Author Topic: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214  (Read 7617 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2105.10.2.2214
« Reply #15 on: March 17, 2015, 04:33:07 PM »
Are you able to boot into safe mode or normal mode ?

Offline Tuscaneer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2105.10.2.2214
« Reply #16 on: March 17, 2015, 04:40:58 PM »
Hi Rednose, here are the files:

Offline Tuscaneer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2105.10.2.2214
« Reply #17 on: March 17, 2015, 04:42:50 PM »
Hi Essexboy, I boot into safemode cleanly, but I get black screen for about 5 or 6 minutes when going into normal mode after logon

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #18 on: March 17, 2015, 06:51:52 PM »
OK that gives me a good clue as to where the problem lies.  All that is showing on the logs are some old adware and orphans so we will clear those first.  Run this fix from safe mode, then reboot to safe mode for the next part

CAUTION :  This fix is only valid for this specific machine, using it on another may break your computer

Open notepad and copy/paste the text in the quotebox below into it:
 
Quote
HKU\S-1-5-18\...\RunOnce: [SpUninstallDeleteDir] => rmdir /s /q "\SearchProtect"
ShellIconOverlayIdentifiers: [00avast] -> {472083B0-C522-11CF-8763-00608CC02F24} =>  No File
SearchScopes: HKLM-x32 -> DefaultScope value is missing.
Toolbar: HKLM - No Name - {CC1A175A-E45B-41ED-A30C-C9B1D7A0C02F} -  No File
FF SearchEngineOrder.1: Secure Search
FF Plugin-x32: @mcafee.com/MVT -> C:\Program Files (x86)\McAfee\Supportability\MVT\NPMVTPlugin.dll [2013-02-05] (McAfee, Inc.)
FF SearchPlugin: C:\Program Files (x86)\mozilla firefox\browser\searchplugins\McSiteAdvisor.xml [2013-12-09]
2015-03-17 15:14 - 2013-10-22 18:49 - 00000000 ____D () C:\ProgramData\boost_interprocess
Task: {8082D92C-1DAD-4483-9441-D0F05DBFCB2B} - \BackgroundContainer Startup Task No Task File <==== ATTENTION
RemoveProxy:
EmptyTemp:
CMD: bitsadmin /reset /allusers

 
Save this as fixlist.txt, in the same location as FRST.exe

Run FRST and press Fix
On completion a log will be generated please post that


THEN

In the search box type Msconfig and select the programme that appears at the top

1.In the System Configuration Utility dialog box, click Selective Startup on the General tab.

2.Click to clear the Load Startup Items check box.
NoteThe Use Original Boot.ini check box is unavailable.
3.Click the Services tab.
4.Click to select the Hide All Microsoft Services check box.

5.Click Disable All, and then click OK.
6.When you are prompted, click Restart.
7.Reboot to normal mode and let me know how that goes

Offline Tuscaneer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #19 on: March 17, 2015, 08:18:05 PM »
Thanks Essexboy,
so here is the fixlog.txt attached.

I disabled all but the microsoft services in msconfig, and the boot into normal is quick, no 6 minute delay on black screen.

Is the next step to re-introduce them  set at a time ?


Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #20 on: March 17, 2015, 08:37:55 PM »
Unfortunately yes, one of the services is causing a conflict.  You could do them in groups and reboot in between.  That would make it a tad faster 

Offline Tuscaneer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #21 on: March 18, 2015, 12:45:53 AM »
ok thanks.. I went through re-introducing the services in logical batches, with all enabled still booting properly.. so it must be one of the registry startup programs.. will run through them tomorrow..
thanks all for your help, I'll report back

Offline jursa

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #22 on: March 18, 2015, 11:50:46 AM »
Hi Tuscaneer, for proper analysis of your problem we need a complete memory dump (manually generated BSOD) when the black screen appears. Could you, please, provide it for us ?

Before test, you need a little bit set up your system:
1.) Download BellaVista - http://www.zezula.net/en/fstools/bellavista.html
2.) In SafeMode launch BellaVista.exe and in the "Crash Dump" tab click to "Full Dump" and reboot the computer
3.) When the black screen appears hold the right CTRL key and press "Scroll Lock" twice - bluescreen your system
4.) Boot into SafeMode with networking and there will be MEMORY.DMP in the "C:\Windows" folder.
5.) Launch avast support tool (http://public.avast.com/supp/util/avastsupport.exe) navigate to "advanced" tab and check "Full dumps" then click to "Generate Now!"
(or just compress the MEMORY.DMP file (using zip/rar) with some password and upload it on some share services like mega.co.nz/googledrive and send me a link. )

If you need additional assistance contact me please directly at jursa@avast.com.

Thanks and sorry for your troubles,
David

Offline Tuscaneer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
[FIXED] : Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #23 on: March 18, 2015, 07:25:55 PM »
No need Jursa.

Thanks Essexboy, for pointing me back to basics :-)
I've re-enabled all the services, and re-added the registry startups I actually need running.
rebooted and all good.
I've now re-installed Avast 10.2.2214, and rebooted.. all good.

Cheers.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #24 on: March 18, 2015, 07:33:28 PM »
Glad all is now well :)

Offline Tuscaneer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #25 on: March 19, 2015, 03:10:37 PM »
I spoke too soon.. back to black screen on start up... 

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2234
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #26 on: March 19, 2015, 03:12:21 PM »
I spoke too soon.. back to black screen on start up...

Could you submit your memory dump to Jursa?

I don't think this issue is related to avast! but rather to a conflicting startup entry.

By sending Jursa the dump, it will be easier for avast! to spot the issue (if any).
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

Offline Tuscaneer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #27 on: March 19, 2015, 04:49:35 PM »
I've nailed it..

IBM Trusteer Endpoint Protection was updated at around the sametime as Avast. 
Removed that and re-installed avast again... 6 reboots in a row now clean.

Cheers

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #28 on: March 19, 2015, 06:38:50 PM »
That uses low level drivers just like Avast

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45155
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Black Screen - Win7 x64 after upgrade to 2015.10.2.2214
« Reply #29 on: March 19, 2015, 06:44:14 PM »
Just curious as to which program was installed first. Avast or Trusteer ???
It is quite possible that the order in which these programs are installed determines if they compliment or destroy each other ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq