Author Topic: Fedora Core 5 Installation --Newbie  (Read 15377 times)

Merlin Whitewolf

Fedora Core 5 Installation --Newbie
« on: April 06, 2006, 11:43:51 PM »
I had just installed Fedore Core 5 this week on my Hp Pavilion. I've used avast on my xp os for about a year, so I was happy to see that there's a Linux edition.  :)
I downloaded and clicked the 'open' in firefox's dowloads manager to install the 'rpm' package, but I couldn't get it to run so I could put in the license key. I thought perhaps I was supposed to download the 'tar gz' file, too, so I did. Still no spinning blue globes and no place to install the license key.
I'm a complete newbie to Linux and nearly new to computers, so I realize I am lacking in vast amounts of knowledge. I may have unwittingly made some mistakes in my attempts to install avast.  ???
Please, can someone help me? If you can, would you explain what I should do with details appropriate for my lack of knowledge about Linux/ computers.

Thank you very much.

justin1278

Re: Fedora Core 5 Installation --Newbie
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2006, 12:45:35 AM »
Hello,

In the avast! Linux Edition there is only an on demand scanner not a realtime scanner like for Windows.

Merlin Whitewolf

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2006, 01:55:48 PM »
Justin1278,
Thank you for replying. Only an on demand scanner? Okay then if it has only limited capability and I can't enter the license key, how do I uninstall it? :-\
As much as I'd prefer to use avast, I need a scanner I can use when I need it. I have friends and family that I want to protect from virii as much as I can.

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2006, 02:03:58 PM »
Justin1278,
Thank you for replying. Only an on demand scanner? Okay then if it has only limited capability and I can't enter the license key, how do I uninstall it? :-\
It's not a limitation. There isn't a Pro version for Linux.