Author Topic: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional  (Read 8501 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Avast4User

  • Guest
Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« on: May 18, 2014, 07:18:42 AM »
Hi Avast Team,

I would to refer to this issue, which happens with many other user's.

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=974038

The main issue is that after using Firefox latest version on Windows XP SP3 (i know it is no more supported by M$, etc.) and with the latest version of Avast Free it occurs that I'm (and many others  that i know) are unable to use the dialog box to upload or download from many websites, also after trying to press the upload/download button nothings appear. (tried to disable the Avast Online Security Add-On as well but no success, Firefox multiply time reset, new profile created, Windows new profile created but still no success)

After testing, all Firefox above version 26.0 doesn't seem to have access to the file system on my computer.
- If i try to upload picture from certain websites, dialog (browse window) don't pop-up.
- If I select "Save Page As" from the menu in FireFox, nothing happens.
- If I go into options and specify "Download| Save files to" and click on "Browse", nothing happens.
- If I click on a file link (e.g. pdf, word) and I select "Save File", nothing happens.
- If I try "Export bookmarks to HTML", nothing happens.
- If I uninstall Avast, above issues are gone.

Also other users had report this issue !
https://support.mozilla.org/fr/questions/986530
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/986151
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=2801993
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/986901

Details:
OS - Windows XP SP3 Pro x86
AV - Avast Free version 2014.9.0.2018
Avast Add on - Security Online 9.0.2018.95
Browser - Firefox; All above version 26.0 including FF Beta 30.0 and Aurora latest version
FireFox resetted - Issue still exist
FireFox new profile created - Issue still exist
FireFox boot without add-on - Issue still exist
Windows new profile created - Issue still exist

Thank you.

Edit:
1. More details added.
2. Links added.

« Last Edit: May 19, 2014, 08:53:34 PM by Avast4User »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89002
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2014, 02:12:56 PM »
Not sure which part of the bugzilla report, but the first part, the File > Open issue gives the picker window correctly. For the last couple of firefox versions the Menu Bar has been unchecked by default, so I haven't been using that. Enabled it for the File > Open test above and no issue.

Over the last several versions of firefox with avast and XP Pro SP3 I have had no problem using the save link as option (in the context menu).
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Avast4User

  • Guest
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2014, 07:30:36 PM »
Not sure which part of the bugzilla report, but the first part, the File > Open issue gives the picker window correctly. For the last couple of firefox versions the Menu Bar has been unchecked by default, so I haven't been using that. Enabled it for the File > Open test above and no issue.

Over the last several versions of firefox with avast and XP Pro SP3 I have had no problem using the save link as option (in the context menu).
I'm very sorry for my bad English, which is not well explained. But it wasn't the save/open menu from FireFox itself but the button from websites.

OK, let's try to open Facebook and upload a picture from it , also after pressing the upload (screenshot attached) a dialog window should pop-up to browse thru the files which are stored on the computer but instead after pressing the upload button nothing appears, nothing happens. I really don't know whether Avast is blocking some flash or java script's here.

I had uninstall Avast and it works again, re-install and it won't work again until i downgrade Fire Fox to version 26.0 and all is fine.
But then i re-answered an open a bugzilla report which had the same case and some dev's said that it would come from Avast.

But thanks to start trying to help me, very appreciated. :)

PS : I had found this earlier on Avast forum's which was mostly with Flickr, Photobucket and few other websites that are behaving like this.
PS II:My English is bad but hopefully it could be read. (in some way)


« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 07:37:09 PM by Avast4User »

Avast4User

  • Guest
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2014, 09:20:40 PM »
Sorry i just tested it and it occurs with the open/save file as well. This might be that Firefox 27 doesn't seem to have access to the file system, may be blocked by Avast.

More more links attached from other user's.

https://support.mozilla.org/fr/questions/986530
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/986151
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=2801993

PS: I don't have PhotoMe add-on installed and i really don't want to switch to another AV, thanks.

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6700
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2014, 11:07:53 PM »
Have you tried Firefox v29.0?  ???
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Avast4User

  • Guest
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2014, 05:50:22 PM »
Have you tried Firefox v29.0?  ???
Have you tried Firefox v29.0?  ???
Yes, i have tried FireFox v29.0.1 (which looks like chrome GUI), also the latest which is available via the normal download page.

After testing, all Firefox above version 26.0 doesn't seem to have access to the file system on my computer.
- If i try to upload picture from certain websites, dialog (browse window) don't pop-up.
- If I select "Save Page As" from the menu in FireFox, nothing happens.
- If I go into options and specify "Download| Save files to" and click on "Browse", nothing happens.
- If I click on a file link (e.g. pdf, word) and I select "Save File", nothing happens.
- If I try "Export bookmarks to HTML", nothing happens.
- If I uninstall Avast, above issues are gone.

Thank you. :-\

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6700
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2014, 06:52:22 PM »
Try using Firefox v29.0 and use the "classic theme restorer" extension.
You can access the "restorer" via the add-ons.

I'm using FF v29.0 with no issues.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Avast4User

  • Guest
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2014, 08:32:45 PM »
Try using Firefox v29.0 and use the "classic theme restorer" extension.
You can access the "restorer" via the add-ons.

I'm using FF v29.0 with no issues.
Just tested FF v29.0 and the issue still exist. Additional tested FF Beta v30.0 and Aurora 31.0a2, all have the system access issue.  :'(

Avast4User

  • Guest
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2014, 08:16:29 AM »
Issue still exist.  :-\

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6700
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2014, 03:38:52 PM »
It may not be the "official" FF forum but you may want to post here http://forums.mozillazine.org/index.php
It does sound like a Firefox issue and not an avast issue.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2014, 07:44:38 AM »
It does not appear to be a firefox issue. I have this problem and I have seen this problem documented and in every instance the solution was to uninstall Avast.

Here is one instance:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/993338

And here is another instance:
http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/topic/338727-firefox-file-dialog-save-open-export-etc-does-not-appear/

And in the latter instance, the person said that Avast gave him a workaround.
"In the meantime, Avast has provided me with a workaround from their end of things.  Namely, renaming the snxhk.dll file ("c:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\snxhk.dll") so that it doesn't try to activate, and then restarting Firefox.  Obviously, there is some kind of interaction between Avast's sandbox (which, I didn't even install/activate) and the Outpost Firewall.  Avast has indicated that they are going to incorporate a more permanent fix for this into their next version - but, I'm not sure exactly when that will be."

Now, can some actual help be offered for this problem?

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2014, 05:45:46 PM »
Wow...

Seriously, people. The bug exists at least from April, it has been reported in May, now we have October and it has not been fixed yet???

I only learned about it now, because I upgraded FF only a week ago. And for a week I tried to troubleshoot it on my own until finally I googled that it is Avast's fault. I immediately updated Avast to the last version and... surprise. The bug is still there.

This is outrageous. And not only because it renders one of the major browsers unusable, but mainly because it seems like there is a serious flaw in the way Avast works. Why? Because turning off shields does not help (sic!). I always thought that when you turn off shields, antivirus programs stop messing with your system. Isn't it how you diagnose compatibility problems, for Baal's sake??? Had it worked like it should, I would have troubleshot this bug in 10 minutes. Because of course compatibility with Avast was one of the first things I checked. Instead, I wasted a week, because I chose the antivirus that cannot be trusted - your antivirus. Now I wonder if some other issues with my system are not Avast-related too?

You may ask yourselves why do I bother to write all of this, if I'm not going to use Avast again (I think it is obvious that after this I will move to AVG or Avira)?

Well, I'm simply shocked by the level of your incompetence and I thought I'll just let you know how lame you are.

Take care,

Antipop

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76037
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2014, 05:50:32 PM »
Not sure what you mean, no problems here with Firefox.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2014, 06:04:39 PM »
XP SP3 - avast! 10.0.2201.B - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - MBAM 1.75 [On Demand] - Firefox ESR 24.8.1 [NS/ABP/EHH/BP] - Thunderbird 31.1.2 [EM]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> avast! Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Not sure what you mean, no problems here with Firefox.

Reading the thread could help.
"all Firefox above version 26.0 doesn't seem to have access to the file system on my computer."

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76037
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast + Firefox = Not fully functional
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2014, 06:08:55 PM »
1. Reading the thread could help.
2. "all Firefox above version 26.0 doesn't seem to have access to the file system on my computer."
1. Not really, as this thread is way outdated.
2. Well, haven't seen any such reports on the forum.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0