Author Topic: Zip Files  (Read 14812 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline darrenjamesw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Zip Files
« on: February 01, 2003, 02:57:30 AM »
 :-\
I was a user of AVG and switched to Avast because I thought it looked better. I really like the program however...when I scan the EICAR virus test files I only get a positive result on the .com and .txt files. The zipped files show no infection. Is there an issue with .zip files or other archive types?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2003, 11:43:55 AM »
Are talking about on-demand or on-access?

If on-demand, you just need to turn on archive scanning.
If on-access, yes, avast by default doesn't look for viruses in packed files. However, it can be enabled. Look at the deftasks.xml file in the avast folder - all you need to do to enable scanning of archives on-access is to add the line

<STANDARD--ScanPackers>EXE;ZIP;MIME;RAR;ARJ;TAR;GZ</STANDARD--ScanPackers>
 
after the line
<STANDARD--InvalidEntry>1</STANDARD--InvalidEntry>


If you're using avast 4 Professional, the same thing can be done in a more convenient way by editing the resident task.

Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline darrenjamesw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2003, 09:04:30 PM »
Thanks for the reply. I have a question though...I can't find any settings to enable archive scanning. Is this available in the home edition?

Offline Roman Svihalek

  • Avast team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2003, 12:39:07 AM »
Yes, it is. It can be turned on after scan area is selected in simple user interface. Small window is shown then with slider to set test sensitivity and check box to enable scanning of archives...
« Last Edit: February 03, 2003, 12:39:45 AM by Roman Svihalek »

Offline darrenjamesw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2003, 01:11:03 AM »
 ;D
Thanks. I see that option. I was actually looking for some way to turn on the archive option for the Quickscan in the right click context menu. However, the XML code  I was given works very well for on access scanning and that is good enough for me.

Offline Roman Svihalek

  • Avast team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2003, 10:40:00 AM »
Detail option settings for ashQuick.exe program is available in Professional Edition of avast! version 4.0 - it is managed by enhanced user interface...

We have modified defaults for ashQuick.exe to scan all known archives - you are right that program should do this.

If you want to enable archives scanning for ashQuick.exe on your computer right know add following lines into your DefTasks.xml file:

<Task>
<DefTaskVersion>1</DefTaskVersion>
<Label>*Quick</Label>
<ScanPackers>All</ScanPackers>
</Task>

Then restart avast! service (if you are using Win9x, ME restart your computer) to reflect made changes...[/me]
« Last Edit: February 03, 2003, 10:41:06 AM by Roman Svihalek »

Offline darrenjamesw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2003, 03:46:23 PM »
 ;D
Great responses. Thanks for the XML Code for quickscan, although it is kinda redundant now. With the XML code for on access scanning inserted into the deftasks file as soon as you click on an infected archive file the alarm sounds.

Offline Lars-Erik

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 394
    • Lars-Erik Østerud
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2004, 07:35:00 PM »
archives on-access is to add the line

<STANDARD--ScanPackers>EXE;ZIP;MIME;RAR;ARJ;TAR;GZ</STANDARD--ScanPackers>

I looked at the lines further down in the file and the looked similar, but had some extra file-extensions, and "overwrite=no" in the tag, should those additions be added to the tag you suggested too (are they newer additions since your original posting) or....

      <OUTLOOK--ScanPackers overwrite="no">EXE;ZIP;MIME;RAR;ARJ;TAR;GZ;CAB;ARC;ACE;ZOO;BZIP2;WinExec</OUTLOOK--ScanPackers>
      <MAIL--ScanPackers overwrite="no">EXE;ZIP;MIME;RAR;ARJ;TAR;GZ;CAB;ARC;ACE;ZOO;BZIP2;WinExec</MAIL--ScanPackers>
      <P2P--ScanPackers overwrite="no">EXE;ZIP;MIME;RAR;ARJ;TAR;GZ;CAB;ARC;ACE;ZOO;BZIP2;WinExec</P2P--ScanPackers>
      <IM--ScanPackers overwrite="no">EXE;ZIP;MIME;RAR;ARJ;TAR;GZ;CAB;ARC;ACE;ZOO;BZIP2;WinExec</IM--ScanPackers>
www.osterud.name - ICQ: 7297605 - AIM/Yahoo/Facebook/Skype/Astra: LarsErikOsterud

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2004, 07:36:44 PM »
It's actually not file extensions, it's file formats (unpacker engines)...

You can set those for STANDARD (The Standard Shield) as well, but avoid the overwrite="no" attribute, it would make the changes unusable...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3292
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2004, 02:56:23 AM »
If you're using avast 4 Professional, the same thing can be done in a more convenient way by editing the resident task.

Vlk


Vlk may I ask what is the correct setting to do this on avast 4 Pro to setup all the ScanPackers, do you understand what I am trying to say.
ASUS G75VX-T4153H - Avast Premium v20.5.5410 - Avast SecureLine VPN - Avast Secure Browser - W8.1 64bit - Firefox 64bit - Thunderbird 64bit - MBAM Premium - Adguard Premium - CryptoPrevent Premium - Privacy Eraser - MCShield - WinPatrol PLUS - Macrium Reflect Home Edition

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2004, 03:07:21 AM »
Right click on the task, choose properties, go to page 'Packers' and choose 'All Packers'. You can do for all tasks that you want.

Hope this help  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3292
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2004, 09:53:01 AM »
Right click on the task, choose properties, go to page 'Packers' and choose 'All Packers'. You can do for all tasks that you want.

Hope this help  ;)

Mmmm I found it I better not edit the DefTasks.xml is too risky for me, better leave it alone not unless I know what I am doing with the DefTasks.xml.
ASUS G75VX-T4153H - Avast Premium v20.5.5410 - Avast SecureLine VPN - Avast Secure Browser - W8.1 64bit - Firefox 64bit - Thunderbird 64bit - MBAM Premium - Adguard Premium - CryptoPrevent Premium - Privacy Eraser - MCShield - WinPatrol PLUS - Macrium Reflect Home Edition

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2004, 10:34:31 AM »
It's pointless to do the DefTasks.xml trick if you have avast Pro. That's what the Enhanced GUI is for!
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline shgoh

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 977
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2004, 12:53:47 PM »
Look at the deftasks.xml file in the avast folder - all you need to do to enable scanning of archives on-access is to add the line

<STANDARD--ScanPackers>EXE;ZIP;MIME;RAR;ARJ;TAR;GZ</STANDARD--ScanPackers>
 
after the line
<STANDARD--InvalidEntry>1</STANDARD--InvalidEntry>


If you're using avast 4 Professional, the same thing can be done in a more convenient way by editing the resident task.

Vlk


i tried it....but the deftasks.xml file changes everytime i reboot...<STANDARD--ScanPackers>EXE;ZIP;MIME;RAR;ARJ;TAR;GZ</STANDARD--ScanPackers> disappeared.. ??? ???
lIfE iS sAd...yOu NeVeR kNoW wHaT yOu GoNnA gEt... :'(

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:Zip Files
« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2004, 06:42:36 PM »
i tried it....but the deftasks.xml file changes everytime i reboot...<STANDARD--ScanPackers>EXE;ZIP;MIME;RAR;ARJ;TAR;GZ</STANDARD--ScanPackers> disappeared.. ??? ???

For me too... What are we doing wrong?
If we have the Pro version, what does change the deftask.xlm file? A though that the GUI will read the file and keep the values...
If I go to the GUI, I set all packers but that line does not appear as stated before:

...<STANDARD--ScanPackers>EXE;ZIP;MIME;RAR;ARJ;TAR;GZ</STANDARD--ScanPackers>
The best things in life are free.