Author Topic: Another SBS2000 Install question  (Read 10102 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Burl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Another SBS2000 Install question
« on: December 03, 2003, 04:01:52 AM »
From the File menu there is an item titled Avast! Server Deployment Wizard.  About three screens into the wizard there is an Avast! Server Plug-Ins page.  All the selections are grayed out, particularly the MS Exchange 2000/2003 option.  How does one enable these options?

Thanks,
Burl

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Another SBS2000 Install question
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2003, 10:49:06 AM »
Go to Control Panel->Add/Remove Programs->avast! Antivirus->Change/Remove and select Change, are the plugins installed ?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Another SBS2000 Install question
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2003, 12:33:07 PM »
You probably haven't checked them when installing. If you want to use both Exchange and ISA, you should select the following plugins:


  • Exchange 2000/2003
  • SMTP 2000/2003
  • MS Proxy/ISA
Hope this helps,
Vlk
« Last Edit: December 03, 2003, 12:34:14 PM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Burl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re:Another SBS2000 Install question
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2003, 03:46:49 PM »
I ran the Change option and the plugins are checked.  I rebooted and those options are still grayed out.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Another SBS2000 Install question
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2003, 03:48:32 PM »
And what about the On-access scanner window? The one that pops up after you double-click the avast tray icon... Does it have the plugins (providers) listed?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Burl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re:Another SBS2000 Install question
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2003, 03:58:05 PM »
I just went back to the Add/Remove Change option and realized that the plugin options had an X in the box and not a Check mark.  I have made those changes and in the process or rebooting.  I will let you know how that worked.

Burl

Offline Burl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re:Another SBS2000 Install question
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2003, 05:08:41 PM »
That did it.  The Exchange server is now active in the On-Access Scanner window.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Another SBS2000 Install question
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2003, 05:14:45 PM »
That's a very good news. Congratulations. I hope avast will serve you well (apart from the initial setup, it shouldn't require much attention anymore)...  :)

Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.