Author Topic: Question about Firefox v1.0.6  (Read 9682 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3398
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« on: August 23, 2005, 05:15:56 AM »
To person who used FireFox web browsers do you always enable java and javascript in the settings? Yes or No?

Finally is their a foxfire spell check add-on tools? very much like Google tool bar.

That all and have a GREAT! Day ;D
Gigabyte 670 LGA1200 Full ATX MB | Intel Core i9-13900 CPU/LGA 1700 | GeForce Nvidia RTX-4070/12GB | 32GB DDR4 | 2 x 1TB Samsung SSD | W11 Home 64bit | Avast Premium v24.3.6108 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | Firefox 64bit | MalwareBytes Premium | Adguard Premium | CCleaner Portable | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Fast

  • Guest
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2005, 05:48:09 AM »
Yes, javascript and java enabled: without javascript, surfing is almost impossible and java is safe to use when using your brain while surfing.
No spell-checker extension available.

Offline TedNelly

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1538
  • Trust No-One!
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2005, 06:00:57 AM »


I have been using FF with java and javascript enabled without any problems for quite

a long time obviously java is up-to date.

I also use a Google type toolbar named "Groowe Search Toolbar" it however does not have a spell

checker http://www.groowe.com/ good hide function
Windows 10 Pro | Intel I7 CPU | 16 Gig 2133 RAM | Avast beta 17.5.2295 | Firefox 54 b9(64-bit) | Cyberfox 52.1 | T-Bird 52.1.1 | SpyWareBlaster 5.5 | MalwareBytes 3.0.0.865 | WinPatrol 35.5.2 | GlassWire 1.2.100 | Cybereason Ransomfree 2.2.7 |  Pulla-dePlug Final!

MFB

  • Guest
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2005, 06:29:12 AM »
I have to enable Java, and for JavaScript, I only set it to change image.  :)

Offline TedNelly

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1538
  • Trust No-One!
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2005, 06:49:34 AM »



Hi FIXER these are the FF settings I use without any problems
Windows 10 Pro | Intel I7 CPU | 16 Gig 2133 RAM | Avast beta 17.5.2295 | Firefox 54 b9(64-bit) | Cyberfox 52.1 | T-Bird 52.1.1 | SpyWareBlaster 5.5 | MalwareBytes 3.0.0.865 | WinPatrol 35.5.2 | GlassWire 1.2.100 | Cybereason Ransomfree 2.2.7 |  Pulla-dePlug Final!

MFB

  • Guest
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2005, 07:15:03 AM »



Hi FIXER these are the FF settings I use without any problems

Yeah I unchecked the first two but the last one, change image, I kept it check mark and I had no problems after that.  I suggest you kept your settings cause I might surf the web differently than you.   ;D ;)
« Last Edit: August 23, 2005, 07:16:35 AM by FIXER »

Offline TedNelly

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1538
  • Trust No-One!
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2005, 07:19:08 AM »



No worries mate thanks ;D
Windows 10 Pro | Intel I7 CPU | 16 Gig 2133 RAM | Avast beta 17.5.2295 | Firefox 54 b9(64-bit) | Cyberfox 52.1 | T-Bird 52.1.1 | SpyWareBlaster 5.5 | MalwareBytes 3.0.0.865 | WinPatrol 35.5.2 | GlassWire 1.2.100 | Cybereason Ransomfree 2.2.7 |  Pulla-dePlug Final!

wulfruna

  • Guest
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2005, 08:01:33 AM »
There is a Spellchecker for Firefox. It is called Spellbound and you can get it from

http://spellbound.sourceforge.net/

After installing you customize your toolbar and drag the icon into your toolbar.

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3398
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2005, 09:49:27 AM »
Wow! :o pretty quick respond thanks all for your support, however........very lazy (me) :P for not using a Google Search engine and somebody should whack me ;D.

There was a google tool bar for Firefox but it in Beta version http://toolbar.google.com/firefox/ and it work very stable no problem at all, I don't used spell check very much I am setting up laptop computer for my brother and he used the Google toolbar a lot for IE6.

My brother like Firefox and he was amaze when using to new web browsers, he prefer using Firefox over Opera and he only used IE6 for window update.

Sorry for wasting your time for your help and support.
Gigabyte 670 LGA1200 Full ATX MB | Intel Core i9-13900 CPU/LGA 1700 | GeForce Nvidia RTX-4070/12GB | 32GB DDR4 | 2 x 1TB Samsung SSD | W11 Home 64bit | Avast Premium v24.3.6108 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | Firefox 64bit | MalwareBytes Premium | Adguard Premium | CCleaner Portable | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3398
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2005, 01:16:53 PM »
I have one last finally question.

Does Avast 4 Home Edition webshields works together with Firefox, or do I have to install a special add-on tool?
Gigabyte 670 LGA1200 Full ATX MB | Intel Core i9-13900 CPU/LGA 1700 | GeForce Nvidia RTX-4070/12GB | 32GB DDR4 | 2 x 1TB Samsung SSD | W11 Home 64bit | Avast Premium v24.3.6108 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | Firefox 64bit | MalwareBytes Premium | Adguard Premium | CCleaner Portable | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

DukeNukem

  • Guest
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2005, 01:54:45 PM »
Webshield works perfectly with firefox, u dont have to do a thing apart from enable webshield  :)

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3398
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2005, 02:31:35 PM »
Webshield works perfectly with firefox, u dont have to do a thing apart from enable webshield  :)

Thank you ;) :D
Gigabyte 670 LGA1200 Full ATX MB | Intel Core i9-13900 CPU/LGA 1700 | GeForce Nvidia RTX-4070/12GB | 32GB DDR4 | 2 x 1TB Samsung SSD | W11 Home 64bit | Avast Premium v24.3.6108 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | Firefox 64bit | MalwareBytes Premium | Adguard Premium | CCleaner Portable | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89357
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2005, 02:45:15 PM »
You don't have to put the SpellBound sell checker icon on your tool bar it works without it, you just right click in the text input box and click Check Spelling.

Yes to Javascript, but I don't even have Java installed on my system let alone allow Java Applets to run and that hasn't adversely affected my browsing experience.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

timcan

  • Guest
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2005, 11:16:06 PM »
Webshield works perfectly with firefox, u dont have to do a thing apart from enable webshield  :)

Thank you ;) :D
If you use avast!pro , script blocking doesn't work on Firefox.

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 33938
  • malware fighter
Re: Question about Firefox v1.0.6
« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2005, 12:07:18 AM »
Hi Speedy PC,

Well my Firefox configuaration I have tweaked a little,with Firefox_cookie.jar in the Chrome file, and the Axel Boldt nosh*t filter library script there too, also an XML filter. I run plug ins for the Dr Web AV-link checker on their global update server, NoScript to block JavaScript or allow it, and Adblock with a special filter rule.
Then I have a little javascript spoofcheck. And I have a special cookie manager for Firefox. Oh, and third party cookies or webbugs are blocked as a rule. With these inline browser security I think my Firefox works like the glove I like to browse and search with. To conclude a ;ot of places my browser will not go for with the hostess program I have merged serveral hosts files, so I cannot contact those nasties.

greets,

polonus
« Last Edit: August 27, 2005, 12:09:46 AM by polonus »
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!