Author Topic: SCAN MONITOR  (Read 2973 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 24008943

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
SCAN MONITOR
« on: January 06, 2015, 03:19:12 PM »
Hi, my brother has just paid & upgraded to Avast pro ,when doing a scan the progress icon always shows zero, but Avast pro scan on my pc  shows the progress i.e 40% ,etc.
Is this fixable at all ?

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37598
  • Not a avast user
Re: SCAN MONITOR
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2015, 03:22:20 PM »
try to repair avast install.....

controlpanel > ad/remove programs > avast > uninstall/change > repair option ..... wait a minute and reboot

any change?


Offline 24008943

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: SCAN MONITOR
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2015, 03:28:25 PM »
ta for that ,will pop over to see him Weds and give that a go...another odd thing is that when trying to turn on the firewall in the settings, it is greyed out and will not let him activate it !!! ,do you reckon a "repair" will sort that out as well ?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48620
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: SCAN MONITOR
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2015, 03:38:49 PM »
There is no firewall in the Pro version of Avast.


Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89258
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: SCAN MONITOR
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2015, 03:39:56 PM »
The avast Pro Version doesn't have a firewall so the option in the avast settings will be greyed out. See attached image example, this is from the avast free version showing features not included. The avast Internet Security and the avast Premier versions have the avast firewall.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37598
  • Not a avast user
Re: SCAN MONITOR
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2015, 04:09:59 PM »
ta for that ,will pop over to see him Weds and give that a go...another odd thing is that when trying to turn on the firewall in the settings, it is greyed out and will not let him activate it !!! ,do you reckon a "repair" will sort that out as well ?
as stated above, you/he may have the wrong version?...when you open the program, the version name is displayed at top
see the picture posted by DavidR where it say avast free at top


if you have the correct version with firewall, the repair may correct it. If not it may be a result of previous used AV not fully removed

General: Uninstalling a third-party antivirus software  https://www.avast.com/en-eu/faq.php?article=AVKB11#artTitle



« Last Edit: January 06, 2015, 04:11:37 PM by Pondus »

Offline 24008943

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: SCAN MONITOR
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2015, 10:04:34 PM »
Many thanks for the replies , it is not the free version,he paid £25,  maybe i am mistaken but am sure we saw that  FIREWALL was ticked/ listed  on what you get for your monies   ....what he/we did not do is uninstall the freebie version he had,he just clicked the "upgrade"  button then jumped thru all the install & paying hoops,then clicked "activate" on the verification e-mail they sent .
Anyway shall see what the "repair " method does.....am impressed by this forum ,nice to know there are people like you  that can give good help & advice, thanks again.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48620
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: SCAN MONITOR
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2015, 10:54:14 PM »
Many thanks for the replies , it is not the free version,he paid £25,  maybe i am mistaken but am sure we saw that  FIREWALL was ticked/ listed  on what you get for your monies   ....what he/we did not do is uninstall the freebie version he had,he just clicked the "upgrade"  button then jumped thru all the install & paying hoops,then clicked "activate" on the verification e-mail they sent .
Anyway shall see what the "repair " method does.....am impressed by this forum ,nice to know there are people like you  that can give good help & advice, thanks again.
2 remedies:
1 Repair of Avast (try this first) Control Panel > Programs and Features > Select Avast> Select Repair
When the repair finishes, Reboot your system - If this doesn't work then go on to the next step.
2 Clean install of Avast - see my signature for directions How to Successfully Install Avast.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet