Author Topic: Problem with updates  (Read 2689 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 7pets

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Problem with updates
« on: April 09, 2006, 03:50:30 PM »
  Hi.  I've had AVAST for about a year with no problems at all.   Now for some reason when it does an automatic update, it says it cannot update.  So I click on the message to view why and it is saying I have an invalid or expired license key.  What do I do.  I also wonder if I've screwed anything up by downloading 4.0 when I think I already had it.  For some reason I thought I needed to download that??  Sorry, I'm one of those people who understands nothing about the workings of the computer-just want it to work. ::)  THanks for help!         Lisa

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2006, 04:33:50 PM »
Lisa, it's normal, after 14 months the license expires.
You only have to renew your free registration here: https://secure.avast.com/scripts/register.php?lang=ENG

Also see tutorials:
http://www.avast.com/files/tutorials/insert_key.htm
http://www.avast.com/eng/i_was_successfully_r.html
The best things in life are free.

Offline 7pets

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2006, 04:46:48 PM »
 :)  Thanks for your help!  I did find out what I was doing wrong after scouting the site for a bit. After I did everything wrong first! :o  Thanks for quick reply!   Lisa

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7085
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: Problem with updates
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2006, 09:40:29 PM »
***

Welcome to the forums, Lisa.    :)

It is good to know that your problem is solved.

Please come back often, learn more, and maybe help others.    :)


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM