Author Topic: Avast home logging  (Read 5341 times)

bassbag

Avast home logging
« on: December 26, 2003, 06:52:05 PM »
Hi..
Im new to avast (used AVG 6 and 7 previously) and would like to ask 2 questions if i may.Im using the free home edition and no matter where i set logging to on the slider i get no logs.Is this normal for the free version? or just a feature of the pro.
Using w98se
tia
me

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re:Avast home logging
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2003, 07:22:58 PM »
It is not a feature of the Pro version.
Set the slider down (Debug), to the last position, you will have all logs above. But, if everything is right, probably your 'critical' logs will be empty for your luck.

Choose 'Log Viewer' to see them.
The best things in life are free.

bassbag

« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2003, 10:16:42 PM »
Thanks for quick response.Ive moved slider to debug.I guess i expected to see something logged such as the warning for eicar test file for example.Ive also tested with a vbs script file but nothings logged under alerts etc.On closer reading of the help files it seems the log files just log programme errors rather than viral alerts or results of scanning.Is this correct?
thanks in advance
me

Offline MikeBCda

• Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2003, 12:25:03 AM »
Hi,

Maybe one of the experts here will correct me, but from the little that's in my own 4-home logs, I get the impression the logs are primarily intended to record problems avast has encountered within itself, or with the system, as opposed to suspicious things that it's turned up in scans.

If you want to see what's been happening durings scans (both resident and on-request), check the Data/Reports folder under the avast folder.  There should be some TXT files there (if you have reporting turned on) which will give you useful histories.

Best,
Mike
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0