Author Topic: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?  (Read 23635 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

REDACTED

  • Guest
To reduce Avast CPU consumption, eg CPU always hovering at 50% by AvastSvc.exe running, it was suggested to add these two lines in the WebShield.ini file.

[General]
UseStreamFilter=0


Sadly, this does not appear to be the solution to the issue.

But............... If I click on Disable Avast Shields for 10 minutes and then immediately Enable All Shields again, the CPU and Memory consumption normalise until something gets AvastSvc.exe excited again. In which case my CPU temperature rises rapidly to set off the cooling fan and that is what lets me know that AvastSvc.exe has got stuck 50% again.

This problem has only appeared since I recently purchased Avast INTERNET SECURITY.
Since the first time I installed Avast FREE version 12 years ago, I never had any problems with my machine.

Maybe that's the problem. "Money does not buy happiness" :-(


Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7170
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2014, 07:01:23 PM »
Just to point out, the only thing that's different then is AIS has a 'Firewall' module where as the Free version does not.
You don't have 2 firewalls running do you?

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31081
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2014, 07:43:25 PM »
What applications do you have running when it happens ?

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2014, 03:13:46 PM »
Just to point out, the only thing that's different then is AIS has a 'Firewall' module where as the Free version does not.
You don't have 2 firewalls running do you?

I have two Windows machines; XP (Dell Laptop) and Akoya with Win7.
Before I get lectures about still using XP, I am one of the several million users that have programs that do not function in 7, 8.0 or 8.1.
That's why I purchased AVAST! Premium to help protect me.

I disabled Windows Firewall when I purchased and installed this new version of Avast in this Dell Laptop.
I also have MalwareBytes Pro installed, but that is not causing any conflicts with Avast because I disabled it, to establish which of these
two programs might be getting upset with each other.
From what I can tell so far, the culprit appears to be Outlook Express. Yes......... I know, I know, but who wins when you try to convert your wife to new ways of doing things. (No let's not go there) But yes OE seems to be the program that really gets AVAST all steamed up and stuck.

If you know of an email client that has the editing functionality of OE and is not going to upset Avast or my wife, please let me know :-))

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7170
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2014, 07:17:18 PM »
Interesting, as I also run an xpSP3 dell lapper and have used OE, but mostly MS Outlook.
In any case, there was not an issue with CPU or memory use while using OE.

I'm not at my xp right now, so I can't test the latest version of Avast (Premier) with OE.
(No issue with MS Outlook)
Will test later and see if I see unusual activity from Avast.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2014, 12:53:39 PM »
Interesting, as I also run an xpSP3 dell lapper and have used OE, but mostly MS Outlook.
In any case, there was not an issue with CPU or memory use while using OE.

I'm not at my xp right now, so I can't test the latest version of Avast (Premier) with OE.
(No issue with MS Outlook)
Will test later and see if I see unusual activity from Avast.

Thanks for you help schmidthouse,
look forward to seeing what shows up on your Windows Task Manager when you open OE.
If your CPU usage creeps up to 50% while OE is running, try killing/select Avast for 10 mins and then immediately put 'All Shields back on again to see
what happens to you CPU usage. Amazing how mine just totally calms down.

BTW,
Do you know where I might find "Application Rules page" that is mentioned in AVAST's Tools-Firewall-Application Rules- Configure?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7170
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2014, 05:03:03 AM »
Interesting, as I also run an xpSP3 dell lapper and have used OE, but mostly MS Outlook.
In any case, there was not an issue with CPU or memory use while using OE.

I'm not at my xp right now, so I can't test the latest version of Avast (Premier) with OE.
(No issue with MS Outlook)
Will test later and see if I see unusual activity from Avast.

Thanks for you help schmidthouse,
look forward to seeing what shows up on your Windows Task Manager when you open OE.
If your CPU usage creeps up to 50% while OE is running, try killing/select Avast for 10 mins and then immediately put 'All Shields back on again to see
what happens to you CPU usage. Amazing how mine just totally calms down.

BTW,
Do you know where I might find "Application Rules page" that is mentioned in AVAST's Tools-Firewall-Application Rules- Configure?

No worries,
I should be able to get back at the xp tomorrow

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7170
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2014, 01:02:46 AM »
Have checked Outlook Express 6 with latest Avast Premier on xpSP3 and no issues with CPU or otherwise. Very quiet for hours with OE opened. Now I did not test with Messenger running because I never use.(would be old version for sure).
No help here, :-\

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2014, 08:34:53 AM »
Have checked Outlook Express 6 with latest Avast Premier on xpSP3 and no issues with CPU or otherwise. Very quiet for hours with OE opened. Now I did not test with Messenger running because I never use.(would be old version for sure).
No help here, :-\

Thanks for spending your time on this schmidthouse but may I ask, does Avast PREMIER have the same structure as Avast INTERNET SECURITY?

Also, I don't use Messenger either, only Outlook Express 6. That said, I am considering replacing OE with Thunderbird and who knows? Maybe the CPU / RAM issue will disappear.  ;D

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5498
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2014, 10:27:09 AM »
Have checked Outlook Express 6 with latest Avast Premier on xpSP3 and no issues with CPU or otherwise. Very quiet for hours with OE opened. Now I did not test with Messenger running because I never use.(would be old version for sure).
No help here, :-\

Thanks for spending your time on this schmidthouse but may I ask, does Avast PREMIER have the same structure as Avast INTERNET SECURITY?

Also, I don't use Messenger either, only Outlook Express 6. That said, I am considering replacing OE with Thunderbird and who knows? Maybe the CPU / RAM issue will disappear.  ;D
Well, as OE 6 is not supported anymore, any compatible program with XP that is newer and still gets security updates will be worth your time and troubles all the better to avoid issues with OE 6 getting exploited or hacked.  Thunderbird will fit the bill nicely.  Version 31.0 is the latest version, but at least SP2 is required, SP3 preferred.

Full Download Link:  https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/thunderbird/all.html  Choose the location that best applies to you.

As to Premier vs. AIS:  http://www.avast.com/en-us/compare-antivirus  More features, but pretty much the same as AIS in protection.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 22H2 Avast Premier Security version 23.11.6090 (build 23.11.8635.809)
 UI version 1.0.788.  Windows 11 Pro 22H2 Avast Premier Security version 23.11.6090 (build 23.11.8635.809)

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7170
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2014, 06:26:29 PM »
Have checked Outlook Express 6 with latest Avast Premier on xpSP3 and no issues with CPU or otherwise. Very quiet for hours with OE opened. Now I did not test with Messenger running because I never use.(would be old version for sure).
No help here, :-\

Thanks for spending your time on this schmidthouse but may I ask, does Avast PREMIER have the same structure as Avast INTERNET SECURITY?

Also, I don't use Messenger either, only Outlook Express 6. That said, I am considering replacing OE with Thunderbird and who knows? Maybe the CPU / RAM issue will disappear.  ;D

You're welcome Palebushman , yes Premier and AIS have the same basic structure only as Mchain has pointed out just some added features.
I personally use TB on my W8.1 and like it just fine, you will like it better then OE I'll bet.
Good luck,  :)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48468
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2014, 11:20:23 PM »
Windows Live Mail is probably much more closely related to OE than TB. :)
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88776
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2014, 12:32:29 AM »
Windows Live Mail is probably much more closely related to OE than TB.<$1alt="" title="" onresizestart="return false;" id="smiley__$2" style="padding: 0 3px 0 3px;" />

Whilst I haven't used Windows Live Mail, but it may be able to import your OE email folders, etc. Seems like you can, lots of hits on this search, https://uk.search.yahoo.com/search?p=import+Outlook+Express+emails+into+windows+live+mail.

I was able to import my emails and folders into Thunderbird, but it wasn't a perfect transfer, but better than starting from scratch.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48468
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2014, 12:46:39 AM »
Importing is easy:
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Why is AvastSvc.exe creating very high CPU and Memory usage?
« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2014, 04:43:49 AM »
Many thanks to all of you who have provided guidance in trying to resolve this CPU/RAM consumption issue so far, but sadly it still persists.
I have installed the latest version of Thunderbird and the issue is exactly the same.  :o ::)

No other other programs on my machine, except these email clients, trigger or upset Avast in this manner.
Strange, that in all the 12 years that I have been using Avast both free and paid versions, this is the only paid version that has issues.  :'( :(

My next plan of action, if none of you suggest otherwise, is to completely un-install, remove all traces of Alwil/Avast from the registry, reboot several times and then install the latest FREE version of Avast.

If the problem disappears, I will kiss the money I paid for Avast Internet Security as a bad bet and stick with the free version.


.