Author Topic: Big red error box on auto-update  (Read 10233 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jimn

  • Guest
Big red error box on auto-update
« on: May 29, 2006, 12:33:24 AM »
For a couple of days now, every time I startup my Win XP Pro (quite up-to-date with patches) I get a big red box and clicking it shows an "Avast! Antivirus Setup" dialog saying "Last encountered error: Can't select any server for download ing (from 0).".

My other 2 systems are fine.

How to fix?
Thanks

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2006, 12:55:23 AM »
Maybe you need just change (or add) AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds value into the [InetWD] section of avast4.ini file.

You could set the number of seconds to wait before attempting to update. The default is 30 but it may not be enough in some DSL systems. In this case, you can try increasing this e.g. to 60 (1 minute). That should be enough.

More details here: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=1647

Hope this helps  8)
The best things in life are free.

jimn

  • Guest
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2006, 07:21:45 PM »
Hi Tech,

No joy adding that.
I get the same error trying to manually update either the "!AVS update" or the "Program update".

It looks like some IP address somewhere has been clobbered.

License still has over a year to go, so I doubt that's the issue.

Any more ideas?
Thanks.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40603
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2006, 07:24:19 PM »
Check the size of your server defs file if it is 0bytes then run a repair of Avast and that should download a new copy.  It is in the Alwill set up folder

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87266
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2006, 08:22:07 PM »
What is your firewall ?
Ensure that it allows avast.setup access to the internet.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.12.6044 (build 22.12.7758.768) UI 1.0.741/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

jimn

  • Guest
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2006, 10:35:39 PM »
EssexBoy... the file is not 0 bytes. It and 2 sidekicks are 9K, nK ans nK.
I also can't figure out how to run a repair... clicking change/remove in Windows add/remove programs produces a brief flash, then nothing else and no change to the screen.

DavidR... the Windows firewall has been on and unchanged (manually by me) for over a year now.

This is getting to me now.

thanks for the ideas.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2006, 10:40:40 PM »
EssexBoy... the file is not 0 bytes.
If you delete the file, a new one will be downloaded if you start an update.

I also can't figure out how to run a repair... clicking change/remove in Windows add/remove programs produces a brief flash, then nothing else and no change to the screen.
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove. Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair). You must be connected to the internet while repairing.

If this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?
The best things in life are free.

jimn

  • Guest
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2006, 10:47:45 PM »
Tech,

The Windows Add/Remove will only make a brief flash when I click "Change/remove" on Avast4.
So I have no way to remove or repair it.
Is there an Uninstall? I don't see anything in Avast's setup subdir suggesting that.

By the way, I deleted Servers.def and no change.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40603
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2006, 11:55:59 PM »
Download the avast uninstall tool then redownload and install the latest version http://www.avast.com/eng/avast_uninstall_util.html

jimn

  • Guest
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2006, 01:01:41 AM »
This is getting frustrating...

I uninstalled, re-booted, then downloaded/installed the latest.

It reported errors during install and the log has far too much for me to make any sense of it. The thing is a rainbow, with no apparent pattern to the colours.

At this point I don't have an Avast on the system.
It's been so damned reliable for almost 2 years.

I wonder if Microsoft's latest "update" - only of their "Windows Update" software itself was installed but it deemd it necessary to bring along WITHOUT WARNING its 'version verification checker' - has anything to do with this?!?!

I'll keep looking for what to do next.
thanks

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2006, 03:06:09 AM »
I uninstalled, re-booted, then downloaded/installed the latest.
It reported errors during install and the log has far too much for me to make any sense of it. The thing is a rainbow, with no apparent pattern to the colours.
But, can`t you try to post at least the last lines of the log?
This `clean` install is showing me the problem is not exactly on avast... maybe another security program, or antivirus, or even the firewall...
The best things in life are free.

jimn

  • Guest
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2006, 03:55:07 AM »
Happy to oblige... here's the tail end for your review:
18:51:15 vrb/pkg  IsFullOkay: vpsm-61703.vpu - not okay
18:51:15 vrb/pkg  IsFullOkay: vpsm-61703.vpu - not okay
18:51:15 dbg/pkg  Full of package vpsm was set to 1
18:51:15 vrb/pkg  IsFullOkay: news409-31.vpu - not okay
18:51:15 vrb/pkg  IsFullOkay: news409-31.vpu - not okay
18:51:15 dbg/pkg  Full of package news409 was set to 1
18:51:15 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\av_pro_core-2f6.vpu, returned 0x00000000
18:51:15 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\av_pro_dll409-147.vpu, returned 0x00000000
18:51:15 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\av_pro_hlp409-24a.vpu, returned 0x00000000
18:51:15 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\av_pro_pro-1d6.vpu, returned 0x00000000
18:51:15 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\av_pro_skins-13.vpu, returned 0x00000000
18:51:15 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\avscan-231.vpu, returned 0x00000000
18:51:15 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\winsys-1.vpu, returned 0x00000000
18:51:15 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\winsysgui-1.vpu, returned 0x00000000
18:51:15 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\vps-61700.vpu, returned 0x00000000
18:51:15 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\vpsm-61703.vpu, returned 0x00000000
18:51:15 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\news409-31.vpu, returned 0x00000000
18:51:16 min/pkg  vps: needs to be updated [061703]
18:51:16 dbg/gen  progress end - 1
18:51:16 min/gen  setup: updated
18:51:16 min/gen  setif: updated
18:51:16 vrb/fil  SetExistingFilesBitmap: Setting group av_pro_sysx because of existing file C:\WINDOWS\system32\OleAcc.dll
18:51:16 vrb/fil  SetExistingFilesBitmap: 814->6->6
18:51:16 vrb/pkg  FilterOutExistingFiles: 143 & 6 = 138
18:51:16 vrb/pkg  Extracting from av_pro_core-2f6.vpu (0)
18:51:16 vrb/sys  Reboot set by changed resident C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\aswmon.sys
18:51:16 min/sys  Error copying driver file C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\aswmon.sys (0x00000003)
18:51:16 vrb/sys  Reboot set by changed resident C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\aswmon2.sys
18:51:16 min/sys  Error copying driver file C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\aswmon2.sys (0x00000003)
18:51:16 vrb/reg  Set registry: SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\aswMon2\DisplayName=avast! Standard Shield Support
18:51:16 vrb/reg  Set registry: SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\aswMon2\ErrorControl=1
18:51:16 vrb/reg  Set registry: SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\aswMon2\Type=2
18:51:16 vrb/reg  Set registry: SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\aswMon2\Start=2
18:51:16 dbg/gen  progress end - forced
18:51:16 dbg/gen  progress thread end
18:53:21 nrm/pkg  Transferred files: 11
18:53:21 nrm/pkg  Transferred bytes: 10572801
18:53:21 nrm/pkg  Transfer time: 16 ms
18:53:21 vrb/fil  NeedReboot=false
18:53:21 min/gen  Return code: 0x20000011 [The package is broken.]
18:53:21 min/gen  Stopped: 29.05.2006, 18:53:21

Thanks again.

jimn

  • Guest
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2006, 04:31:41 AM »
Tech,
I did a restore point from before the last Windows Update, which updated the update program itself and unsolicitedly added the Microsoft genuine advantage verification program (or whatever they call it)).
Anyway, after doing so I UNinstalled Avgast again, then re-installed AND NOW IS IS WELL AGAIN!!!

Thanks for your help, all.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2006, 05:13:30 AM »
I did a restore point from before the last Windows Update
I've never believed on Microsoft System Restore feature... when you need it, you`ll be left alone on the side of the road...

Anyway, glad you finally win the battle  8) :)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Big red error box on auto-update
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2006, 09:37:41 AM »
According to the log, it seems that somone set some restrictive access rights on the C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers folder (so avast couldn't write any files to it). Is that possible?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.