Author Topic: Avast free rootkit scan not running  (Read 2431 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zeratrix

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Avast free rootkit scan not running
« on: August 10, 2016, 02:16:41 AM »
I just got back into Avast to be on the safe side, the regular smart scan (which is the only scan available on Avast! free 2016 antivirus apparently) comes up with nothing. I have the rootkit scan on startup checked in, I start up my laptop and....nothing happens, no rootkit scan, no nothing. Is there something I forgot to do to start the rootkit scan up?
As you can no doubt tell I have absolutely no tech savvy at all so I'll need step by step instructions.

I use windows 10
I don't know which version of avast I have all I know is that it's the 2016 version.
The rootkit scan is supposed to begin on startup but the laptop simply loads my OS up and skips over the rootkit scan, is there a way to do it manually?

Offline -midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2406
Re: Avast free rootkit scan not running
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2016, 02:45:14 AM »
When you click on the open user interface and click on scan it shows the different scans.  Click on scan for viruses.  To find out what version you're using click on about Avast.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast free rootkit scan not running
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2016, 02:46:06 AM »
Do you have fastboot enabled in Windows ?

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37105
Re: Avast free rootkit scan not running
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2016, 03:13:33 AM »
Quote
I don't know which version of avast I have all I know is that it's the 2016 version.
Right click avast tray icon and select about


Quote
The rootkit scan is supposed to begin on startup but the laptop simply loads my OS up and skips over the rootkit scan, is there a way to do it manually?

I guess you mean Boot-Time scan
avast is already doing a rootkit scan, it does so 8 minutes after computer start up


Avast 2016: Running a Boot-time scan  >>  https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB132#artTitle



Offline zeratrix

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Avast free rootkit scan not running
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2016, 03:26:10 AM »
Yeah that's what I meant sorry, I got it going now, the boot time scan might actually help as all other scans haven't come up with anything yet. Thanks for the advice.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37105
Re: Avast free rootkit scan not running
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2016, 03:28:11 AM »
Quote
the boot time scan might actually help as all other scans haven't come up with anything yet.
Do you have a problem ... what?



Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast free rootkit scan not running
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2016, 04:12:15 AM »

Offline zeratrix

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Avast free rootkit scan not running
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2016, 03:13:22 AM »
Yeah sorry I found the boottime scan and don't have a problem anymore sorry, I have a new problem where my Avast safezone! is trying to update but everytime I try I get a code 5 error, I'm the administrator on my laptop so when I say 'Yes you can update my software' there shouldn't be any access denied errors. What might be causing this and how do I fix it?