Author Topic: Avast claims this is a virus...  (Read 2754 times)

antoine9251

Avast claims this is a virus...
« on: April 08, 2014, 06:02:16 AM »
Running Windows 7 with Avast pro v2014.9.0.2016. this morning when I booted up I got a message saying an update was available. The update failed saying 'Avast firewall NDIS Filter_failed'.  I tried 3 times getting the same message. I opened Device Manager and there was no warning by the NDIS filter but I used the update option and still got the same message. I uninstalled and re-installed Avast and it still woudn't download the update. I disabled the firewall permanently, rebooted and the firewall was back on. I called Suppport, the woman used remote assistance, looked through my files and told me I had viruses. She claimed they probably came with a Windows update and were on my computer before I purchased Avast. Whats wrong with that is that I've been using the free version for 7-8 years and went to pro last year. Avast was also the FIRST thing I downloaded when I got this computer. She did say, however, that for $179 for 1 year she could connect me with a Tech that would clean my system  I've scanned this thing with four diffent antivirus programs and nothing was found. I know its the program, as a LOT of people have issues with this particular problem, offering various fixes [none worked that I tried], but never was a virus mentioned. Can anyone help me fix this? If not, paid for or not, Avast is history after this episode.  Thank you in advance.

Offline schmidthouse

• VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast claims this is a virus...
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2014, 06:10:11 AM »
Hi and welcome.
Don't pay for any support tech from the Avast 3rd party tech line.
There will be users here on the forum that will assist you with that error.
I do not use the Avast firewall so I will let more qualified persons reply. :)

antoine9251