Author Topic: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)  (Read 56625 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline boe323

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #30 on: October 01, 2014, 02:57:53 PM »
is securedns ipv6 capable?, im using googles dns, and now its running through securedns and also bt's dns servers, would like to get rid os at least 1 lol, cant remove bt's. EDIT: I just checked, there not ipv6 capable, I would of thought in this day and age that they would be, ipv4 is running out of addresses, at least future proof the dns server. All these dns servers are whats probably slowing my web pages lol.

Hi, ipv6 resolves, AAAA records should be supported over avast SecureDns.

nslookup facebook.com
...

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    facebook.com
Addresses:  2a03:2880:2130:cf05:face:b00c:0:1
          173.252.120.6


When I check with this though,  http://test-ipv6.com/  ,  it says dns server doesn't support ipv6. But if I re add googles dns servers it passes. Can you tell me if the ng vm's delete themselves after you close the vm browser/s ?, im only left with the ng base and 1 vm after using the vm browsers. Am I set up correctly?
« Last Edit: October 01, 2014, 03:03:35 PM by boe323 »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #31 on: October 01, 2014, 03:25:38 PM »
Where are?
1. Access to Chest...
2. Access to GrimeFighter free scanning...

I'm lost in the interface...
I'm feeling like Microsoft Office 2003 updating to newer versions and the most question around: "Where is the old and good icon for...".
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #32 on: October 01, 2014, 03:32:25 PM »
Survey is landing in a blank page. Is it only me?
http://www.avast.com/survey?qp_sid=3931950
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44313
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #33 on: October 01, 2014, 03:44:54 PM »
It's you.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #34 on: October 01, 2014, 03:54:42 PM »
Survey is landing in a blank page. Is it only me?
http://www.avast.com/survey?qp_sid=3931950

Probably due to adblock. Had the same experience.

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #35 on: October 01, 2014, 03:55:40 PM »
Where are?
1. Access to Chest...
2. Access to GrimeFighter free scanning...

I'm lost in the interface...
I'm feeling like Microsoft Office 2003 updating to newer versions and the most question around: "Where is the old and good icon for...".

1. Scan - Scan for viruses (bottom)
2. Should be in Tools menu when Grimefighter is supported in your PC (isn't in mine).

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2313
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #36 on: October 01, 2014, 04:39:30 PM »
I would rather see an option to enable PUP's during the install process. This way a user has a better chance of seeing and making a decision on enabling. How many people are going to fumble through the gui to find the new option? How many even know to enable it?


I think it is important to have this enabled in the first place. The new setting is nice though. Especially if you know it's there.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2014, 05:09:06 PM by Charyb »

Offline boe323

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #37 on: October 01, 2014, 04:43:48 PM »
Survey is landing in a blank page. Is it only me?
http://www.avast.com/survey?qp_sid=3931950

You need to unblock it

Offline boe323

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #38 on: October 01, 2014, 04:51:26 PM »
Should windows 8.1's firewall be enabled with avast's firewall?, always wondered because a while ago avast used to disable the firewall but now it no longer does it, used to have a message saying its being controlled.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31344
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #39 on: October 01, 2014, 06:06:17 PM »
This BETA doesn't work on systems that don't support the SSE2 instruction set.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9347
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #40 on: October 01, 2014, 06:23:45 PM »
I would rather see an option to enable PUP's during the install process. This way a user has a better chance of seeing and making a decision on enabling. How many people are going to fumble through the gui to find the new option? How many even know to enable it?


I think it is important to have this enabled in the first place. The new setting is nice though. Especially if you know it's there.

The chance of such user actually needing PUP detection is very low. If they know and need PUP detection, they will find it. If users don't bother to look for it, they don't really need it. After all, PUP are not really malicious, but can be annoying. As well as it can be annoying to send installer into Virus Chest just because a PUP was detected inside of it.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #41 on: October 01, 2014, 06:56:17 PM »
I would rather see an option to enable PUP's during the install process. This way a user has a better chance of seeing and making a decision on enabling. How many people are going to fumble through the gui to find the new option? How many even know to enable it?


I think it is important to have this enabled in the first place. The new setting is nice though. Especially if you know it's there.

The chance of such user actually needing PUP detection is very low. If they know and need PUP detection, they will find it. If users don't bother to look for it, they don't really need it. After all, PUP are not really malicious, but can be annoying. As well as it can be annoying to send installer into Virus Chest just because a PUP was detected inside of it.

If you take average Joe, he/she could not possibly know what PUPs are and that AV by default does not detect them.

In my tests, avast rarely quarantines the installer. Most of the time, it detects/deletes co-installers (real PUPs) that are hidden/downloaded during install. I consider PUPs real threat to PCs because of they slow PC down and annoy users. Therefore I am all in for during-installation option to turn on PUP detections (EMSISOFT and ESET do that, don't know about others).

Offline jrace

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #42 on: October 01, 2014, 06:56:48 PM »
Where are?
1. Access to Chest...
2. Access to GrimeFighter free scanning...

I'm lost in the interface...
I'm feeling like Microsoft Office 2003 updating to newer versions and the most question around: "Where is the old and good icon for...".

No. 1. is answered by "Lord_Ami"
No. 2. is found under "Scan"/"Scan for performance issues"
Sony VGN-SZ71VN/X, 4GB RAM, 256GB SSD, win7/32_ult_SP1-U
avast! pro 11.2.2255, Win7 Firewall, MBAM 2.2.0.1024
FF 45.0

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #43 on: October 01, 2014, 07:01:42 PM »
Survey is landing in a blank page. Is it only me?
http://www.avast.com/survey?qp_sid=3931950

Probably due to adblock. Had the same experience.
Yeah. Thanks.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #44 on: October 01, 2014, 07:05:41 PM »
No. 2. is found under "Scan"/"Scan for performance issues"
???
I don't have it... As I have Windows 8.1  :'(
« Last Edit: October 01, 2014, 07:08:11 PM by Lisandro »
The best things in life are free.