realize you said when you run OTL your desktop and icons could disappear, but mine are still gone after reboot...I had to use the task manager to get my browser running. Did you mean the reboot caused by OTL or that you need to reboot after OTL auto-reboots?

Offline TheAtomicGoose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2014, 01:35:34 AM »
Here's the log from the quick scan: http://pastebin.com/q3pPsKrs

Offline TheAtomicGoose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Win64:Dropper-Gen[Drp] Confusion
« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2014, 02:11:45 AM »
OK, well I ran ComboFix, and the command prompt stopped at step 50 and my internet isn't working.

EDIT: The internet's back, but my desktop is gone again (it had come back).
« Last Edit: March 08, 2014, 02:18:19 AM by TheAtomicGoose »