Author Topic: Stop avast DeepScreen from scanning files in a specified folder (Windows 8.1)  (Read 17445 times)

REDACTED

I'm a programmer, and I'm making some C++ programs. All files within "C:\Users\Cody\Documents\Visual Studio 2012" are programs that I made, and every time I compile my program, avast DeepScreen pops up and scans it, and once it finishes, it restarts my program for no reason.

Thanks

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Add the folder to the global exclusion list.

REDACTED

I added the folder to the exclusion list for DeepScreen:
(Click here for picture)
Yet DeepScreen still scans them. Before I added that, I removed the exclusions that DeepScreen automatically added (that specified each particular file) since if it ignores the entire Projects folder it shouldn't need the individual references.

Thanks for helping!

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Looking at your image, it looks like you copied and pasted the path into the exclusions as if you use the Browse or Add button you have to drill down to .exe file level, it won't let you exclude a folder in the DeepScreen or Hardened Mode exclusions. That is most likely why the files are being scanned. Paths would normally require the \* wild card at the end.

Only the File paths tab allows you to select a folder to exclude - now I don't know if in excluding a folder under the File paths tab would also exclude it from DeepScreen scans (I suspect not).

Something that you might try is Enable Hardened Mode and set to Aggressive, this would I believe normally bypass the DeepScreen - worth a check.

But being a programmer it is likely that your newly created program file might get hit by the Reputation services (checking against avast cloud database) as they will be unsigned and unknown as such.