Author Topic: Avast Firewall suddenly blocking DLNA for no reason  (Read 7469 times)

REDACTED

Avast Firewall suddenly blocking DLNA for no reason
« on: February 02, 2017, 12:22:37 AM »
I recently switched to Avast after being a Symnatecc/Norton customer for years and I've been using Avast for a few months now. I use the Plex media server on my PC to stream to my Playstation 4 and everything has been fine between Plex and Avast up until the last 24 hours. On Tuesday, January 31, 2017 Avast and Plex on the Playstation 4 were working fine together and then after work on Wednesday February 1, 2017 the Avast firewall is blocking the Plex server on my Playstation 4 for no discernible reason. I can confirm this is the Avast firewall that is causing the issue, when I disable the Avast firewall I can connect to the Plex server on the Playstation 4 just fine, if the Avast firewall is on it blocks the Plex server from connecting on the Playstation 4, simple as that. Avast firewall does not block Plex server on the computer hosting the Plex server. I didn't change anything anywhere in the less than 24 hour period that this started happening. Tuesday night Plex and Avast firewall were getting along fine. I shut off everything and went to bed. Got up Wednesday morning, went to work. Came home started up the PC and the Playstation and suddenly Avast firewall is not blocking the Plex server on the Playstation 4 out of nowhere. I don't know how to fix this because I don't even know why it is happening all of a sudden.

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast Firewall suddenly blocking DLNA for no reason
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2017, 12:53:46 AM »
Check the avast (firewall) log(s) to see what is blocked and set the appropriate rule for it in the firewall.

REDACTED

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2017, 06:46:39 PM »