Author Topic: Screensaver bug in program update 4.1.319  (Read 4296 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline eric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Screensaver bug in program update 4.1.319
« on: December 19, 2003, 12:31:35 PM »
After Avast did the program update 4.1.319 and restarted Windows XP, the Avast screensaver doesn't work anymore. How can I fix this problem ?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Screensaver bug in program update 4.1.319
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2003, 12:50:36 PM »
What do you mean, doesn't work anymore?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline eric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re:Screensaver bug in program update 4.1.319
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2003, 12:58:16 PM »
The avast screensaver doesn't start anymore. When I start the avast screensaver manually nothing happens.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Screensaver bug in program update 4.1.319
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2003, 01:03:18 PM »
I don't quite understand. How do you start the screen-saver manually?

I've just checked that the following works under XP with build319:

- Control Panel, Display settings
- Screensaver tab, select avast antivirus, click Properties.
- Select a real screensaver (I use Starfield for experimenting) and confirm with OK

Now:
- Click Preview -> it works
- Wait for the screen saver to start after X minutes of idle time -> it works.

So?
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline eric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re:Screensaver bug in program update 4.1.319
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2003, 01:05:19 PM »
I checked the XP-processes. I saw multiple versions of Avast screensaver running in background!! Each time you start the Avast screensaver he start a new background process. Before the program update the Avast screensaver was started in foreground.

Offline eric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re:Screensaver bug in program update 4.1.319
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2003, 01:13:07 PM »
To manually start Avast screen saver I use button preview.

I killed all the background processes and tried again. Avast nows runs in foreground. It seems to work now. I don't know why Avast screensaver suddenly started as a background process. It is the first time that it happens and by coincidence just after the Avast program update.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Screensaver bug in program update 4.1.319
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2003, 01:13:37 PM »
Try killing'em all, selecting Starfield as the base screensaver and clicking the Preview button.

I doubt it's something new in v4.1.319 - I just checked the sources and they have not changed at all since the last version.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Screensaver bug in program update 4.1.319
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2003, 01:14:41 PM »
Hehe nice simultaneous posting! ;)

Glad it works now.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline eric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re:Screensaver bug in program update 4.1.319
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2003, 01:26:11 PM »
Ok. Thanks for your fast response.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Screensaver bug in program update 4.1.319
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2003, 09:50:24 PM »
Just to confirm: for me, with XP Pro SP1, avast! screen saver works like ever previous version...  :D
Not a trouble at all, not proccesses in background  8)
The best things in life are free.