Author Topic: Thunderbird  (Read 4462 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Garye

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Thunderbird
« on: December 03, 2003, 12:04:56 AM »
I'm running Avast home edition with Mozilla thunderbird. I can't get the auomatic E-mail scan to work. I've run the wizzard and used the auto option without luck. Can anyone help???

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5080
Re:Thunderbird
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2003, 12:42:05 AM »
I would also like to know hot to scan thunserbird email Im usine version 0.3
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline denro

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a bear!
    • Sites of Interest
Re:Thunderbird
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2003, 01:58:21 AM »
I am running Mozilla mail, version 1.6, off of which Thunderbird is built.  Right click on account name, go to Server settings:

Server name should be 127.0.0.1
User name should be   your account name, for instance,
denro@anISP.net#myISPpopserver

Then go to Outgoing Server (SMTP) and do similarly with Server name and user name.  This works well and i have tested with with eicor.com in a zip file both sending and receiving and avast scans the email IMO better than Norton.

Hope this helps
There are 10 kinds of people that understand binary numbers:  those who do and those who don't

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:Thunderbird
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2003, 02:14:31 AM »
avast scans the email IMO better than Norton.

He he he, of course  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5080
Re:Thunderbird
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2003, 02:36:57 AM »
thank you Thunderbird's email is being scanned  ;D
did garye's work?
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline Garye

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:Thunderbird
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2003, 08:10:22 PM »
Yep, Thanks a bunch :)

Offline larryni

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Thunderbird
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2003, 11:16:20 PM »
Excellent  :)

Question: Is it enough to simply enter the smtp server in the specified field? I don't actually need a username and password with my ISP. If I enter 127.0.0.1 as the server name I don't really know which way to enter username#smtpserver.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Thunderbird
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2003, 11:33:44 PM »
Enter

#yoursmtpservername

to username, and leave password blank.

Also make sure that you have UseDefaultSMTP=0 in avast4.ini.

Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.